Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-18-04, 08:38 AM   #13
Subtestube
Anisymbolic
 
Subtestube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 1,365
Default Re: FarCry settings-personal preference

No, I've been informed (and I could be wrong on this) that the demo of Far Cry only includes the DX 8.1 shaders - not the full powered 9.0 ones. Hence why the quality isn't perfect. Also, in my own experience when using 3d-analyze to make the demo look better, the water at a distance seems... blocky for want of a better word. Anywho... it could all be my own misapprehensions as to what it's supposed to look like.
__________________
Dr Possible: Core 2 Duo E6400 on Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4. Galaxy GeForce 7600GT. 2GB Corsair XMS 2 DDR2-6400 RAM (CL5). ATi Theatre 550 Pro. Windows XP MCE. All stored in Piano black Antec Sonata II, with a broken door.

Mobile: ASUS M2400N, Pentium M 1.5 GHz. 512 MB DDR RAM. Intel EXTREME graphics. Windows XP SP 2 / Ubuntu 5.10.

Ridiculous DOES not have an 'e' in it. It comes from "ridicule" and has less than nothing to do with the colour red.
Subtestube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-04, 11:51 AM   #14
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: FarCry settings-personal preference

I've got mine at:

1280x1024
8xS FSAA
16x AS
everything on Very High

It runs like a dream and looks damned good.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-04, 10:54 PM   #15
Subtestube
Anisymbolic
 
Subtestube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 1,365
Default Re: FarCry settings-personal preference

No, 3d-Analyze allows you to misreport various settings regarding your card, thus allowing you to get any nice effects during the Demo or unpatched versions of Far Cry at all with a 6800. That shadowing artifact... I couldn't help you with to be honest (I assume it is the shadow that you're talking about). Shadowing problems are really pretty common, so I imagine someone else has had the same thing... it's just that most methods for shadowing really aren't perfect. I don't actually know how Far Cry does it, as I've not looked into it.
__________________
Dr Possible: Core 2 Duo E6400 on Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4. Galaxy GeForce 7600GT. 2GB Corsair XMS 2 DDR2-6400 RAM (CL5). ATi Theatre 550 Pro. Windows XP MCE. All stored in Piano black Antec Sonata II, with a broken door.

Mobile: ASUS M2400N, Pentium M 1.5 GHz. 512 MB DDR RAM. Intel EXTREME graphics. Windows XP SP 2 / Ubuntu 5.10.

Ridiculous DOES not have an 'e' in it. It comes from "ridicule" and has less than nothing to do with the colour red.
Subtestube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-04, 11:35 PM   #16
BlackSun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 90
Default Re: FarCry settings-personal preference

Which patch has Pixel Shader 3.0 in it? And where would you get it?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 Conroe 3.0GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor
EVGA 122-CK-NF68-AR LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard
2 EVGA 768-P2-N835-AR GeForce 8800GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 SUPERCLOCKED HDCP Video Cards
PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1KW
COOLER MASTER Stacker 830 Evolution
Danger Den Watercooling -Best they have!!!
CORSAIR Dominator 4GB (4 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1142 w/fans
Creative XFI
Dual Western Digital Raptor X's HD's-Raid 0
2 Western Digital 500G
Pioneer A08 DVD+RW
Klipsch Promedia Ultras
Dell 3008WFP-HC
BlackSun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-04, 11:40 PM   #17
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: FarCry settings-personal preference

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackSun
Which patch has Pixel Shader 3.0 in it? And where would you get it?
1.2 and it was recalled. You'll have to do some searching or maybe someone here has a link/can send it to you.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-04, 11:25 AM   #18
BlackSun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 90
Default Re: FarCry settings-personal preference

Quote:
Originally Posted by superklye
1.2 and it was recalled. You'll have to do some searching or maybe someone here has a link/can send it to you.
Thats what I thought. It was recalled becuase it wasnt working right with some of the ATi cards but worked fine with Nvidias? Anyone have any problems with it?

And can someone PLEASE post a link to it. TIA!!
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 Conroe 3.0GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor
EVGA 122-CK-NF68-AR LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard
2 EVGA 768-P2-N835-AR GeForce 8800GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 SUPERCLOCKED HDCP Video Cards
PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1KW
COOLER MASTER Stacker 830 Evolution
Danger Den Watercooling -Best they have!!!
CORSAIR Dominator 4GB (4 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1142 w/fans
Creative XFI
Dual Western Digital Raptor X's HD's-Raid 0
2 Western Digital 500G
Pioneer A08 DVD+RW
Klipsch Promedia Ultras
Dell 3008WFP-HC
BlackSun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-04, 11:29 AM   #19
Ghostguy
Registered User
 
Ghostguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 66
Default Re: FarCry settings-personal preference

I use the 1.2 with no trouble. (61.77)
__________________
Abit IC7-MAX3|Intel P4 3.0ghz Northwood (Thermaltake Spark 7)|1gb OCZ PC3500 Platinum (Winbond BH5)|BFG 6800GT OC (Vantec Spectrum Fan Card under it)|Creative Audigy 2|Maxtor 80gb|Pioneer DVR-A05 Burner|TDK VeloCD 5200B Burner|Antec Sonata with TrueBlue 480w PS|Sony CPD-E540B 21"
Ghostguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-04, 11:43 AM   #20
Buck Armstrong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 138
Default Re: FarCry settings-personal preference

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackSun
Thats what I thought. It was recalled becuase it wasnt working right with some of the ATi cards but worked fine with Nvidias? Anyone have any problems with it?

