Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-31-04, 02:16 AM   #1
iammrfarrukh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Unhappy will gforce fx5200 work with a intel celeron

will a gforcefx 5200 graphics card work with a 2.6 ghz intel celeron. i hope it does bcuz i ordered the card. i ordered it bcuz my fps was really low in cs its only 10 when i m not moving when i move its like 5 or 6. could it just be bcuz of my ram my ram is 256 mb ddr. if u need any thing else to answer my quiesto=ion ask me plz.
iammrfarrukh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 04:44 AM   #2
Gamer1
Anti Brand Loyalist
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to Gamer1 Send a message via MSN to Gamer1
Default Re: will gforce fx5200 work with a intel celeron

it should be able to, unless you bought an agp card and you don't have an agp slot...
Gamer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 08:52 AM   #3
bosox188
Registered User
 
bosox188's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 30
Default Re: will gforce fx5200 work with a intel celeron

Ok so you're upgrading to a 5200 because you're getting low fps? Well I'm guessing you have integrated graphics or something, is it a Dell? If it is, you probably don't have an AGP slot, I have a Dell and that was the problem with mine. You can get a PCI version of the 5200 but the best PCI card you can get is the Radeon 9100. The 5200 would be better than what you have now, but it's still crap. I know firsthand, check my sig.
__________________
P4B@2.2ghz l 512mb ddr266 ram dual channel l Intel D865GLC mobo AGP 8x l Nvidia Geforce FX 5200 PCI l 60gb 7,200 rpm Hitachi Deskstar hdd l 3DMark 03 Score: 1032 l Now officially have AGP, 6800 or 6800GT for xmas!
bosox188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 09:09 AM   #4
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: will gforce fx5200 work with a intel celeron

Radeon 9100 128 bit (memory interface) is definitely the way to go for PCI...

So, however, do you have an AGP slot?

for CS, a 5200 is fine, as even the 64 bit 5200's perform on par with GF4 MX440, which in turn performs like a GF2 Ultra, which is in a sense a CS uber card...
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 09:20 AM   #5
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default Re: will gforce fx5200 work with a intel celeron

Quote:
Originally Posted by iammrfarrukh
will a gforcefx 5200 graphics card work with a 2.6 ghz intel celeron. i hope it does bcuz i ordered the card. i ordered it bcuz my fps was really low in cs its only 10 when i m not moving when i move its like 5 or 6. could it just be bcuz of my ram my ram is 256 mb ddr. if u need any thing else to answer my quiesto=ion ask me plz.
We need to know if you have an AGP slot. Open the computer and you should have a few white slots, and then you may have a brown slot that is similar in size. If you have the brown slot that is similar in size to the white slots, then yes you have AGP. If you have AGP, get something more powerful than a FX5200. I'm not sure what your budget is, but for $130 you could get an FX5700, for $180 an FX5900XT, for $200 a Radeon 9800Pro, and for $280 a 6800NU.

If you only have white PCI slots, then get a Radeon 9100 128bit PCI. It is very important you get the 128bit version, Visiontek makes one. The 64bit version is much slower.
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 07:19 PM   #6
Pantherman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Florida
Posts: 253
Default Re: will gforce fx5200 work with a intel celeron

The FX 5200 is a gaming disaster. Avoid at ALL COSTS!!!!!
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+ @ 2.0GHz "Clawhammer"
ASUS K8V motherboard
PNY GeForce 6800 16p/6v @350/760
Samsung 1024MB PC-3200 DDR RAM
Samsung 160GB HDD 7200 RPM
HP 400c 8X DVD-RW writer
ASUS CD-S480 16X CD-ROM
Boston Acoustics BA-735 speakers
Mitsubishi 22-inch DiamondPro 2070 SB
Pantherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 07:59 PM   #7
grimreefer
Registered User
 
grimreefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 549
Default Re: will gforce fx5200 work with a intel celeron

but 256mb ram is the least of your concerns....
u have a celeron and an crappy grafix card......
i don think a 5200 is much better than what u have now
grimreefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-05, 06:50 PM   #8
iammrfarrukh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: will gforce fx5200 work with a intel celeron

wow sorry guys i didnt reply to these, and i got the Nvidea geforce 4 fx 5200 and it works way better than my old built in graphics card, i get like 100-160 fps while playing counter-strike 1.6, i would recomend this if u play counter-strike 1.6 and i think i got a good deal, i got this for $79.00, dont u think its a good deal? or is it a rip off, oh and i got it about 4 or 5 months ago when i entered the thread
iammrfarrukh is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintain Your Privacy by Manually Accepting and Rejecting "Cookies" (nV News) MikeC Open Forum 2 02-02-13 07:15 PM
295.53: the kernel needs "acpi=off", thinkpad T420, nvs 4200M Imbrius NVIDIA Linux 1 05-27-12 06:18 PM
GForce drivers installed...but dont work tomfullery NVIDIA Linux 6 09-22-02 08:23 AM
AMD vs Intel druga runda CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 7 08-20-02 01:09 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.