Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-23-04, 06:08 AM   #1
Razorman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 67
Default Rome Total War Demo!

Singleplayer demo out on Fileplanet, thoughts impressions here please. Looks damn fine to me, multiplayer should be a blast.
__________________
Athlon 64 3400 @ 2.5GHZ
Asus K8N-E Deluxe mobo
Asus V9999 256MB 6800GT @ 440 clock & 1.12 mem
1Gb Samsung DDR 400 Mem @ Cas 2.5 Dual Channel
3D Mark 05 5749
66.93 Drivers
Razorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-04, 06:11 AM   #2
vampireuk
**** Holster
 
vampireuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: The armoury
Posts: 2,813
Send a message via AIM to vampireuk
Default Re: Rome Total War Demo!

Gimme some screenshots so I can drool while at work
__________________
I put children in microwaves.
vampireuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-04, 09:35 AM   #3
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Rome Total War Demo!

Whats the file size ?
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-04, 11:33 AM   #4
LiquidX
xxxxxxx
 
LiquidX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: xxxxxxxx
Posts: 2,113
Default Re: Rome Total War Demo!

Just tried and its ok if your into these types of games. No blood which sucks. Ran it 1920X1080 on a GT everything maxed although they left out a few of the high settings. And for some reason you cant get any screenshots with apps so only print screen which is a pain if you want multiple shots.
LiquidX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-04, 01:09 PM   #5
aAv7
 
aAv7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,250
Default Re: Rome Total War Demo!

1280X1024 highest settings enabled including low aa....I fall to 17fps at times...wtf.
__________________
[SIZE="1"][B]CPU:[/B] AMD64 3200+ Winchester @ 2.2 [B]RAM:[/B] 2GB Kingston Dual Channel DDR 400 [B]Motherboard:[/B] Gigabyte K8 Triton nForce4 [B]VideoCard:[/B] eVGA GeForce 7800GTX 512MB [B]Hard Drive:[/B] WD 250GB Sata [B]OS:[/B] Dual boot, Windows XP Home/Windows Professional x64 Edition Retail[B] Audio:[/B] X-Fi Xtreme Music [B]Mouse:[/B] Logitech MX 310 [B]PSU:[/B] 500W Ultra Connect (34A on the 12V+)[/SIZE]

[SIZE="1"][B]Xbox 360:[/B] w/ Intercooler @ 1280x1024 , Dynasty Warriors 5, Fight Night Round 3, Kameo, NBA 2K6, Perfect Dark Zero CE, and PGR 3[SIZE="1"][/SIZE][/SIZE]
aAv7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-04, 01:28 PM   #6
Razorman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 67
Default Re: Rome Total War Demo!

Quote:
Originally Posted by LiquidX
Just tried and its ok if your into these types of games. No blood which sucks. Ran it 1920X1080 on a GT everything maxed although they left out a few of the high settings. And for some reason you cant get any screenshots with apps so only print screen which is a pain if you want multiple shots.

Fraps works fine for screenshots, game is gonna be huge!
1280x768 res all details maxed, lowest fps around 20 with hundreds of units on screnn, max fps around 65-70
__________________
Athlon 64 3400 @ 2.5GHZ
Asus K8N-E Deluxe mobo
Asus V9999 256MB 6800GT @ 440 clock & 1.12 mem
1Gb Samsung DDR 400 Mem @ Cas 2.5 Dual Channel
3D Mark 05 5749
66.93 Drivers
Razorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-04, 01:33 PM   #7
DaveW
Its me! Hurray!
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brit in USA
Posts: 1,203
Default Re: Rome Total War Demo!

I was watching a thing on the history channel yesterday that used this game for animations, it looks really cool. Finally an RTS with thousands of soldiers in it.
__________________

Core2 Q9400 @ 3.0, eVGA GTX 260, 4G DDR 800, Vista64
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-04, 02:28 PM   #8
LiquidX
xxxxxxx
 
LiquidX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: xxxxxxxx
Posts: 2,113
Default Re: Rome Total War Demo!

1280X1024? Why are you guys running it so low on GT's? Seeing that I was getting no performance decrease I raised it to 1920X1080 and still no slow down.
LiquidX is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-23-04, 04:33 PM   #9
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Rome Total War Demo!

excellent

I wonder if the gauls will run away from my armies like the french did in medieval total war
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-04, 04:35 PM   #10
Mr. Hunt
Rectal Gravy Connoisseur
 
Mr. Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 8,294
Default Re: Rome Total War Demo!

I got it... ran it 1600x1200 all things maxed. Only slowdown I got was a second before entering the campaign for some reason.

Pretty fun, nice to see thousands of your soldiers marching and slaughtered thousands of other soldiers .
Mr. Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-04, 05:46 PM   #11
aAv7
 
aAv7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,250
Default Re: Rome Total War Demo!

It's weird...I fall to 18 fps at times when theres 100 men on screen, but it's still very smooth....I wouldnt know my frames were that low if fraps werent enabled....I had the 66.00 drivers installed...decided to try the 62.20's, no improvement in performance, but I have to say these have much better i.q. ...keeping these until (hopefully) the 66.02's leak. Nice game, def buying it when it comes out.
__________________
[SIZE="1"][B]CPU:[/B] AMD64 3200+ Winchester @ 2.2 [B]RAM:[/B] 2GB Kingston Dual Channel DDR 400 [B]Motherboard:[/B] Gigabyte K8 Triton nForce4 [B]VideoCard:[/B] eVGA GeForce 7800GTX 512MB [B]Hard Drive:[/B] WD 250GB Sata [B]OS:[/B] Dual boot, Windows XP Home/Windows Professional x64 Edition Retail[B] Audio:[/B] X-Fi Xtreme Music [B]Mouse:[/B] Logitech MX 310 [B]PSU:[/B] 500W Ultra Connect (34A on the 12V+)[/SIZE]

[SIZE="1"][B]Xbox 360:[/B] w/ Intercooler @ 1280x1024 , Dynasty Warriors 5, Fight Night Round 3, Kameo, NBA 2K6, Perfect Dark Zero CE, and PGR 3[SIZE="1"][/SIZE][/SIZE]
aAv7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-04, 11:32 PM   #12
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: Rome Total War Demo!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveW
I was watching a thing on the history channel yesterday that used this game for animations, it looks really cool. Finally an RTS with thousands of soldiers in it.
Decisive Battles kicks ass, and so does the host dude from Band of Brothers (He's Lieutenant Spears).
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Base mosaic and rotation? happyfunbot NVIDIA Linux 5 07-13-12 12:23 PM
Weekend Game Deals ' Total score News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 12:10 AM
Napoleon: Total War Free Weekend and 50% off! News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 12:30 AM
Now Available - Total War: SHOGUN 2 - Fall of the Samurai DLCs News Archived News Items 0 05-30-12 02:40 PM
Total War: Shogun 2 Map Editor Totally Out Now News Archived News Items 0 05-24-12 02:50 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.