Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-04-02, 10:06 PM   #13
questioncolon
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yes, almost exactly:

write(0, "Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0"..., 39) = 39
write(2, "(--) ", 5(--) ) = 5
write(0, "(--) ", 5) = 5
write(2, "NVIDIA(0): ", 11NVIDIA(0): ) = 11
write(0, "NVIDIA(0): ", 11) = 11
write(2, "Linear framebuffer at 0xF0000000"..., 33Linear framebuffer at 0xF0000000
) = 33
write(0, "Linear framebuffer at 0xF0000000"..., 33) = 33
write(2, "(--) ", 5(--) ) = 5
write(0, "(--) ", 5) = 5
write(2, "NVIDIA(0): ", 11NVIDIA(0): ) = 11
write(0, "NVIDIA(0): ", 11) = 11
write(2, "MMIO registers at 0xEC000000\n", 29MMIO registers at 0xEC000000
) = 29
write(0, "MMIO registers at 0xEC000000\n", 29) = 29
open("/dev/nvidiactl", O_RDWR) = 5
ioctl(5, 0xc0044602, 0x842b0f0) = 0
ioctl(5, 0xc0044622, 0xbffffc94) = 0
ioctl(5, 0xc0044604, 0xbffffbfc) = 0
ioctl(5, 0xc0044623, 0xbffffc84) = 0
open("/dev/nvidia0", O_RDWR <unfinished ...>
+++ killed by SIGSEGV +++
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-02, 03:30 AM   #14
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default

It seems it has problems accessing /dev/nv*. Make sure the permissions on it are correct and make sure the kernel module is loaded.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-02, 09:47 AM   #15
questioncolon
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have /dev/nv* world-readable and writable, and I am sure that the NVdriver is loaded (lsmod says so)..
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-02, 09:57 AM   #16
dmw400
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

As do I. Do you have an MSI motherboard? That seems to be the heart of the problem (for me at least) - it has some real incompatibilities with linux that seem to only be solvable by setting the BIOS properly before you install anything at all. Their forums have some helpful hints, and when I get home I'm going to try it out - I'll link the hints here if they turn out to work.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-02, 10:35 AM   #17
questioncolon
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have an Asus A7N266-E motherboard (integrated everything) with the nForce chipset.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
302.17 nvidiaXineramaInfoOverride not working properly hlandgar NVIDIA Linux 11 01-21-13 08:53 AM
Microsoft explained why they killed start button AthlonXP1800 Microsoft Windows 8 19 10-28-12 09:07 AM
Base mosaic and rotation? happyfunbot NVIDIA Linux 5 07-13-12 12:23 PM
Installing nForce drivers on Debian 3.0 Doink NVIDIA Linux 4 09-14-02 08:34 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.