Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-14-04, 10:08 AM   #13
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default Re: Geforce FX+HL2

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoomy942
i think all nv3x users should their cards before the war starts.
True... considering HL2 isn't even available yet it's pretty silly to start complaining about it's performance with the FX already
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-04, 10:14 AM   #14
morbias
point & click
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 22
Default Re: Geforce FX+HL2

performance isn't the issue; the HL2 beta runs more than fast enough on my 5900, but there are shader problems which cause crashes and degrade image quality
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3000+
SL-K8AV2-RL MB (VIA K8T800 chipset)
512MB Samsung PC3200
130GB Seagate + IBM ide
Geforce FX 5900 ultra (nVidia reference version)
Creative SB Live Digital
morbias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-04, 10:20 AM   #15
Pandora's Box
Registered User
 
Pandora's Box's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to Pandora's Box Send a message via MSN to Pandora's Box
Default Re: Geforce FX+HL2

Quote:
Originally Posted by morbias
It looks like Geforce FX cards won't be that compatible with much of the new dX9 software coming out due to an issue in the pixel shader hardware. There is a flaw in nVidia's pixel shader 2.0 architecture and consequently causes a cascade effect in certain dX8 games because of backward compatibility problems with pixel shader 1.2 based code.
Certain dX9 shader code is also incompatible with these chips which means a lot of new software will not work correctly. This problem looks set to be present in nVidia's PS3.0 technology as well, so the 6800 has the dX8 cascade problem, and will most likely have problems with upcoming dX9 releases as well.

there is no fix for this - it is a hardware problem

whats that smell? smells like grade A bullsh!t to me.
__________________
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe 2.00 | AMD Athlon XP 2700+ | 1.5GB DDR333 RAM | OCZ PowerStream 520Watt | eVGA GeForce 6800 GT 256MB Zalman VF700 CU | Western Digital 120GB 8MB Cache 7200 RPM | Western Digital 60GB 2MB Cache 7200 RPM | Athenatech A602 Case | Linksys WMP54GS SpeedBooster Wireless Card
Pandora's Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-04, 10:22 AM   #16
zoomy942
 
zoomy942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bellevue, ID
Posts: 5,334
Send a message via AIM to zoomy942 Send a message via MSN to zoomy942
Default Re: Geforce FX+HL2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pandora's Box
whats that smell? smells like grade A bullsh!t to me.

i am heading for cover!! that was the first shot of the war!
zoomy942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-04, 10:38 AM   #17
Pandora's Box
Registered User
 
Pandora's Box's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to Pandora's Box Send a message via MSN to Pandora's Box
Default Re: Geforce FX+HL2

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoomy942
i am heading for cover!! that was the first shot of the war!

*reloads rifle*

also i remember a week ago that ati got caught by microsoft about its implementations of instancing. i believe microsoft has thoroughly checked out shader model 3.0 as implemented by nvidia to see if it checks out as far as standards go. and since microsoft hasnt told nvidia to change anything they seem to be doing everything according to specs.


btw when we say links, we dont want links to some unknown person on a forum no one has heard of stating that nvidias implementation is fooked. give us a link to a respectable site. (btw that eliminates the inquirer as well )
__________________
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe 2.00 | AMD Athlon XP 2700+ | 1.5GB DDR333 RAM | OCZ PowerStream 520Watt | eVGA GeForce 6800 GT 256MB Zalman VF700 CU | Western Digital 120GB 8MB Cache 7200 RPM | Western Digital 60GB 2MB Cache 7200 RPM | Athenatech A602 Case | Linksys WMP54GS SpeedBooster Wireless Card
Pandora's Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-04, 10:38 AM   #18
morbias
point & click
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 22
Default Re: Geforce FX+HL2

i didn't come here to get into an argument, you can believe what i said or not, i don't give a **** - but the problem exists (it is more apparent on slower cpus).
pandora's box - number of posts is not proportionate to iq, thankyou for proving that.

maybe in a years time i will be posting 'i told you so' on this board, but i sincerely hope not because i want the 6800 to kick ass, ok?

but for now, there's nothing you can say that will change the fact that there are major issues with the current FX family
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3000+
SL-K8AV2-RL MB (VIA K8T800 chipset)
512MB Samsung PC3200
130GB Seagate + IBM ide
Geforce FX 5900 ultra (nVidia reference version)
Creative SB Live Digital
morbias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-04, 10:50 AM   #19
Pandora's Box
Registered User
 
