Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-03-02, 09:20 PM   #1
Alceryes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6
Talking Just switched from Radeon 8500 to Ti4400...WoW!! (also 2 Q's)

Damn, Quincunx looks so sweet in MOHAA!!!
2 Q's for the GF4 guru's...
1) I DL'd the latest drivers from Nvidia - the 29.42's. Are the newer beta's faster than the official release? If so how much and is it worth DL'ing.
2)After I put some nice Ramsinks on all the chips how much should I be able to OC it? My case air flow is awesome (2-120's, 3-80's, etc...). I've heard that the 3.6ns BGA memory doesn't OC well because it's thoretical bandwidth limit is close to it's default speed. Is this true?
Thanks.
Alceryes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-02, 09:34 PM   #2
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Default

Yeah 3.6 aint so good 2.8 is way better but if you mess up with ramsink you will burn your Geforce
I would say don't mess with it , also i prefer 2x and 8x aniso or 4x anti.. and 4x aniso , depending on game , Quincunx.. blurs immage
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-02, 10:16 PM   #3
5150 Joker
100% Certified nVidiot
 
5150 Joker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Davis, California
Posts: 759
Default Re: Just switched from Radeon 8500 to Ti4400...WoW!! (also 2 Q's)

Quote:
Originally posted by Alceryes
Damn, Quincunx looks so sweet in MOHAA!!!
2 Q's for the GF4 guru's...
1) I DL'd the latest drivers from Nvidia - the 29.42's. Are the newer beta's faster than the official release? If so how much and is it worth DL'ing.
2)After I put some nice Ramsinks on all the chips how much should I be able to OC it? My case air flow is awesome (2-120's, 3-80's, etc...). I've heard that the 3.6ns BGA memory doesn't OC well because it's thoretical bandwidth limit is close to it's default speed. Is this true?
Thanks.
What'd you do w/the radeon? I'd be interested in buying it [for my sister's computer of course ] if you want to get rid of it.

Last edited by 5150 Joker; 08-03-02 at 10:30 PM.
5150 Joker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-02, 12:13 AM   #4
DXnfiniteFX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 77
Default

I bet you even that card would stall in MOHAA. Try running outside or in a place with lots of trees and watch your frames die. I don't know why, but it just does. Play on D-Day. And try Snowy Forest. Those two are particularly grueling, especially the latter because it has trees What kind of performance do you get in those situations with everything maxed except shadows? I usually get low frames in the 40s, even with my specs. Indoors are fine, I get like around 250, but not outdoors.

Also, do you know how to enable detail textures or are they not available in MOHAA?
__________________
Windows XP
2.0 Ghz Northwood Pentium 4
512 MB DDR266
845-D
GeForce 4 Ti 4600
Sound Blaster Live!
80 GB 7200 RPM
DXnfiniteFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-02, 09:40 AM   #5
Alceryes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6
Talking

Actually both of those maps play fine. I'm very impressed with the performance so far. The Ti4400 keeps the FR at a steady acceptible level. My 8500 seemed to jump from high to low and back again to frequently.

I'll get this in my sig. later but here are my specs...
Athlon XP 1600+ (OC'd to 1900+)
Soyo Dragon+ (@150Mhz fsb)
512 MB PC2400 (aggressive timing @150Mhz)
GeForce 4 Ti 4400 (not OC'd...yet)
Alceryes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-02, 03:47 PM   #6
MuFu
should be at a lecture
 
MuFu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Loughborough Uni/Aylesbury, UK
Posts: 462
Default

I made the same change and it's a good one, especially when using FSAA (I prefer the 4xs mode to Quicunx; worth the performance hit, IMO). Things suck a bit when you crank up the aniso compared to the 8500, and overall IQ still falls slightly behind (I mean signal, rendered and overlay/DVD). Nice card though, the Ti4400. I have a feeling that once the 9700 comes out proper, it will be the most attractive buy in the GF4Ti range as prices are forced downwards.

MuFu.
__________________
2500+@2310MHz (210 x 11)
Innovatek H20
Abit AN7
2x256MB Kingmax "SuperCHEAP" PC3500 (2.5:3:2:6)
Maxtor DM+9/8MB 120GB
WD Caviar 800BB 80GB + Molex SilentDrive
Radeon 9700 Pro@345/324MHz
M-Audio Revo 7.1
Cooler Master ATC-710 GX2
Nebula DigiTV
Samsung 172W TFT
Enermax 431W Active.
GOT Central?
MuFu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-02, 01:30 PM   #7
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default

Get RivaTuner and adjust anything you want with it. Man I wish I had me my Geforce 4 Ti. It's sitting next to me in a box....still waiting on my new motherboard because my motherboard isn't AGP Pro. Hell I might just sell it.....I have a GF 2 MX 400 in my computer now. My friend will buy my GF 4 Ti, it's a 4400 by the way.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-02, 04:51 AM   #8
SurfMonkey
QuadCore G80 PS3 Overload
 
SurfMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In a small room surrounded by vast, inscrutable, machines...
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Cat Called Domino
Get RivaTuner and adjust anything you want with it. Man I wish I had me my Geforce 4 Ti. It's sitting next to me in a box....still waiting on my new motherboard because my motherboard isn't AGP Pro. Hell I might just sell it.....I have a GF 2 MX 400 in my computer now. My friend will buy my GF 4 Ti, it's a 4400 by the way.
Umm, the GF4 doesn't need AGP Pro, just a regular vanilla AGP slot. You should be able to use it in the same MB as the GF2MX, or was it just an excuse to get a new rig

And I moved from a R8500 to the Ti4400 and don't know why I bothered with the ATi jobbie at all now. It's a trophy on my wall at the moment, held there with a rather large screw through the middle of the GPU

edit

Just realised I hadn't actually attempted the questions, ahh well

Grab hold of the 30.30 dets, they provide steady performance and a nice boost to aniso. Also get a copy of the latest flavour of RiveTuner RC11, I think, that'll let you fiddle with loads of options so that you'll have even more questions to come and ask!.

I put RAM sinks on, the front set is cool because you can position them so that the GPU fan blows air through the fins. I didn't notice any extra increase that I could get afterwards, but I can push it harder for a lot longer than I could.

I think in my case (sic) the ramsinks on the backof the card are pretty ineffectual as they are getting toasted by the CPU.

But if you do bother to attatch any BE VERY careful, you'll need to mix thermal transfer compound (Coolermaster, Artic Silver) with a thermal transfer glue (Artic Silver). Unfortuanately it is also conductive so if you get any on the pins of your ramchips and it shorts out, you'll fry it big time.
__________________
Folding for Beyond3D
"A lie gets halfway around the world before the truth has a chance to get its pants on."
Sir Winston Churchill

"Halflife2 got halfway around the world before Gabe had a chance to get his pants on."
Anon

Last edited by SurfMonkey; 08-07-02 at 05:00 AM.
SurfMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GeForce4 Ti 4400 problem with RAID motherboard hydr0 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 10 10-26-02 02:06 AM
No monitor signal with new GeForce4 Ti 4400 Pontius NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 25 10-21-02 04:34 AM
For Sale: Gainward GeForce4 Ti 4400 "Golden Sample" MikeC For Sale/Trade 13 10-08-02 01:16 PM
Color quality of the GeForce4 Ti 4600 and Radeon 8500 Turnbolt NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 23 08-27-02 09:12 PM
[Built by] ATI Radeon 8500 for sale bchreng For Sale/Trade 2 07-30-02 09:15 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.