Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-12-04, 04:31 PM   #1
Bob Page
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Default Cannot get above 640x480 resolution for TV output

I have a Geforce FX 5200 AGP card and a Geforce MX 440 PCI card used together for a xinerama display. In Windows XP, I can successfully use my TV as a 1024x768 display. However, using Mandrake 10, XFree86 4.3.0.1 with NVIDIA graphics drivers (1.0-6106), I cannot get my TV to display any resolution above 640x480.

In my XF86Config-4 file, my FX card is setup as follows:

Section "Device"
Identifier "device2"
VendorName "NVidia"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce FX (generic)"
Driver "nvidia"
Screen 0
BusID "PCI:2:0:0"
Option "NvAgp" "1"
Option "RenderAccel" "1"

Option "TwinView"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024, NULL; 640x480, 640x480; 800x600, 800x600; 1024x768,1024x768"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT,TV"
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-I"
Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
EndSection

Changing to the "640x480, 640x480" metamode is the only way to get any output to my TV; the others all give no signal. From my /var/log/XFree86.0.log file:

(**) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes for display device TV-0:
(**) NVIDIA(0): Default mode "640x480": 25.2 MHz, 31.5 kHz, 60.0 Hz
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Unable to find mode "800x600" for display device 1 in MetaMode
(WW) NVIDIA(0): "800x600,800x600"
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Unable to find mode "1024x768" for display device 1 in
(WW) NVIDIA(0): MetaMode "1024x768,1024x768"

It would seem that XFree86 is saying that 640x480 is the only valid mode it can find. I would really like to have a higher resolution on my TV, but I cannot get it to work. It does however work in Windows with the same TV and video card so I assume it is a software problem. Does anybody know how I can fix this?
Bob Page is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-04, 04:52 PM   #2
Bob Page
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Default Re: Cannot get above 640x480 resolution for TV output

I've attached my full XFree86 configuration file and the full log in case it might be helpful.
Attached Files
File Type: txt XF86Config-4.txt (4.3 KB, 162 views)
File Type: txt XFree86.0.log.txt (48.1 KB, 108 views)
Bob Page is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-04, 08:25 AM   #3
Bob Page
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Default Re: Cannot get above 640x480 resolution for TV output

Does nobody have any ideas of what I can try then or any other diagnostic data I can provide?
Bob Page is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-04, 08:55 AM   #4
dinskeep
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: Cannot get above 640x480 resolution for TV output

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Page
Does nobody have any ideas of what I can try then or any other diagnostic data I can provide?
I don't have much to suggest, I'm having similar issues. My card is a personal cinema 5700, I know that it can do better than 640x480. My only guess is that we need to add modelines in the refresh rate range that the TV can support?
dinskeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-04, 11:17 AM   #5
Bob Page
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Default Re: Cannot get above 640x480 resolution for TV output

Quote:
Originally Posted by dinskeep
I don't have much to suggest, I'm having similar issues. My card is a personal cinema 5700, I know that it can do better than 640x480. My only guess is that we need to add modelines in the refresh rate range that the TV can support?
I was thinking something like that too. My problem is I don't understand how XFree86 discovers what the valid modes are (e.g. Does it query the hardware? Try random modes?) and how you can help it. As 1024x768 works in Windows, I was thinking you could take the settings information it uses there (from the NVIDIA control panel) and use that to help Linux somehow. I'm pretty stumped though.
Bob Page is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-04, 11:27 AM   #6
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: Cannot get above 640x480 resolution for TV output

Make sure you're using 1.0-6111, 1.0-6106 is known to reject valid TV modes.
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-04, 11:30 AM   #7
Bob Page
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Default Re: Cannot get above 640x480 resolution for TV output

Quote:
Originally Posted by zander
Make sure you're using 1.0-6111, 1.0-6106 is known to reject valid TV modes.
Is there no way around this? I'm using Mandrake 10 and I've had serious problems compiling and using (experienced texture problems in OpenGL games) 1.0-6111.
Bob Page is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-04, 11:33 AM   #8
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: Cannot get above 640x480 resolution for TV output

The installation problems with Mandrake 10 and 1.0-6111 are known and solvable relatively easily (there've been several threads with discussions of this problem on this Forum); as to texture corruption problems, it's rather unlikely that 1.0-6111 has OpenGL bugs that 1.0-6106 doesn't.
zander is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-14-04, 12:36 PM   #9
Bob Page
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Default Re: Cannot get above 640x480 resolution for TV output

Quote:
Originally Posted by zander
The installation problems with Mandrake 10 and 1.0-6111 are known and solvable relatively easily (there've been several threads with discussions of this problem on this Forum); as to texture corruption problems, it's rather unlikely that 1.0-6111 has OpenGL bugs that 1.0-6106 doesn't.
Ok, but the problem I had did dissappear after I uninstalled and put 1.0-6106 back on. It might have been something that changed during changing drivers.

I've managed to get 1.0-6111 working again (updating from a working installed driver works automatically). Relevent snippets from my new XFree86.0.log file are:

(II) Module nvidia: vendor="NVIDIA Corporation"
compiled for 4.0.2, module version = 1.0.6111
Module class: XFree86 Video Driver
...
(**) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes for display device TV-0:
(**) NVIDIA(0): Default mode "640x480": 25.2 MHz, 31.5 kHz, 60.0 Hz
(**) NVIDIA(0): Default mode "320x240": 12.6 MHz, 31.5 kHz, 60.1 Hz (D)
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Unable to find mode "800x600" for display device 1 in MetaMode
(WW) NVIDIA(0): "800x600,800x600"
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Unable to find mode "1024x768" for display device 1 in
(WW) NVIDIA(0): MetaMode "1024x768,1024x768"
(--) NVIDIA(0): Display dimensions: (280, 230) mm
(--) NVIDIA(0): DPI set to (116, 113)

So I still cannot get above 640x480. Any other ideas what else I can try? Would it have anything to do with XFree86 not knowing what the correct refresh rates are for the higher resolutions?
Bob Page is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-04, 02:37 PM   #10
comag
Registered User
 
comag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 54
Default Re: Cannot get above 640x480 resolution for TV output

try a more simple meta-modes line:

Code:
 Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024, 800x600"
__________________
Fedora Core 4 (2.6.17) on an x86_64
Geforce 6600GT
comag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-04, 05:29 AM   #11
Bob Page
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Default Re: Cannot get above 640x480 resolution for TV output

Quote:
Originally Posted by comag
try a more simple meta-modes line:

" Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024, 800x600" "
I tried that and simpler combinations like "800x600, 800x600" but just get the same result. Does anyone else have similar problems or have any ideas of how I can look for a solution?
Bob Page is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-04, 01:40 AM   #12
hollovoid7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 19
Default Re: Cannot get above 640x480 resolution for TV output

Im having the same issue, and in windows I run my dual view at 1280x1024 so i KNOW this is not a limitation of the card. I would definitly like to know why this driver limits it, the tv looks aiight at 640x480 but for my monitor that is unacceptable
hollovoid7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800 GT and Ubuntu - Plymouth low resolution legluondunet NVIDIA Linux 3 06-24-12 03:22 PM
Opinions on 1280x1024 resolution skipparoo NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 103 06-22-12 11:38 PM
What resolution do you all run Unreal2003 retail version at with all details on max.? imtim83 Gaming Central 9 10-04-02 10:17 AM
30.82 and 40.41 resolution + monitor OSD. Max3D NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 2 09-05-02 02:15 AM
Resolution MichaelZ NVIDIA Linux 7 08-07-02 06:18 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.