Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-26-04, 07:45 AM   #13
Socos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 137
Default Re: Fx cards will be forced to use dx8.1 in HL2

Quote:
Originally Posted by fivefeet8
Judging by the screenshots from various reviews, the IQ isn't that much higher with Dx9.
Which is why I laugh every time I read that NV has SM3.0 and ATI doesn't.

Most if not all things can still be done in DX7 that are done in DX8 or 9.... So when we start arguing SM2.0 vs SM3.0 it gets kinda funny.
__________________
AMD 64 3000 + - 1 GB Kingston HyperX - Chaintech ZNF-150 MB - Audigy 2 Gamer ZS - 200GB SATA HD -
ATI X800 Pro OC 520/540 - 21" Cybervison monitor - Thermaltake Butterfly 450 watt PS - UFO Custom Case
Socos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-04, 12:37 PM   #14
ynnek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,364
Default Re: Fx cards will be forced to use dx8.1 in HL2

the article states they have the console commands, and a list of cards and the dx level it will default to.

But it makes sense with the FX cards.. If they do it right, it could be like FarCry.. you wuoldn't notice much unless you saw the 9's.
ynnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-04, 02:14 AM   #15
Kev1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 679
Default Re: Fx cards will be forced to use dx8.1 in HL2

From what I have read the GFFX line (5900s specifically) run DirectX 9 just as well as the 9800 series with the new Forceware drivers. I know Doom3 is openGL, but I run it fine at high setting at 1024 x 768. I get 6000 3D Marks in 3D Mark 03, and just under 47,000 in Aquamark, both DirectX 9 benchmarks. These DirectX 9 scores are similar to scores a 9800 Pro would have in the same system.

I would think that the GFFX 5900s could run HL2 using DirectX 9 at 1024 x 768 without problems. I hope valve at least allows us the option to do so. If they don't, I hope someone finds a hack to allow us to.

Kev1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-04, 02:20 AM   #16
Fahim
R420, NV40
 
Fahim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In Front Of My PC
Posts: 164
Default Re: Fx cards will be forced to use dx8.1 in HL2

Let new drivers out.......or after game patch........i think NVIDIA FX Series will Support DX9 in Game, atleast 59xx Series.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 6000+ | ASUS CROSSHAIR | 2 x 1GB Corsair XMS PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz | ATI RADEON HD 3870 512MB (800,2340) | PNY GeForce 8800 GTS 320MB (513,1584) | ATI RADEON HD 2900XT 512MB | Leadtek WinFast GeForce 8800 GTS 640MB (500,1584)
Fahim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-04, 03:22 AM   #17
Drunken_Master
Registered User
 
Drunken_Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 26
Default Re: Fx cards will be forced to use dx8.1 in HL2

I believe Valve used the DX 8.1 path to accomodate those with FX5600 and below cards. I read a specific reference to having the mid-range cards and below run so slowly compared to the high-end (I'm just too lazy to look for it now).

Still, I believe that Valve should have made this a user decision by including a user option for DX9 or DX8 rendering paths. I'm not happy with their decision just to use the DX8 path for all FX users. It makes me want to upgrade to the 6800 or the 6600 GT just to get the DX9 path.
__________________
My gaming rig
AthlonXP 1900+ Palomino| Asus A7S333| 2x512MB Kingstong DDR333 memory| MSI FX 5700 128 MB| Viewsonice E70f 17" monitor| Maxtor 160GB 8MB cache| Logitech MX Duo| Creative SB Audigy| Logitech Z-540 speakers
Drunken_Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-04, 03:25 AM   #18
fivefeet8
Ngemu Mod
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 1,886
Default Re: Fx cards will be forced to use dx8.1 in HL2

A user at Guru3d.com forums stated:

You can set your dx to whatever you want. In properties of CSS put in the launch box

