Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-04-02, 04:36 PM   #1
Vash
Angel Arms
 
Vash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 624
Default Help! WinXP Service Pack 1 + Nero 5.5.9.17 = Bad

Just did a clean reinstall of everything on my high end box, XP Pro, latest drivers; everything. Then I installed SP1 and tried to burn me a Utilities disk (was scheduled to repair in-laws' machine).

So, Nero freezes solid whenever I try to write anything. The app comes up just fine and I can create new compliations w/no problem, it's just when I try to write anything, it blows up - I have to *reboot* the computer because even killing the process doesn't do it. SO I downloaded the update for the newest version of Nero and install it, and I still have the same problem.


Anyone know what the problem might be? Here's my machine specs:


1.4 Tbird C
4x2x8 Mitsumi burner
ECS K7S5a mobo
Nero 5.5.9.17


In this case, I am using the mobo drivers that came w/XP. They worked very well pre-SP1, and I didn't see any reason to change it.


Thanks!
Vash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-02, 05:48 PM   #2
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

ftp://ftp6.nero.com/wnaspi32.dll

Put it in C:\Windows\System32 and overwrite what's already there.

That SHOULD work...
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-02, 10:10 PM   #3
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

If that doesn't work, 5.5.9.14 has been running flawlessly on my machine. I can give that to you when you come over this weekend.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-02, 11:20 PM   #4
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Whaddoya know, I'm running 5.5.9.14 too, but I think the ASPI thing should fix it. Nero and all burning programs can get grumpy when the standard MS ASPI layer is used--when I removed and re-added the IDE controller that my optical drives are on in the Device Manager, CDex absolutely blew up. Instant crash, sometimes it hard locked, wasn't pretty. Switched out the ASPI layer, it ran fine (didn't have to reinstall CDex even).

So, that's Guess #1.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-02, 07:23 AM   #5
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

Of course, I have the Adaptec ASPI layer installed on my system and I had that before I installed Nero so who knows if I'd be experiencing the same problems if I didn't have the ASPI layer installed. Whatever, as long as it works, I really don't care.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-02, 09:26 AM   #6
Vash
Angel Arms
 
Vash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 624
Default

Thanks, I'll give this a spin. I had the MS ASPI layer installed in pre-SP1 and that worked fine, but I guess not in a post-SP1 world. Will brb, I'm gonna check this out.


Update: odd...moving the file into c:\windows\system32\ didn't overwrite anything...must test...


Update 2: no luck. I rebooted and then tried to burn me a disk, but it froze up just like before. Strangely enough, this time (but not any other time I'd rebooted - it only did this once) it threw up a memory leak error for nero.exe.

Last edited by Vash; 11-05-02 at 09:48 AM.
Vash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-02, 10:00 AM   #7
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Vash
Strangely enough, this time (but not any other time I'd rebooted - it only did this once) it threw up a memory leak error for nero.exe.
Then I'd have to point my finger at a problem with the software itself. I'll hook you up with the older version I'm running now. If 5.5.9.14 doesn't work for you, I have 5.5.8.2 handy as well, which didn't give me any trouble when I had the M$ ASPI layer installed.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-02, 05:46 PM   #8
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Maybe this then?

http://www.adaptec.com/worldwide/sup...spi_v472a2.exe
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-07-02, 09:22 AM   #9
Vash
Angel Arms
 
Vash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 624
Default

Nope, no dice. I think that Ed's probably right - it's probably the program's fault.
Vash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-02, 03:53 PM   #10
VeritechK7
Just lurking
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego CA
Posts: 184
Send a message via ICQ to VeritechK7 Send a message via AIM to VeritechK7 Send a message via Yahoo to VeritechK7
Default

5.5.8.x loaded up faster for me than the 5.5.9.x
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying" - Tim Robbins, Shawshank Redemption

"When you understand the root, you understand all of its blossoming"- Bruce Lee
VeritechK7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-02, 08:55 AM   #11
eL_PuSHeR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Motril, Granada, SPAIN
Posts: 278
Question

I thought Nero had its own internal aspi layer. I'm running Nero 5.5.1.17 under WinXP SP1 with no problems (No adaptec ASPI layer installed, btw). ONE WORD of advice though: You have to uninstall a previous version first even if the updater doesn't complain. Other than that, you'll run into problems.
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 1800+
ASUS A7V333
1GB 266Mhz DDR SDRAM
Creative GeForce4 Ti4200
Integrated CMI8738 audio
eL_PuSHeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-02, 12:50 PM   #12
Vash
Angel Arms
 
Vash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 624
Default

Hmm, that may be the problem. Though Nero didn't work on a clean install of WinXP SP1, whatever that means. I'll try a clean reinstall and see what happens.
Vash is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
service pack 1 cricket Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 6 09-16-02 08:34 PM
Which best to install Win98se or winme instead of winxp ? b5fan Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 18 09-16-02 11:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.