And can someone PLEASE post a link to it. TIA!!
Apparently thats why it was recalled, but I didn't have FarCry then (or a card that could play it) so I wasn't paying attention. All I can tell you is 1.2 w/SM3.0 enabled works fine for me (6800 GT).

Here's a link. Make sure you have driver 61.77 or higher plus DirectX 9.0c already installed, then apply the patch and add this to your command line (Target line in your shortcut to run FarCry): "r_sm30path 1". The "ReadmeSM30.txt" file in FarCry\Support folder explains this in greater detail, but please note you DO NOT need the "-devmode" line!

Patch: http://www.farcryspot.com/modules.ph...download&cid=3
Buck Armstrong is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-20-04, 12:41 PM   #21
BlackSun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 90
Default Re: FarCry settings-personal preference

Quote:
Originally Posted by ewright
Apparently thats why it was recalled, but I didn't have FarCry then (or a card that could play it) so I wasn't paying attention. All I can tell you is 1.2 w/SM3.0 enabled works fine for me (6800 GT).

Here's a link. Make sure you have driver 61.77 or higher plus DirectX 9.0c already installed, then apply the patch and add this to your command line (Target line in your shortcut to run FarCry): "r_sm30path 1". The "ReadmeSM30.txt" file in FarCry\Support folder explains this in greater detail, but please note you DO NOT need the "-devmode" line!

Patch: http://www.farcryspot.com/modules.ph...download&cid=3
Thanks for the info. I tried DLing it but the link above is broke. Did you notice a difference with the patch in the way the game looks?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 Conroe 3.0GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor
EVGA 122-CK-NF68-AR LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard
2 EVGA 768-P2-N835-AR GeForce 8800GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 SUPERCLOCKED HDCP Video Cards
PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1KW
COOLER MASTER Stacker 830 Evolution
Danger Den Watercooling -Best they have!!!
CORSAIR Dominator 4GB (4 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1142 w/fans
Creative XFI
Dual Western Digital Raptor X's HD's-Raid 0
2 Western Digital 500G
Pioneer A08 DVD+RW
Klipsch Promedia Ultras
Dell 3008WFP-HC
BlackSun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-04, 01:16 PM   #22
Buck Armstrong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 138
Default Re: FarCry settings-personal preference

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackSun
Thanks for the info. I tried DLing it but the link above is broke. Did you notice a difference with the patch in the way the game looks?
My link doesn't work or the download itself didn't work? If my link, just go to farcryspot.com and click FCSpot downloads on the left, then "Patches" under Official Releases. 1.2 is at the top of the list.

I noticed no difference in appearance, but I only played the 1st level without 1.2. Then I applied the patch and replayed the 1st level. Looks the same, but is faster and smoother; since the average frame rate seems a bit higher, dips aren't as bad. For example, I get much better response looking through the binoculars/scope at extreme magnification than I did before (it was sluggish if I zoomed way in on a big group of mercs).

However, I just saw your system specs in your sig, and I'm not sure you even need it to be any faster.
Buck Armstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-04, 03:02 PM   #23
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: FarCry settings-personal preference

I would like to use 1600x1200, 4x AA/4x AF but it gets a bit sluggish in spots. I dropped the resolution down a notch to 1400x1050 and everything looks great with top-notch performance. I have everything set to very high except for water (ultra high) and shadows (medium).
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-04, 05:31 PM   #24
BlackSun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 90
Default Re: FarCry settings-personal preference

The link worked but I think they removed the DL. It comes up as page not found. Can someone please forward another link. I searched Google and couldn't find a working one. I would like to see if I get a big frame jump with it. And I was told with SM3.0 that the GFX would be a little nicer.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 Conroe 3.0GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor
EVGA 122-CK-NF68-AR LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard
2 EVGA 768-P2-N835-AR GeForce 8800GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 SUPERCLOCKED HDCP Video Cards
PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1KW
COOLER MASTER Stacker 830 Evolution
Danger Den Watercooling -Best they have!!!
CORSAIR Dominator 4GB (4 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1142 w/fans
Creative XFI
Dual Western Digital Raptor X's HD's-Raid 0
2 Western Digital 500G
Pioneer A08 DVD+RW
Klipsch Promedia Ultras
Dell 3008WFP-HC
BlackSun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ciara Innovates with Liquid Cooling for Personal Supercomputers News Archived News Items 0 06-28-12 06:40 PM
Personal Cinema not working on GeForce4 Ti 4600 MacGyver0013 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 5 02-09-03 12:54 AM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-31-02 12:59 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.