-dxlevel 70
-dxlevel 80
-dxlevel 81
-dxlevel 90


Anyone care to try it and report back? I'm guessing you add those commands to the shortcut properties to the exe..
__________________
[i7 2600k @4.4ghertz][2x4 GB DDR3 1600][EVGA GTX570 1.280GB SC][EVGA GTX460 physx][Asrock Extreme7 Gen3 Z68][2xSeagate 160 Gb SATA HD raid0][Seagate 250 GB SATA2 HD][Sony Bravia 40' 1080p LCD HDTV][NEC 3520a DVD+-DLw][Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Rosewill 1000w]
fivefeet8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-04, 05:48 AM   #19
msxyz
Hybrid Microprocessor
 
msxyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Milan (Italy)
Posts: 2,050
Default Re: Fx cards will be forced to use dx8.1 in HL2

I was impressed by the FX5700U results. 5700U + Dx8.1 path = almost the same framerate as a 9600XT + Dx9 path. Considering that on the NV35-36 legacy shaders are processed through FP16 ALUs, these results are better than I expected.

With AA and Aniso, the 5700U pulls ahead of the 9600XT and the framerate still on a playable level even at 1024x768
__________________
Powered by:
Pentium Dual E2180 (2GHz, 200MHz FSB)
Abit L95C (The one and only mATX with dual PCIe slots!) + 2x1 Geil Black Dragon PC6400
XFX 9600GSO 384MB
Little freak wonder
msxyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-04, 12:56 AM   #20
coldpower27
Geforce GTX la la la
 
coldpower27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 401
Send a message via ICQ to coldpower27 Send a message via AIM to coldpower27 Send a message via MSN to coldpower27 Send a message via Yahoo to coldpower27
Default Re: Fx cards will be forced to use dx8.1 in HL2

firingsquad has an article up on how to truly force DX9.0 path for Nvidia cards, the reuslts ain't pretty at this point in time, but at least the option is there

Perhaps a driver revision, may helpsomewhat for the FX card performance in this particular DX9 game, maybe it's just the Source engine the FX cards DX9 performance is abysmal, the other DX9 game we have only show the DX9 lower performance yes but not as dramatic as Source engine.
__________________
GeForce GTX Titan 28nm (GK110) Series Rocks Awesomely!!

My PC (It get's the job done)
|CPU & HSF: Core i7 970 GT 3.2/133 @ Stock B1 w/TR U120E + YL Fan | Video Card: eVGA GeForce GTX 670 2GB GK107 | Case: Antec P183 | Power Supply: Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX v2.2 | Motherboard: ASUS P6X58D-E Intel X58 Chipset + ICH10R | Memory: 3x2GB Patriot CL8 DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24 RAM | DVD Burner: LG LG WH14NS40 | Hard Drive 0: Intel X25-M 160GB (149GB) SATA2 SSD | Hard Drive 1: WD 256GB (244GB) SATA2 SSD | Hard Drive 2: Hitachi 500GB (465GB) 7200RPM 16MB SATA2 | Hard Drive 3: SG 500GB (465GB) 7200 RPM 32MB SATA2 | Hard Drive 4: Samsung 1TB (931GB) 7200 RPM 32MB SATA2 | Sound Card: Auzentech X-Fi Prelude 7.1 | Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 | Monitor: Dell 3007WFP-HC 30inch S-IPS LCD 8ms @ 2560x1600 60HZ | Mouse: Logitech G500 Laser Mouse | Keyboard: Logitech G510 Keyboard | ISP: Rogers Ultimate Internet 150/10 Mbps | OS: Windows 7 Pro Build 7601 SP1 64Bit| Web Browser: Firefox20/Chrome26/IE10 | GPU Drivers: ForceWare 306.97 64Bit WHQL |
coldpower27 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-30-04, 01:07 AM   #21
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Wink Re: Fx cards will be forced to use dx8.1 in HL2

Its not Valves foult that FX line runs 8.1 path by default, Nvidia told devs to treat FX line cards as DX 8 as simple as that it can't handle DX 9 can't you people get it ? by now youd think everyone knows that FX line sucked at DX 9
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 Video Cards -- Disable Open GL on single? amites NVIDIA Linux 5 05-30-12 04:51 PM
Vertical sync being forced on newer drivers with multi-card. Xevious NVIDIA Linux 0 05-11-12 06:31 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.