Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-21-04, 01:43 AM   #1
coolguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 57
Default DOOM 95 in DOOM 3!!!

I read somewhere that it is possible to play the 95 version of DOOM in DOOM 3 by entering the following command in the console :
'give doom95'.
Well, I tried it and nothing happened. Has anybody else tried this and was successful?
__________________

Intel E6300 / MSI P965 Neo F / 2*512mb Transcend DDR II 667MHz / Zebronics 7600GT / Western Digital 250GB SATA II 16mb buffer / Samsung SyncMaster 740N / Pinnacle PCTV Pro / Sony 820A DVD Writer / LiteOn Combo Drive / Logitech MX3000 Laser / Antec NeoHE 500W / Antec SLK3000B
coolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-04, 01:50 AM   #2
Rob80
Registered User
 
Rob80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 48
Default Re: DOOM 95 in DOOM 3!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolguy
I read somewhere that it is possible to play the 95 version of DOOM in DOOM 3 by entering the following command in the console :
'give doom95'.
Well, I tried it and nothing happened. Has anybody else tried this and was successful?

It's not real... It would be cool though!
__________________
Asus A8V Deluxe Rev.2 | AMD Opteron 148 (OC to 2.84) | Enermax EG465P-VE 460W P.Supply | 4 HD (80,160,160 & 160) | Sapphire RADEON X850 PRO XTPE | 2048mb of Mushkin Extreme XP | Creative Sound Blaster AUDIGY ZS Platinum | Creative I-Trigue L3500 2.1 Speakers | LG 32x10x40x CD-R/RW - 16x DVD Drive Combo Drive | HP 740i DVD Writer w. LightScribe | Mitsumi 7-in-1 Card Reader| Zalman CNPS7000A-AlCu | LIAN-LI PC65U Black Case | CanoScan N656U Scanner | HP Photosmart 8150 Printer | NEC MultiSync FE991SB 19 CRT Monitor | Logitech Cordless MX Duo| Windows XP SP2
Rob80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-04, 01:58 AM   #3
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: DOOM 95 in DOOM 3!!!



Yeah, I think someone was pulling your leg... haha

Im sure someone would have found pieces of Doom hidden in the .pk4 files if there were any. Ive looked around and dont recall seeing anything that looked like old Doom resources.

BTW, everyone has thought about it, but is anyone doing it:
A Doom mod for Doom 3. Real doom... with original Doom sounds, enemies (obviously with 3d models.. no sprites) and some levels.

Is anything like this in the works? Id love to see it.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-04, 02:18 AM   #4
Mr. Hunt
Rectal Gravy Connoisseur
 
Mr. Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 8,294
Default Re: DOOM 95 in DOOM 3!!!

Closest I have seen to that is a remake of Ultimate Doom seen here http://www.doom3world.org/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=6121 but it seems they aren't redoing any models (not sure if they plan to do any).
Mr. Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-04, 02:18 AM   #5
EciDemon
Registered User
 
EciDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,423
Send a message via ICQ to EciDemon
Default Re: DOOM 95 in DOOM 3!!!

you can actually type "give doom95" in the console and it says "doom 95 was added to your pda" dunno what its suposed to be though
EciDemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-04, 02:42 AM   #6
Omega53
 
Omega53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hurricane Alley AKA FLORIDA
Posts: 842
Default Re: DOOM 95 in DOOM 3!!!

Or this
http://cdoom.d3files.com/index.php?page=news
__________________
THERMALTAKE XASER VA8000BWS
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe NF4
[COLOR=Green]XFX|7800GTX[/COLOR] 256M @ [COLOR=Green]490/1300[/COLOR]
Venice 3000+ 64 @ [COLOR=Red]2.5ghz (278 FSB)[/COLOR]
1 GiG Cosair XMS 2.5-3-3-6 @ [COLOR=Blue]230Mhz[/COLOR]
19" Viewsonic G90f
[URL="http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm05=1275491"]8600 3D Mark 05[/URL]
Omega53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-04, 05:47 AM   #7
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: DOOM 95 in DOOM 3!!!

Wow those projects look GREAT! Im really really impressed!

One is basically, Doom 3's take on the original maps (or map... since he only has one done) but the other is a total Doom reincarnation. I hope he can get some people to help him... especially a modeler\animator. Id help if there was something i could do. Thatd be fun as hell
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-04, 11:34 AM   #8
BioHazZarD
USCM Marine
 
BioHazZarD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,369
Send a message via MSN to BioHazZarD
Default Re: DOOM 95 in DOOM 3!!!

I dont get it, what were they thinking ? i mean it would be so cool if they programmed doom to that arcade machine instead of that stupid punch the chicken game.
__________________
Chieftec Miditower /w 5 case fans | Corsair 620W HX PSU | Asus M4N98TD EVO SLI | AMD Athlon2 X2 260 3,2GHz | Corsair 3GB PC3-10666 | eVGA Geforce GTX 460 1GB (336shader) | Samsung Spinpoint x2 250GB HD +SATA 320GB | SB Audigy 4 @ 2.1 | Samsung Syncmaster BX2331 TFT 23" running 1920x1080@60hz | Windows XP PRO SP2 | |
BioHazZarD is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-21-04, 03:21 PM   #9
S.I.N
UnRegistered User
 
S.I.N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: All over
Posts: 1,761
Default Re: DOOM 95 in DOOM 3!!!

Quote:
DOOM 95 in DOOM 3!!!

It should be DOOM 95 in DOOM 3??? Sheez you made it seem as if its a fact. Oh well guess I was the only one.
S.I.N is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resurrection of Resurrection of Evil: Doom 3 BFG Date News Gaming Headlines 0 06-20-12 01:40 AM
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
Doom 3 BFG Edition will feature entire Doom series, seven new Doom 3 levels News Archived News Items 0 05-31-12 05:40 AM
Doom 3 technology for Quake 1 Kruno Gaming Central 104 10-09-02 09:56 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.