Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-13-04, 08:58 PM   #1
immortel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Question snd-seq seems to be my problem

Hello,

I have a motherboard A7N8X with gentoo and the kernel 2.6.8-r3. I installed the sound drivers from this site (emerging them did not worked).

I configured everything as the release notes indicates it and there is still somehting that does not work.

When I start amixer, I have the following message: "amixer: Mixer attach default error: No such device"

And alsa load the nvsound drivers when it starts but I have an error with snd-seq. Does anyone have an idea for the source of my problem?

root@immortel / # /etc/init.d/alsasound stop
* WARNING: you are stopping a boot service.
* Unloading ALSA...
* Storing ALSA Mixer Levels
/usr/sbin/alsactl: save_state:1061: No soundcards found...
* Unloading modules [ ok ]

root@immortel / # rmmod nvsound

root@immortel / # /etc/init.d/alsasound start
* Loading ALSA drivers...
* Using ALSA OSS emulation
* Loading: nvsound
* Loading: snd-seq
FATAL: Module snd_seq not found.
* Running card-dependent scripts
* Restoring Mixer Levels [ ok ]
immortel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-04, 07:01 AM   #2
immortel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Exclamation No sound card found

I recompiled my kernel and put everything about ALSA in modules. It is loaded by the service alsasound automatically. I don't have the error about snd-seq anymore but it still does not work. When I try amixer, it tells me that there is no device and when I stop alsasound, I still have the message:
"/usr/sbin/alsactl: save_state:1061: No soundcards found..."

It looks like ALSA does not consider the nvsound driver as a valide sound card.. If I start nvmixer everything is working well and the card is detected.

Please help!
immortel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-04, 10:08 PM   #3
immortel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Post Re: snd-seq seems to be my problem

I recompiled once again the kernel and added the Nforce2. (I know in the release notes it says to not do this).

If I load the module snd-intel8x0 and after that I start alsa, I can have some sound but the nvmixer is not detecting anything and I have only 2 speakers working out of 5.

I would really like this to work as it is supposed to.

Also, in /proc/asound everything seems to be filled up correctly when I use snd-intel8x0 but nothing happens with the nvsound.

Anyway, if I find a solution to my problem. I will let me know my solution. hehehhehe
immortel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-04, 07:21 PM   #4
jacen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Valparaíso, Chile
Posts: 37
Default Re: snd-seq seems to be my problem

If you want to use the Nvidia sound driver (nvsound) you CAN NOT USE the alsa drivers, because nvidia's one is OSS, wich is completely different from ALSA, i mean, incompatible.
You must to have your kernel with the OSS option enabled (the one wich says DEPRECATED).
Then, edit the /etc/modprobe or /etc/modules file as said in the instructions.

Bye!!
jacen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-04, 09:21 PM   #5
immortel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Unhappy Re: snd-seq seems to be my problem

Hello,

I just tried that and it's still not working. Here a part of my dmesg:
*********************************
0: nvidia: loading NVIDIA Linux x86 NVIDIA Kernel Module 1.0-5336 Wed Jan 14 1
8:29:26 PST 2004
Nvsound: Nvidia Audio Init Module, 22:03:15 Sep 23 2004 version 1.0-0
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:00:06.0 to 64
Nvsound: NVIDIA nForce2 Audio found at IO 0xdc00 and 0xd800, IRQ b
Nvsound: Aci_device dff05800 Apu_device 00000000
Nvsound: DEV MIXER 0 DEV AUDIO 3
Nvsound: Value 20000c
Nvsound: fragment size 20 fragnum c
Nvsound: Set format as 10
Nvsound: Set format as 10
Nvsound: Unable to change the Playback SampleRate, set back to 48000
Nvsound: Nvaudio_release
Nvsound: Value 20000c
Nvsound: fragment size 20 fragnum c
Nvsound: Set format as 10
Nvsound: Set format as 10
Nvsound: Nvaudio_release
Nvsound: Value 20000c
Nvsound: fragment size 20 fragnum c
Nvsound: Set format as 10
Nvsound: Set format as 10
Nvsound: Nvaudio_release
Nvsound: Value 20000c
Nvsound: fragment size 20 fragnum c
Nvsound: Set format as 10
Nvsound: Set format as 10
Nvsound: Unable to change the Playback SampleRate, set back to 48000
Nvsound: Nvaudio_release
irq 7: nobody cared!
[<c0107d8a>] __report_bad_irq+0x2a/0x90
[<c0107e7c>] note_interrupt+0x6c/0xa0
[<c0108151>] do_IRQ+0x121/0x130
[<c0106434>] common_interrupt+0x18/0x20
[<c011dc30>] __do_softirq+0x30/0x80
[<c011dca6>] do_softirq+0x26/0x30
[<c010812d>] do_IRQ+0xfd/0x130
[<c0106434>] common_interrupt+0x18/0x20
[<c0103a13>] default_idle+0x23/0x30
[<c0103a7c>] cpu_idle+0x2c/0x40
[<c03548c1>] start_kernel+0x191/0x1d0
[<c03544b0>] unknown_bootoption+0x0/0x160
handlers:
[<c024a430>] (ide_intr+0x0/0x190)
Disabling IRQ #7
Nvsound: Nvaudio_release
Nvsound: Set format as 10
Nvsound: Unable to change the Playback SampleRate, set back to 48000
Nvsound: Value 7fff000d
Nvsound: fragment size 7fff fragnum d
Nvsound: Nvaudio_release
Nvsound: Set format as 10
Nvsound: Unable to change the Playback SampleRate, set back to 48000
Nvsound: Value 7fff000d
Nvsound: fragment size 7fff fragnum d
Nvsound: Nvaudio_release
Nvsound: Set format as 10
Nvsound: Unable to change the Playback SampleRate, set back to 48000
Nvsound: Value 7fff000d
Nvsound: fragment size 7fff fragnum d
Nvsound: Nvaudio_release
**************************

Also if I do a cat something.wav > /dev/dsp, I have the error:
write error: Illegal seek

It seems very weird. Any idea?
immortel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-04, 11:04 PM   #6
pergamon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 14
Unhappy Re: snd-seq seems to be my problem

I have the exact same problem... Sad thing is that I had it working before but I had to reinstall due to some graphics problems and now I can't get it to work.. I really can't figure out what's different from the last time I installed...

Must be some people out there with a Nforce2 and working audio ... would be really interesting to know exactly what they have built into their kernel.

// pergamon www.tmpsoft.se
pergamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-04, 08:17 PM   #7
jacen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Valparaíso, Chile
Posts: 37
Default Re: snd-seq seems to be my problem

Watch the "Linux Operating Systems & Software" section of this forum. There are several threads about nforce audio problems.
jacen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Post working out problem with 40.xx trying to work problem out, ONLY system specs b5fan NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 11 10-19-02 09:17 AM
nv30 problem rumor bob747b Rumor Mill 37 10-10-02 03:14 PM
funny problem with 2960 and GF4 konsti NVIDIA Linux 3 09-03-02 07:08 AM
Win XP problem with regards to CD ROM MUYA Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 4 08-03-02 09:51 AM
Nvidia Go on laptop, black border within XFree86 problem raxip NVIDIA Linux 3 07-31-02 10:58 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.