Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-15-04, 08:26 PM   #37
Pandora's Box
Registered User
 
Pandora's Box's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to Pandora's Box Send a message via MSN to Pandora's Box
Default Re: Geforce FX+HL2

Quote:
Originally Posted by WarheadMM
i got a FX 5900 and it play in CS:S at 50fps. Thats in DX9 mode forced. In Dx 8.1 i get 120fsp


also there is no IQ difference between DX 8.1 and 9

i disagree. directx 9 is 10x better than 8.1
__________________
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe 2.00 | AMD Athlon XP 2700+ | 1.5GB DDR333 RAM | OCZ PowerStream 520Watt | eVGA GeForce 6800 GT 256MB Zalman VF700 CU | Western Digital 120GB 8MB Cache 7200 RPM | Western Digital 60GB 2MB Cache 7200 RPM | Athenatech A602 Case | Linksys WMP54GS SpeedBooster Wireless Card
Pandora's Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-04, 10:04 PM   #38
lIqUID
whip yo ass!
 
lIqUID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 653
Default Re: Geforce FX+HL2

why are we arguing about outdated hardware? Next thing you know some stooge with 0 posts will come in here and whine about his Geforce 4 being slow in D3 @ high detail.

If you dont like it upgrade..... I bought an FX5900 and it runs all my games superbly, when it starts to show wear then Ill move on, thats how things work man.
lIqUID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-04, 10:22 PM   #39
morbias
point & click
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 22
Default Re: Geforce FX+HL2

coz this is the outdated hardware forum!!
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3000+
SL-K8AV2-RL MB (VIA K8T800 chipset)
512MB Samsung PC3200
130GB Seagate + IBM ide
Geforce FX 5900 ultra (nVidia reference version)
Creative SB Live Digital
morbias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-04, 11:05 PM   #40
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Geforce FX+HL2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pandora's Box
i disagree. directx 9 is 10x better than 8.1
In what way IQ? from I have seen there has been very small differences between the Shader 1.4 path and the 2.0. Because the paths just dont need the extra instructions.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-04, 11:23 PM   #41
WarheadMM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 170
Default Re: Geforce FX+HL2

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisRay
In what way IQ? from I have seen there has been very small differences between the Shader 1.4 path and the 2.0. Because the paths just dont need the extra instructions.
yeah....especially in CS:S....there is very low to no IQ difference between DX 8.1 and DX9 in CS:S
__________________
A7N8X Deluxe REV 1.04
AMD 2500+
Asylum 5900 (480/980)
1 GB PC 3200
Windows XP Pro SP1
WarheadMM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-04, 12:32 AM   #42
WeReWoLf
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,015
Send a message via MSN to WeReWoLf
Default Re: Geforce FX+HL2

Personally i couldn't care less at the moment... I just want to get my hands on HL2 so i can play it. I don't care what is rendering it, i just wanna play it!!! Offtopic though, i love ur avatar RageJG... "And You... you're Mr. Pink..."
WeReWoLf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-04, 04:59 AM   #43
Arraso
Brasil!
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 6
Send a message via ICQ to Arraso
Default Re: Geforce FX+HL2

FarCry demo really use DX8.1 shaders, but FarCry 1.1 use SM2.0 with partial precision (FP16).

But the patch 1.2 runs with FP32 - and the frame drop down.
Arraso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-04, 05:05 AM   #44
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Geforce FX+HL2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arraso
FarCry demo really use DX8.1 shaders, but FarCry 1.1 use SM2.0 with partial precision (FP16).

But the patch 1.2 runs with FP32 - and the frame drop down.

No Far Cry Demo uses 8.1 Shaders.


Far Cry Demo 1.1 runs alot of Integer class shaders with normalization of cubemaps. 1.2 Path runs FX series/6800 series with Primarily Fp16 (which is more than enough for Shader 2.0 model atm)
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-16-04, 06:40 AM   #45
Shamrock
Royalty gone awry
 
Shamrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,612
Default Re: Geforce FX+HL2

Quote:
Originally Posted by morbias
try running a 6800 on a 2Ghz cpu, in games such as Asherons call 2, nfs underground, or f1 2002.

i can't provide proof, as i have only read of these problems in forums and obviously forum links aren't always solid. nVidia has not released any information on the problem - but then why would they if there was a serious flaw in their hardware.

please realise that these corruptions and slowdowns happen seemingly randomly and so are hard to replicate on certain setups. a slower cpu does however seem to increase the probability of it happening
I have F1 2002, AND F1 Challenge 99-02, and I cant find any "cascading effect" Mine runs great at 70+ fps...albeit, on a 5900U FLASHED to a 5950U

I've even slowed down to look at the purdy countryside, and swaying trees, still cant find a cascade effect.

__________________
They're after me Lucky Charms!

AMD Phenom II 955BE
16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1333Mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850
Logitech Z-5300 5.1 THX surround sound
HANNS-G 28" LCD
ZBoard Merc Gaming Keyboard
CoolerMaster HAF-932 Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Pro x64
Shamrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-04, 08:56 AM   #46
morbias
point & click
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 22
Default Re: Geforce FX+HL2

as i said b4, it will only happen 4 some ppl. if you get the problem i described then i was trying to shed some light on why, if you don't then no point worrying about.
..that post was deleted by admin 4 a 'personal flame'??
morbias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-04, 11:35 AM   #47
Daneel Olivaw
Northwood hugger
 
Daneel Olivaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,244
Default Re: Geforce FX+HL2

I'm a satisfied FX5900xt user. And I play NFSu, I've slowed down my CPU to 1.6GHz and seen nothing amiss, nor afoot, nor afoot-and-a-half.

I'd like screenshots, or a respectable study on the matter.
__________________
-Intel Core2 Duo 4300 (3.0GHz) | Asus P5N-E SLI | 6GB Corsair CVS PC2-5300 | GF8800GT 512MB | Western Digital 1TB Raid0 | Antec SLK2600AMB | Antec Earthwatts 500W
-Intel Pentium4 2.4C (3.4GHz) | Asus P4P800 Dlx | 2GB Crucial Rendition PC-3200 | GF6800LE 128MB | Seagate 200GB | Antec Overture II | Antec TruePower 2.0 480W


Mild agnosticism —the view that the existence or nonexistence of God or gods is currently unknown but is not necessarily unknowable, therefore one will withhold judgment until/if more evidence is available. A weak agnostic would say "I don't know, but maybe you do."
Daneel Olivaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-04, 12:21 PM   #48
Pandora's Box
Registered User
 
Pandora's Box's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to Pandora's Box Send a message via MSN to Pandora's Box
Default Re: Geforce FX+HL2

yes this morbias guy needs to backup his claims. u cant just go around saying its broken without saying why and giving proof that its broken.
__________________
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe 2.00 | AMD Athlon XP 2700+ | 1.5GB DDR333 RAM | OCZ PowerStream 520Watt | eVGA GeForce 6800 GT 256MB Zalman VF700 CU | Western Digital 120GB 8MB Cache 7200 RPM | Western Digital 60GB 2MB Cache 7200 RPM | Athenatech A602 Case | Linksys WMP54GS SpeedBooster Wireless Card
Pandora's Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What You Can Expect From GeForce GRID News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 04:20 PM
Enhance Max Payne 3, Diablo III with GeForce R300 Drivers News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 06:30 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.