Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-16-04, 08:49 AM   #1
Ghostguy
Registered User
 
Ghostguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 66
Default Far Cry Patch plans

Quote:
Please note that Far Cry patch 1.25 is still undergoing tweaking at Crytek. We'll give you more news on that as soon as we're able.
sorry if this was already posted.
The above was seen @ Blues
__________________
Abit IC7-MAX3|Intel P4 3.0ghz Northwood (Thermaltake Spark 7)|1gb OCZ PC3500 Platinum (Winbond BH5)|BFG 6800GT OC (Vantec Spectrum Fan Card under it)|Creative Audigy 2|Maxtor 80gb|Pioneer DVR-A05 Burner|TDK VeloCD 5200B Burner|Antec Sonata with TrueBlue 480w PS|Sony CPD-E540B 21"
Ghostguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-04, 09:14 AM   #2
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: Far Cry Patch plans

<yawn>
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-04, 10:30 AM   #3
aAv7
 
aAv7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,250
Default Re: Far Cry Patch plans

So their just ignoring the 1.3 patch I assume? It's funny....their "tweaking" the 1.25 patch....what exactly needs tweaking? Last time I checked the 4.9 cats fixed all problems with ati cards and the 1.2 patch. They need to move their butts on the 1.3 patch so we can play the famous rocks on the beach scene that jakup got to play @ e3....and ati owners can have 3dc. We dont want a 1.25 patch that fixes problems already fixed by video card drivers. Redundant.
__________________
[SIZE="1"][B]CPU:[/B] AMD64 3200+ Winchester @ 2.2 [B]RAM:[/B] 2GB Kingston Dual Channel DDR 400 [B]Motherboard:[/B] Gigabyte K8 Triton nForce4 [B]VideoCard:[/B] eVGA GeForce 7800GTX 512MB [B]Hard Drive:[/B] WD 250GB Sata [B]OS:[/B] Dual boot, Windows XP Home/Windows Professional x64 Edition Retail[B] Audio:[/B] X-Fi Xtreme Music [B]Mouse:[/B] Logitech MX 310 [B]PSU:[/B] 500W Ultra Connect (34A on the 12V+)[/SIZE]

[SIZE="1"][B]Xbox 360:[/B] w/ Intercooler @ 1280x1024 , Dynasty Warriors 5, Fight Night Round 3, Kameo, NBA 2K6, Perfect Dark Zero CE, and PGR 3[SIZE="1"][/SIZE][/SIZE]
aAv7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-04, 11:02 AM   #4
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Far Cry Patch plans

Quote:
Originally Posted by ultimate17
So their just ignoring the 1.3 patch I assume? It's funny....their "tweaking" the 1.25 patch....what exactly needs tweaking? Last time I checked the 4.9 cats fixed all problems with ati cards and the 1.2 patch. They need to move their butts on the 1.3 patch so we can play the famous rocks on the beach scene that jakup got to play @ e3....and ati owners can have 3dc. We dont want a 1.25 patch that fixes problems already fixed by video card drivers. Redundant.

Well let's see:

1.2 was released and recalled.
1.3 was never made

1.25 is between 1.2 and 1.3...maybe they're taking the best of both worlds here? And what does the version number have to do with anything? They could call it 10.0 and it could be just the 1.2 patch again...the numbers are just an arbitrary system to let users know there is something different than the boxed version. Besides did they actually say it was going to be version 1.3?
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-04, 11:09 AM   #5
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: Far Cry Patch plans

I had problems with the the 1.2 patch on my 9700pro, 4.9's didn't fix it.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-04, 11:10 AM   #6
Pandora's Box
Registered User
 
Pandora's Box's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to Pandora's Box Send a message via MSN to Pandora's Box
Default Re: Far Cry Patch plans

Quote:
Originally Posted by superklye
Well let's see:

1.2 was released and recalled.
1.3 was never made

1.25 is between 1.2 and 1.3...maybe they're taking the best of both worlds here? And what does the version number have to do with anything? They could call it 10.0 and it could be just the 1.2 patch again...the numbers are just an arbitrary system to let users know there is something different than the boxed version. Besides did they actually say it was going to be version 1.3?

yes they did say that there was going to be a version 1.3. i believe in a firingsquad.com interview. it was supposed to add hdr for nvidia and 3dc for ati among other things.
__________________
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe 2.00 | AMD Athlon XP 2700+ | 1.5GB DDR333 RAM | OCZ PowerStream 520Watt | eVGA GeForce 6800 GT 256MB Zalman VF700 CU | Western Digital 120GB 8MB Cache 7200 RPM | Western Digital 60GB 2MB Cache 7200 RPM | Athenatech A602 Case | Linksys WMP54GS SpeedBooster Wireless Card
Pandora's Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-04, 11:23 AM   #7
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Far Cry Patch plans

