Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-01-02, 07:37 PM   #1
t6_shadow
The all knowing
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 249
Default installing ut2003

I have just recently formatted and am reinstalling ut2003 or attemptig to anyways. The cds are in no way damaged or scratched. The error occurs on both cd one and two. it simply stops at a file and says there was an error during the attempt to copy. This abort the installation and makes me start all over again. This as you can imagine is pissing me off.

Has anyone else has this error? If so is there a fix? Any way around the problem etc? Please help!
t6_shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-02, 09:43 PM   #2
styles-T
-========-
 
styles-T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Smallville
Posts: 492
Default

I had this problem with Diablo 2..

It would stop in the middle of disc one and say can not copy file...

So I tried it on my Yamaha CD burner and it would install fine..

Very weird..I guess my 40X Cd player couldnt read the file but my 24X CDR did..

I returned the Disc at Software Etc. and got a new one..It was the same problem..
styles-T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-02, 05:59 AM   #3
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by !plonk*
I had this problem with Diablo 2..

It would stop in the middle of disc one and say can not copy file...

So I tried it on my Yamaha CD burner and it would install fine..

Very weird..I guess my 40X Cd player couldnt read the file but my 24X CDR did..

I returned the Disc at Software Etc. and got a new one..It was the same problem..
I had this exact same problem with Rune. It turns out that its the security software that is used on the cd, my 40x couldnt read it but my 24x could, there were alot of complaints at the time, and a patch was released. Dont know if its the same resaon that this is happeneing, but there is a good chance it is. It is most annoying when you get a game as a presant or you have just bought it and you cant install it because of some anti-pirate software used on the cd.
__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-02, 10:47 AM   #4
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yeah, definitely sounds like the anti-piracy code... maybe try making an ISO of the CD with CloneCD and reading it with Daemon Tools? Assuming you can make an ISO in the first place...
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-02, 08:23 PM   #5
SnakeEyes
Registered User
 
SnakeEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Zurich, IL
Posts: 502
Send a message via ICQ to SnakeEyes
Default

I had the same problem with disc 2, but what I did was to tell it to retry when it got the problem, and it managed to complete the process. Unfortunately, trying to play the game was a different story, because the same error makes the cd-check fail, so the game simply closes in around 30 seconds. To get around that, I had to find the line in my ini files for ut2003 that pointed to my CD drive and change it to my burner (which reads all three discs fine).
__________________
Snake-Eyes
SnakeEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-02, 11:08 AM   #6
t6_shadow
The all knowing
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 249
Default

Thanks for all the help guys. I have fixed the problem. It was a faulty motherboard causing this and other problems. It has since been replaced.
__________________
Visit www.pointlessaddress.com

I don't about angels but its fear that gives men wings.
- Max Payne

Give him a gun and hes superman. Give him two and hes god.
- Superintendent Pang, Hard boiled

The rig that brings the pain:
Intel p4 2.0 Ghz
1024 megs o ram at pc2100
Asus p4sgx-mx mobo
GIGABYTE geforce 6600gt AGP
60 gig ata 100 Hard drive
48X24X48 lite on Burner
DVD rom drive
t6_shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-02, 07:05 PM   #7
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

Glad you fixed the problem t6. But I want to make all of you aware that all UT2003's copy protection is on Disc 1. It uses the SecuROM New system that is currently unable to be duplicated by today's hardware. NOLF2, Hitman 2 and other games use this protection, too. Right now, however, it is possible to create a working CD image of the game using Alcohol 120% and Daemon Tools.

But any time you try to burn the image, the copy will install, but the game won't run.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-02, 07:34 PM   #8
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
But any time you try to burn the image, the copy will install, but the game won't run.
Some 16 year old kid cracked CSS. It's only a matter of time before somebody cracks this too...
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-03-02, 10:35 PM   #9
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

Yes, but CSS was an encryption technique. But SecuROM New has traits built into the original, pressed CD-ROM itself that, try as the best minds have, are unable to be duplicated at this time. At least we can take images of the disc to operate from a virtual CD drive.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-02, 08:15 AM   #10
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default

Ah these crazy installations, on my brother's system I tried installing SOF2 and the audio during the installation was just a bunch of beeps and static but works fine on mine. Game runs great though. Go figure.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-02, 07:49 AM   #11
fasedww
Pc Gamer
 
fasedww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,578
Default

When ever you install these newer games make sure you stop all the startup programs and the ones runnining. then reboot and install game. Alot of stuff like real audio screws installation process up.
__________________
Asus X79 rampage extreme 4, i7 3930K, 47X100, 4.70 GHZ, ,16 gigs, corsair, 1600mhz, 3 MSI GTX 780's Tri SLI, gtx, Prolimatech Genesis, 2 140mm fan heastsink, Lian Li PC 80 ArmorSuit case, PCPC 1200 watt, window side panel with 120mm blowhole, SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium HD , Asus Blueray sata dvdrw,SSD 256GB Plextor Pro,SSD Patriot Pyro 240gig,SSD Agility 4 256 , 1 300 gig raptor, 1 600 gig raptor, segate 1 gig ,Total Airhead amp, Denon AH-D2000 headphones, Dell Ultra3011, Acer HN274H 120 Hz Lcd, ,26,500 3dmark 11, Win 7 HomePrem.

Rig #2 i7 3930k 4.7GHZ. 16 gig corsair Platinum 2400MHZ, Asus P9X79 DELUXE, 2 7970's Watercooled, Koolance blocks, on 1080 nova rad. 9 fan. 655 swiftech. Cpu heatkiller block, coolgate 240mm rad, 2 fan sycthe 108cfm 655 pump,OCZ 256Gb Vertex 4 ssd, C300 256Gb ssd, Patriot pyro 240Gb ssd, 2 wd 640gig Hd, Lian Li 343 modular case. Asus BD drive, Corsair AX1200 watt, X-FI Titanium HD on Fiio , Shure SRH840 Head phones, Dell Ultra3011, Razer Black Widow Ult. BF3 Edition keyboard, Corsair Vengence M60 Mouse, 3dmark 11 16,500, win 7 homePrem.
fasedww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-02, 09:30 AM   #12
DaveW
Its me! Hurray!
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brit in USA
Posts: 1,203
Default

Its the stupid copy protection.

I originally had a warezed copy and it installed no problem. I later purchased the original and installed it. I noticed that my cdrom drive really struggled during the installation process on parts of disc one and two. It did install ok in the end, but it was acting like the discs were scratched. I installed from my burner that can read and write in raw format. I doubt my other drive would have installed it.
__________________

Core2 Q9400 @ 3.0, eVGA GTX 260, 4G DDR 800, Vista64
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphic errors and hangs after standby reini122 NVIDIA Linux 4 05-07-12 04:37 AM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-31-02 12:59 AM
Linux performance of ut2003 Please Read... Linewbie NVIDIA Linux 17 09-23-02 10:02 AM
Getting bizarre errors with driver install clutch NVIDIA Linux 1 09-14-02 10:53 PM
Installing nForce drivers on Debian 3.0 Doink NVIDIA Linux 4 09-14-02 09:34 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.