Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-30-04, 10:02 AM   #1
sjmoe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Default Riva TNT2 compatability

Does anyone know if Riva TNT2 is compatible with Call of Duty. I recently purchased the game, loaded on PC and tried to play and get OpenGL errors. Says to update drivers which I did and still no luck.

If I can't use TNT2, what are my options?
sjmoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-04, 10:55 AM   #2
ssj4goku887
Xtreme G Author
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 507
Send a message via AIM to ssj4goku887 Send a message via MSN to ssj4goku887
Default Re: Riva TNT2 compatability

dont think the tnt2 wil run that game. u will prolly need a new vcard
ssj4goku887 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-04, 10:56 AM   #3
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Riva TNT2 compatability

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjmoe
If I can't use TNT2, what are my options?
The TNT series of cards do not support hardware transform and lighting, which will make them incompatible with just about any modern game.

For less than US$100, you can purchase a GeForce4 Ti4200 which will give you all the power you need to play CoD. Use that as a stopgap until you can afford something more powerful.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-04, 10:18 PM   #4
Pantherman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Florida
Posts: 253
Default Re: Riva TNT2 compatability

I agree. the GeForce4 Ti 4200 is the best videocard for someone who just wants something to play some recent games. You can even play Doom III with it, but only at 800X600 with the detail turned down. Still, the game will look good and be playable. The TNT2 should be in a museum by now.
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+ @ 2.0GHz "Clawhammer"
ASUS K8V motherboard
PNY GeForce 6800 16p/6v @350/760
Samsung 1024MB PC-3200 DDR RAM
Samsung 160GB HDD 7200 RPM
HP 400c 8X DVD-RW writer
ASUS CD-S480 16X CD-ROM
Boston Acoustics BA-735 speakers
Mitsubishi 22-inch DiamondPro 2070 SB
Pantherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-04, 10:23 PM   #5
Pandora's Box
Registered User
 
Pandora's Box's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to Pandora's Box Send a message via MSN to Pandora's Box
Default Re: Riva TNT2 compatability

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pantherman
I agree. the GeForce4 Ti 4200 is the best videocard for someone who just wants something to play some recent games. You can even play Doom III with it, but only at 800X600 with the detail turned down. Still, the game will look good and be playable. The TNT2 should be in a museum by now.

in a museum? does on a shelf count as a museum? i have a tnt2 and a tnt m64 sitting on the shelf next to me. heh
__________________
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe 2.00 | AMD Athlon XP 2700+ | 1.5GB DDR333 RAM | OCZ PowerStream 520Watt | eVGA GeForce 6800 GT 256MB Zalman VF700 CU | Western Digital 120GB 8MB Cache 7200 RPM | Western Digital 60GB 2MB Cache 7200 RPM | Athenatech A602 Case | Linksys WMP54GS SpeedBooster Wireless Card
Pandora's Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-04, 02:42 PM   #6
bonchez
Registered User
 
bonchez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Murrieta, Ca, USA
Posts: 192
Send a message via AIM to bonchez
Default Re: Riva TNT2 compatability

You're still running off that pos card, dude it's time for an upgrade.
bonchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-04, 02:46 PM   #7
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Riva TNT2 compatability

there's another nicer way to put that, bonchez... :-l
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-04, 03:02 PM   #8
anzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: Riva TNT2 compatability

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonchez
You're still running off that pos card, dude it's time for an upgrade.
You sure have room to talk with your FX 9500NU

Anyways, newegg has a Radeon 9600 standard for $79 + free shipping Anyways, newegg has a Radeon 9600 standard for $79 + free shipping. The 9600 is faster than a GF4 Ti, supports DX9.0, and has much better image quality. http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...164-022&depa=0 . The 9600 is faster than a GF4 Ti, supports DX9.0, and has much better image quality.
anzak is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-06-04, 03:20 PM   #9
bonchez
Registered User
 
bonchez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Murrieta, Ca, USA
Posts: 192
Send a message via AIM to bonchez
Default Re: Riva TNT2 compatability

So you're saying that a TNT2 is somehow better or on the same level as a 5900?
bonchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-04, 03:26 PM   #10
bonchez
Registered User
 
bonchez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Murrieta, Ca, USA
Posts: 192
Send a message via AIM to bonchez
Default Re: Riva TNT2 compatability

I put 9500 on accident because my other computer has an ATI Radeon 9500 pro.
bonchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-04, 07:12 AM   #11
sedgy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2
Default Re: Riva TNT2 compatability

The TNT2 is a great card. I used to have it, and it worked with call of duty! but only with the latest drivers from www.nvidia.com. so it should work.
btw it shouldnt be in a museum u foolz its the only card i havent had problems with and it runs everything. (except bf, doom, halo.) so there :P
sedgy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-04, 04:54 AM   #12
Slyder
AMD + Nv = pro gaming rig
 
Slyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Coventry / England
Posts: 746
Default Re: Riva TNT2 compatability

I had a TNT2 32meg card, and it wouldnt run much to be honest. A quick change to a cheap GeForce 2 MX solved all my problems, and this was some time ago.
__________________
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI - Bios F11
AMD Athlon 64 3500+@2.2
2gig RAM DDR333 (PC2700) 4 x 512 Corsair Value Select (CL 2.5)
Maxtor 6Y080L0 7200rpm 80 gig DiamondMax Plus 9 HDD
Gigabyte Dual 6600GT SLI Enabled
CTX VL701B 17ins CRT 0.27dpi 72khz MPRII Black
Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
BenQ DW1655 LS DVD-Rewriter with BCDB f/w (ohh yes, get on)
LiteOn 48246S CD writer with SS0E f/w
NTL 10 meg cable connection thru Ambit 250 modem. Ethernet connected
Linksys BEFSR41 v3 router with 1.05.00 f/w
Enermax 535 watts SLI-Ready PSU
XP pro with SP2
Playing multiplayer games online and lan enabled untill the day we die.


What I think of the word Blog
Slyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
X Failed to load NVdriver c00lr4c3r NVIDIA Linux 13 10-22-02 02:44 PM
TNT2 - DXTC/ S3TC extensions .. DarkYY NVIDIA Linux 19 10-01-02 01:31 PM
NVidia - TNT2 M64 - X Hangs themann NVIDIA Linux 3 09-01-02 03:16 PM
TNT2 M64 vs Voodoo3 3000 AGP Jake Other Desktop Graphics Cards 11 08-25-02 05:18 AM
TNT2 M64 and Direct3D drivers? Mist NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 1 08-14-02 12:29 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.