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pandora's Box
yes they did say that there was going to be a version 1.3. i believe in a firingsquad.com interview. it was supposed to add hdr for nvidia and 3dc for ati among other things.
And since this isn't labeled as 1.3, it means that it's for sure not 1.3 in disguise?
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-04, 12:07 PM   #8
aAv7
 
aAv7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,250
Default Re: Far Cry Patch plans

Well when they say 1.25-it sounds to me, like a fixed version of 1.2, if it had hdr and 3dc, I dont see why they would call it 1.25. They would just release 1.3 and say all fixes for 1.2 are in this patch. 1.25 gives off the impression that it's a small fix, rather than a huge change. Kind of like any other sotware...1.1.5 is always less impressive than 2.0 and so on. We're just using a little common-sense....try it sometime.
__________________
[SIZE="1"][B]CPU:[/B] AMD64 3200+ Winchester @ 2.2 [B]RAM:[/B] 2GB Kingston Dual Channel DDR 400 [B]Motherboard:[/B] Gigabyte K8 Triton nForce4 [B]VideoCard:[/B] eVGA GeForce 7800GTX 512MB [B]Hard Drive:[/B] WD 250GB Sata [B]OS:[/B] Dual boot, Windows XP Home/Windows Professional x64 Edition Retail[B] Audio:[/B] X-Fi Xtreme Music [B]Mouse:[/B] Logitech MX 310 [B]PSU:[/B] 500W Ultra Connect (34A on the 12V+)[/SIZE]

[SIZE="1"][B]Xbox 360:[/B] w/ Intercooler @ 1280x1024 , Dynasty Warriors 5, Fight Night Round 3, Kameo, NBA 2K6, Perfect Dark Zero CE, and PGR 3[SIZE="1"][/SIZE][/SIZE]
aAv7 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-16-04, 12:16 PM   #9
Vagrant Zero
I'm a Back Door Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,750
Send a message via AIM to Vagrant Zero
Default Re: Far Cry Patch plans

Patch 1.2 craps out on me [got a GT] so no, there were issues with it.
Vagrant Zero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-04, 12:21 PM   #10
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Far Cry Patch plans

Quote:
Originally Posted by ultimate17
Well when they say 1.25-it sounds to me, like a fixed version of 1.2, if it had hdr and 3dc, I dont see why they would call it 1.25. They would just release 1.3 and say all fixes for 1.2 are in this patch. 1.25 gives off the impression that it's a small fix, rather than a huge change. Kind of like any other sotware...1.1.5 is always less impressive than 2.0 and so on. We're just using a little common-sense....try it sometime.

I'm lacking common sense? Do you even know what's going into the 1.25 patch yet? Why not wait to bitch about it not being 1.3 until you find out exactly what's in it. Maybe it IS 1.3 but they decided to call it 1.25 instead. Did you ever stop to use *gasp* common sense and think about that?
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-04, 12:23 PM   #11
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Far Cry Patch plans

Look, the point is the next Warcraft 3 patch could be 1.17 or it could be 1.4 and you know what? It would have the same stuff in it no matter what it's called. That's the point. You're saying that the patch number "gives the impression" that it's not as good when the simple fact remains that you just don't know what the patch is going to contain.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-04, 12:23 PM   #12
Pandora's Box
Registered User
 
Pandora's Box's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to Pandora's Box Send a message via MSN to Pandora's Box
Default Re: Far Cry Patch plans

Quote:
Originally Posted by superklye
I'm lacking common sense? Do you even know what's going into the 1.25 patch yet? Why not wait to bitch about it not being 1.3 until you find out exactly what's in it. Maybe it IS 1.3 but they decided to call it 1.25 instead. Did you ever stop to use *gasp* common sense and think about that?


personal attack 4 teh loose.
__________________
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe 2.00 | AMD Athlon XP 2700+ | 1.5GB DDR333 RAM | OCZ PowerStream 520Watt | eVGA GeForce 6800 GT 256MB Zalman VF700 CU | Western Digital 120GB 8MB Cache 7200 RPM | Western Digital 60GB 2MB Cache 7200 RPM | Athenatech A602 Case | Linksys WMP54GS SpeedBooster Wireless Card
Pandora's Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Verizon's shared data plans won't save solo users much money News Archived News Items 0 06-12-12 10:40 AM
Verizon announces 'Share Everything' plans ' the future of mobile data (sort of News Archived News Items 0 06-12-12 10:40 AM
At $30/month, Virgin Mobile beats Cricket's prepaid iPhone plans News Archived News Items 0 06-07-12 09:50 AM
Far Cry 3 preview and E3 presentation footage News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:30 AM
Dante's Peak: DmC Devil May Cry PC-Bound In 2013 News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 04:50 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.