Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-26-04, 03:20 PM   #1
Cursor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Default Nforce 3 and Fedora Core 2 x86_64

I got the nforce drivers, but there seems to be no instructions on how to fully configure them. I have absolutely no idea how to get the ethernet working. Modprobe loads the nvnet driver but I have 0 information beyond that as to what I should do. I haven't even tried using the audio driver yet but I'm anticipating the same lack of info.
Cursor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-04, 04:18 PM   #2
Cursor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Default Re: Nforce 3 and Fedora Core 2 x86_64

Never mind, I just didn't understand the way the manual was phrased, I'm a major linux n00b.
If you have the funds this system runs FC2-64 AMAZINGLY!

Athlon 64 3200+ 1024mb L2 Cache
MSI K8N Neo Platinum Nforce3 250gb
1024mb (512x2) Mushkin CAS 2-2-2 PC-3200
2x Hitachi DeskStar 80gb SATA
ASUS V9520 Geforce FX 5200 128mb (upgrading soon)
I have only Nvidia hardware in this system and it's by far the best machine I ever had, all told it cost me about $800 everything retail from Newegg.com
Cursor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-04, 04:39 PM   #3
Cursor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Default Re: Nforce 3 and Fedora Core 2 x86_64

I thought I was out of the woods, I was very very wrong . After getting the sound drivers and network drivers working right, now Gnome started throwing me errors. It gave me the option of deleting the item that was causing the error. Unfortunately I said yes. So assuming I re-install everything again *groan* how do I avoid Gnome settings errors?
Cursor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-04, 07:04 PM   #4
Cursor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Default Re: Nforce 3 and Fedora Core 2 x86_64

Hey everybody, don't be in such a rush to help.
Cursor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-04, 02:44 AM   #5
pfudd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 12
Default Re: Nforce 3 and Fedora Core 2 x86_64

Ok, I'll jump in...

I have no idea.

Thanks for playing!
pfudd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-04, 01:09 PM   #6
Cursor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Default Re: Nforce 3 and Fedora Core 2 x86_64

Whoa, the support and help are blowing me away here! I'm so glad these forums are here. I was worried that no one would be able to waste my time.
Cursor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-04, 04:27 PM   #7
energyman76b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clausthal/Germany
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: Nforce 3 and Fedora Core 2 x86_64

Hi,

you are not telling WHAT errors gnome is throwing, nor WHEN. AND this is a graphic-drivers support-forum not 'nvidia linux hardware general' or 'gnome support'

You: posted your problem in the wrong forum
You: did not post your problem. We do not have crystal balls.
You: were impatient
You: became insulting

If you want help, learn to describe your problems (and if gnome tells you about an error, this messages are the most important information!), and learn to post in the right forums.

A lot of linuxers who are using nvidia are not using gnome. And the rest does not know your problems until YOU describe them.
energyman76b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-04, 04:55 PM   #8
Cursor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Default Re: Nforce 3 and Fedora Core 2 x86_64

Where exactly does it say that this is a graphics only forum? How should I provide the error message when the system crashes before I can write it down?
Cursor is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-28-04, 02:48 AM   #9
energyman76b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clausthal/Germany
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: Nforce 3 and Fedora Core 2 x86_64

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/

NVIDIA Linux Forum (22 Viewing)
Discussion related to Linux in conjunction with NVIDIA based graphics cards. This forum is linked from NVIDIA's Linux drivers page.

ah, some information, your system crashes faster than you can write errors down. If you start telling, what exactly happens when you do what, we might get a clue. or not.
energyman76b is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.