Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-28-04, 06:21 PM   #1
recce41
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 8
Default FX 5600 XT help

Hello All
I have just picked up a new computer. It was rated as a med range gamer. The computer shops sell this combo all over here in NB, Canada. They sell ether FX5200-5700 or the AtI 9000. I work with a fello that biulds and sells computers. And that is what he sells also. No I bought it from another ( better price).I have owned computers before. But am on a tight budget, for my kids. They pay IL2, Sims and other, I play Il2, C4, and some older ones. But am looking to pickup some new.It's as follows:
AMD 2500 XP
ABIT NF7 ( drivers are 4.24)
350 w PS
512 ram DDR ( more when I can pick it up)
FX 5600 XT 256M (Apollo) Drivers 65.73s
Samsung 80 G HD
LG DVD Combo
GNC 92V modem, no high speed here.
Rest just basic.
What imfo I would like is how good is this system for some of the newer games. And also I haveing trouble with crashing to DT with the Sims ( ever one loaded up), and my stuff if I take it off of med settings. Don't knock it, please just rate it. For a Med range system. And what I could upgrade next yr. And If more ram would help. I am have the shop look at it next week.
Thanks alls.
recce41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-04, 07:48 PM   #2
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: FX 5600 XT help

Welcome to nvnews, recce41...

If the 2500 can be clocked a little higher (preferably 200x11) and if you can get almost 400 out of the core of the 5600, and around 600 on the memory, you definitely have a worth it system... my experience with nv31's has shown me that they only feel how they're supposed to @ speeds of at least 380/580...

Is there any way you can get a 5700NU instead of a 5600XT? Or a 5700LE? They are much better and more future-proof cards which will run games a bit better... I really wouldn't get a 5600 with 256mb ram either, as the extra memory is usually worthless, and usually doesn't run at any good speeds...

...and yes, you want a gig of ram, and you want that right off the bat, somehow... 512 just doesn't cut it in games like BF: Vietnam, Doom3, and other newer titles...
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-04, 06:48 AM   #3
recce41
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 8
Default Re: FX 5600 XT help

Thanks
I have had this system for about a month. It is a lil better than my old one. But freezes up or crashes to the DT on some games. I hope someone my have the same setup with some ideas. I should have added a poll. Would have have to change my PS to go up to a 6000 level?
__________________
Canadian Soldier, 26 yrs in. Some computer knowledge, not a Guru. Enjoy all games.
Wnd XP Home
AMD 2500XP+~1.8G
ABIT NF7 MB
512 DDR 3200
Apollo 5600XT 256m
LG DVD combo
80G Samsung HD 7200
350 W PSU
recce41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 05:04 AM   #4
Gamer1
Anti Brand Loyalist
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to Gamer1 Send a message via MSN to Gamer1
Default Re: FX 5600 XT help

do you have proper cooling for your computer? maybe that's causing the freezing...

as that solved my athlon 1ghz thunderbird lock up issue, just changed the heatsink cooler to something better, and viola, my computer is working fine.

same with my 9700, powercolor decided to use thermalpads as the interface between the gpu and the heatsink. and i get random freezing in games when i use my 9700 (i know my system was stable as my ti4200 ran all the games stable, i reformatted to see if it was a driver conflict issue). so, i got rid of the heatsink and thermalpad and replaced the cooler. and my computer is lock up free.
Gamer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 06:49 AM   #5
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: FX 5600 XT help

If you want something for next year, honestly if you want at least a midrange gamer system in Jan 2k5, you'd have at the very least an Athlon64 3000+, 1gb ram, and a 6600GT or 6800NU, a pATA 8mb cache HD, PSU with a 21A 12v rail...

So basically I'm saying SELL SELL SELL!!!

Hanger-onners with AthlonXP's @ ~2.6ghz will be floatin by around that time, but they'll wane quickly... the big switch is on!!
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 09:01 AM   #6
bosox188
Registered User
 
bosox188's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 30
Default Re: FX 5600 XT help

21A+12V rail psu? That's a little high, doesn't sound midrange to me.
__________________
P4B@2.2ghz l 512mb ddr266 ram dual channel l Intel D865GLC mobo AGP 8x l Nvidia Geforce FX 5200 PCI l 60gb 7,200 rpm Hitachi Deskstar hdd l 3DMark 03 Score: 1032 l Now officially have AGP, 6800 or 6800GT for xmas!
bosox188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 09:40 AM   #7
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: FX 5600 XT help

http://www.amamax.com/35055ulp4amd.html

Bah... teh 500's and above by PowerMagic have 21A 12v rails... I've been using Powermagic PSU's for a couple years now with GREAT results...
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 07:18 PM   #8
Pantherman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Florida
Posts: 253
Default Re: FX 5600 XT help

Ragejg, you DON'T Have a 3000+ Clawhammer. You have a 3000+ Newcastle A64. There's no such thing as a 3000+ Clawhammer. I have a Clawhammer because these CPUs have 1MB of L2 cache. The Newcastle comes with 512K L2 cache.
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+ @ 2.0GHz "Clawhammer"
ASUS K8V motherboard
PNY GeForce 6800 16p/6v @350/760
Samsung 1024MB PC-3200 DDR RAM
Samsung 160GB HDD 7200 RPM
HP 400c 8X DVD-RW writer
ASUS CD-S480 16X CD-ROM
Boston Acoustics BA-735 speakers
Mitsubishi 22-inch DiamondPro 2070 SB
Pantherman is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-31-04, 08:19 PM   #9
Rytr
SuperMod
 
Rytr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: River City
Posts: 1,726
Default Re: FX 5600 XT help

Yes, there is such a thing as a 3000+ Clawhammer. It's made for DTR notebooks.

Specifications -

Model: AMD Athlon 64 3000+
Core: ClawHammer
Operating Frequency: 1.8 GHz
FSB: Integrated into Chip
Cache: L1/64K+64K; L2/1MB
Voltage: 1.5V
Process: 0.13Micron
Socket: Socket 754
Multimedia Instruction: MMX, SSE, SSE2, 3DNOW!, 3DNOW!+
Packaging: OEM(Processor Only)

Model#: AMA3000BEX5AP
Rytr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 08:44 PM   #10
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: FX 5600 XT help

the first 512k A64's were Clawhammers with partially disabled cache...
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 08:52 PM   #11
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: FX 5600 XT help

... sorry to hijack, really...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cpuid result 083104.JPG
Views:	146
Size:	44.5 KB
ID:	7691  Click image for larger version

Name:	cpuz 083104.JPG
Views:	182
Size:	49.2 KB
ID:	7692  
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-04, 02:38 PM   #12
Pantherman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Florida
Posts: 253
Talking Re: FX 5600 XT help

There were no A64 3000+ CPUs with 1MB L2 cache like the ClawHammer. These CPUs were originally ClawHammers with half the L2 cache disabled. I wouldn't consider them ClawHammers because they don't have 1MB L2 cache.
I don't know mych about the mobile market.
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+ @ 2.0GHz "Clawhammer"
ASUS K8V motherboard
PNY GeForce 6800 16p/6v @350/760
Samsung 1024MB PC-3200 DDR RAM
Samsung 160GB HDD 7200 RPM
HP 400c 8X DVD-RW writer
ASUS CD-S480 16X CD-ROM
Boston Acoustics BA-735 speakers
Mitsubishi 22-inch DiamondPro 2070 SB
Pantherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.