Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 11-04-02, 08:02 PM   #1
Phaete

Default nVidia driver install error

I'm a newbie trying to complete an install of SuSE 8.0 on a Gateway AMD 400Mhz with STB Velocity 4400 video card. I received the following error after running the kernel rpm package:

linux:/home/dan/Documents/nVidia # rpm -ivh NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-3123.suse80.i386.r pm
NVIDIA_kernel ##################################################
linux:/home/dan/Documents/nVidia # rpm -ivh NVIDIA_GLX-1.0-3123.suse80.i386.rpm
file /usr/X11R6/bin/switch2nvidia_glx from install of NVIDIA_GLX-1.0-3123 confli cts with file from package NVIDIA_GLX-0.8-178
file /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/nvidia_drv.o from install of NVIDIA_GLX-1.0- 3123 conflicts with file from package NVIDIA_GLX-0.8-178

I'm too new to make heads/tails outta it

I haven't restarted the box, yet, but I'm afraid I may have no video if I do as there appears to be a version mismatch of the GLX part of the install.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Phaete
Old 11-05-02, 11:53 AM   #2
bwkaz

It seems that either you or your distribution has installed an old version of the NVIDIA_GLX package. You'll have to either get rid of it first, or upgrade it to the one you're trying to install.

Instead of -ivh, try using -Uvh, U for upgrade rather than install. If that doesn't work, then do:

rpm -qa | grep NVIDIA_GLX

Then rpm -e whateverthatprintedgoeshere to remove it. Then try to install the GLX you have.
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-02, 06:11 PM   #3
Phaete

Well, I got the following:

dan@phaete:~> rpm -qa | grep NVIDIA
NVIDIA_kernel-0.8-178
NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-3123

... apparently I have two kernels installed but no GLX. Neither of the kernel versions listed are what the NVchooser proggie suggested (1.0.2313)

dan@phaete:~/Documents/nVidia> sh NVchooser.sh
NVIDIA does not provide a prebuilt binary driver for your