Pandora's Box's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to Pandora's Box Send a message via MSN to Pandora's Box
Default Re: Geforce FX+HL2

Quote:
Originally Posted by morbias
i didn't come here to get into an argument, you can believe what i said or not, i don't give a **** - but the problem exists (it is more apparent on slower cpus).
pandora's box - number of posts is not proportionate to iq, thankyou for proving that.

maybe in a years time i will be posting 'i told you so' on this board, but i sincerely hope not because i want the 6800 to kick ass, ok?

but for now, there's nothing you can say that will change the fact that there are major issues with the current FX family

im not calling bs on the fact that the FX line has problems. just that when u stated it also applied to the 6xxx line i have a problem.
__________________
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe 2.00 | AMD Athlon XP 2700+ | 1.5GB DDR333 RAM | OCZ PowerStream 520Watt | eVGA GeForce 6800 GT 256MB Zalman VF700 CU | Western Digital 120GB 8MB Cache 7200 RPM | Western Digital 60GB 2MB Cache 7200 RPM | Athenatech A602 Case | Linksys WMP54GS SpeedBooster Wireless Card
Pandora's Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-04, 10:56 AM   #20
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Geforce FX+HL2

morbias, you said you didnt come in here to argue, yet the point you brought up is very obviously flameworthy material...

No personal attacks though. Got it?

/me moves on... only to pop back in later to make sure no threadclowns have deteriorated this thread...
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-14-04, 10:59 AM   #21
morbias
point & click
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 22
Default Re: Geforce FX+HL2

fair enough, but the 6800 shaders would appear to have been built along the same line as the version 2.0s, as in certain instances they display the same slowdowns and corruption when running dX8 code as the current FXs, which may culminate in similar dX9 shader support issues.
morbias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-04, 11:04 AM   #22
morbias
point & click
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 22
Default Re: Geforce FX+HL2

LOOK the details i posted were to help people out who may have been having those problems.
the idea that ppl come to a discussion forum but don't discuss problems because someone might disagree is a little thin imo.

btw, i heard last year sometime that 5900s have 3.0 support also, but there is no software or driver that activates it. does anyone know more about this?
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3000+
SL-K8AV2-RL MB (VIA K8T800 chipset)
512MB Samsung PC3200
130GB Seagate + IBM ide
Geforce FX 5900 ultra (nVidia reference version)
Creative SB Live Digital
morbias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-04, 11:05 AM   #23
Pandora's Box
Registered User
 
Pandora's Box's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to Pandora's Box Send a message via MSN to Pandora's Box
Default Re: Geforce FX+HL2

Quote:
Originally Posted by morbias
fair enough, but the 6800 shaders would appear to have been built along the same line as the version 2.0s, as in certain instances they display the same slowdowns and corruption when running dX8 code as the current FXs, which may culminate in similar dX9 shader support issues.

yet again you dont provide any proof that the 6800 shaders appear to be built along the same line as 2.0's. where are they showing slowdowns and corruption?
__________________
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe 2.00 | AMD Athlon XP 2700+ | 1.5GB DDR333 RAM | OCZ PowerStream 520Watt | eVGA GeForce 6800 GT 256MB Zalman VF700 CU | Western Digital 120GB 8MB Cache 7200 RPM | Western Digital 60GB 2MB Cache 7200 RPM | Athenatech A602 Case | Linksys WMP54GS SpeedBooster Wireless Card
Pandora's Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-04, 11:10 AM   #24
morbias
point & click
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 22
Default Re: Geforce FX+HL2

try running a 6800 on a 2Ghz cpu, in games such as Asherons call 2, nfs underground, or f1 2002.

i can't provide proof, as i have only read of these problems in forums and obviously forum links aren't always solid. nVidia has not released any information on the problem - but then why would they if there was a serious flaw in their hardware.

please realise that these corruptions and slowdowns happen seemingly randomly and so are hard to replicate on certain setups. a slower cpu does however seem to increase the probability of it happening
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3000+
SL-K8AV2-RL MB (VIA K8T800 chipset)
512MB Samsung PC3200
130GB Seagate + IBM ide
Geforce FX 5900 ultra (nVidia reference version)
Creative SB Live Digital
morbias is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What You Can Expect From GeForce GRID News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-04-12 04:20 PM
Enhance Max Payne 3, Diablo III with GeForce R300 Drivers News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-22-12 06:30 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.