Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-19-04, 11:32 AM   #13
Kev1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 679
Default Re: 5600 driver nightmares

That sucks. Dont think bios flash was good idea in this case, but you should be able to flash back.

Hope you backed up your original bios.
Kev1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-04, 11:40 AM   #14
Roguestar191
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 28
Default Re: 5600 driver nightmares

I did back them up, but..
I backed up my old bios, and tried to flash the new ones.
It said it timed out waiting for the eeprom to clear, and quit.
I tried again, same error.
I rebooted, no post. I put in my pci card, nvflash reports no nvidia cards on the system... is there any way I can override it and force it to install ... a bios? Right now I think it's blank... or just seriously Mucked up.
Roguestar191 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-04, 01:06 PM   #15
Roguestar191
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 28
Default Re: 5600 driver nightmares

with nvflash is there a way I force it to flash to whatever's in my agp slot regardless of what's in there? If it doesn't work again it's not a huge loss because the card was very unstable and the fan...what a joke. But I would still like to try to restore it.
Nvflash 4.41 - I've tried nvflash -u -p -fbackup.rom
Nvflash 5.06 - nvflash -5 -6 -fbackup.rom
wfflash - wfflash nm backup.rom

All of them say they can't detect an nvidia card on the system.. Me thinks it finally bricked.
Roguestar191 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-04, 01:16 PM   #16
msxyz
Hybrid Microprocessor
 
msxyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Milan (Italy)
Posts: 2,050
Default Re: 5600 driver nightmares

Very Odd: I've never seen a 5600Ultra with TSOP RAM. RAM available in that kind of package never exceed 3.3nS maybe 2.8nS at best, while the 5600Ultra used 2ns (400MHz) DDR.

Probably it's one of those cheap boards where the GPU itself is clocked like an Ultra but the RAM speed is the same of a vanilla 5600.
__________________
Powered by:
Pentium Dual E2180 (2GHz, 200MHz FSB)
Abit L95C (The one and only mATX with dual PCIe slots!) + 2x1 Geil Black Dragon PC6400
XFX 9600GSO 384MB
Little freak wonder
msxyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-04, 01:21 PM   #17
Roguestar191
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 28
Default Re: 5600 driver nightmares

who knows, the only reason I decided to try flashing it in the first place is because it would not work stable with any drivers except the old 44.03 that came with it (probobly hacked up), with bad performance at that. It's only a loss of money, not a decent working video card.. but if I could get the bios working again .. somehow .. I'll love nvidia forever.

btw, the ram on the card is
Samsung 410
k4D551638f-tc50
AUB381Gc korea
which appears to be ddr400..


http://www.samsung.com/us/Products/S...K4D551638F.asp
Roguestar191 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-04, 11:07 PM   #18
Kev1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 679
Default Re: 5600 driver nightmares

There is a way to force the flash, but Im not sure what it is. Your best bet is to read the threads about flashing 5900 cards to 5950s, as many had problems and were in same boat as you. Fortunately most everyone with similar troubles could fix the bad flash, so hopefully you can too.
Kev1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-04, 11:26 PM   #19
Roguestar191
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 28
Default Re: 5600 driver nightmares

I don't know if I can, the eeprom seems to be missing. After I backed up the bios image, I tried to flash the new one, without passing -r. Then, it gave me an error "Timed out waiting for eeprom to clear". Which leads me to believe it cleared, and stayed gone.. So nvflash doesn't detect the nvidia card anymore, only the old voodoo3 pci card I have in. So is there a way to tell it to flash the card in the agp port, even without detecting it?

The only other thread I found with the exact same problem, the guy was able to take back and lie his way to a new card. I'm also looking for more detailed documentation on nvflash, but can't find much more than the small "readme".
Roguestar191 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-04, 12:17 AM   #20
Kev1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 679
Default Re: 5600 driver nightmares

I used WF Flash, and you can force the flash even if it dosent see the card. Not sure how tho. Check the threads at Guru3D.com also.

You may want to post this question in other forums here just to see if more people read it, like maybe the Forceware forum.

Sorry I cant be of more help. There is way to do it, just must find the directions. If I find out anything Ill post the info.
Kev1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-20-04, 08:42 AM   #21
pingu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 23
Default Re: 5600 driver nightmares

use nvflash (version 4,2) i think

version 5 is pants.

i think the force commands are nvflah -u -p -2 *.rom

il double check

with winflash = wfflash nm *.rom
__________________
Prometeia cooled :P
pingu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-04, 11:06 AM   #22
Kev1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 679
Default Re: 5600 driver nightmares

Read this thread:

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread....threadid=75483

Its 66 pages long so lots of reading.

Also:

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?threadid=75221

Its 44 pages long. Lots of good info at Guru3D.

Im going to look tonight and see if I saved my flashing instructions (Im sure I did), as I think I had info on what to do with a bad flash. I am still hopeful we can get your video card working again
Kev1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-04, 11:11 AM   #23
Kev1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 679
Default Re: 5600 driver nightmares

Also look at this thread here at NVNews:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=29230

Jimmor and some others in that thread might be good persons to pm and ask about reflashing your card!
Kev1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-04, 08:44 PM   #24
Roguestar191
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 28
Default Re: 5600 driver nightmares

I might just start a new thread about this. But I found someone who was able to fix the same, or I think the same problem, but he posted "Dos Mode>all" Whatever that means. I thought it could mean, the dos program Mode.com > all , but that just pipes the output of mode.com to all..

For those of you who keep say -5 -6, -p -u, or -nm, those are to force it to write even if the chip id's do not match, it however does not force it to flash when it can not find the chip id. I need to tell it to flash whatever lies in the agp port, with no id's. When I run: nvflash -a -o2, or -o3 I can see my voodoo3, but the nvidia card is still missing from the list.

*Sigh*


http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=33777


NeIdeas? Thanks in advance.
Roguestar191 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics driver installation problem (your comments will be highly appreciated) apuurboo NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series 0 06-13-12 07:58 AM
Redhat 8.0 NVIDIA works - INSTRUCTIONS STEEL1 NVIDIA Linux 267 04-15-03 06:48 PM
Getting the proprietary nvidia driver to run with Debian 3.0 r0 (woody) Katchina404 NVIDIA Linux 9 01-12-03 08:49 AM
failing to initialize NV driver PsyShook NVIDIA Linux 10 09-19-02 12:41 PM
Nvidia Driver causes crash on Standby/Suspend dasher NVIDIA Linux 5 09-16-02 05:57 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.