Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-21-04, 09:28 PM   #1
tony24
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11
Unhappy Sound

What are you guys that have the sound cutting off doing to combat the situation? I know there is a console command to reset sound, but I'm wondering if anyone has found anything concrete that solves the problem. Does anyone have any guesses as to what might be the cause of this phenomenom? I have contacted activision repeatedly and all I can get is they are working on it. How long does it take to patch a problem this serious......I haven't even finished the first level, I refuse to play without 5.1 sound.........end of venting.
tony24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-04, 01:20 PM   #2
BioHazZarD
USCM Marine
 
BioHazZarD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,369
Send a message via MSN to BioHazZarD
Default Re: Sound

what sound card ? perhaps try the latest drivers. or disable hardware acceleration that might help.
__________________
Chieftec Miditower /w 5 case fans | Corsair 620W HX PSU | Asus M4N98TD EVO SLI | AMD Athlon2 X2 260 3,2GHz | Corsair 3GB PC3-10666 | eVGA Geforce GTX 460 1GB (336shader) | Samsung Spinpoint x2 250GB HD +SATA 320GB | SB Audigy 4 @ 2.1 | Samsung Syncmaster BX2331 TFT 23" running 1920x1080@60hz | Windows XP PRO SP2 | |
BioHazZarD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-04, 02:21 PM   #3
tony24
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11
Default Re: Sound

Oops. Have sig now. Running latest drivers and BIOS. Using the 65.73 vga drivers. No overclocks. Every other game is fine. thanks.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3800+
eVga nforce 4 SLI
120 GB Maxtor 7200 HDD
1 Gig Corsair 3200 DDR
Soundblaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum
Windows XP Home
eVga Nvidia 7900gtx SLI
tony24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-04, 03:01 PM   #4
Nutty
Sittin in the Sun
 
Nutty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,835
Send a message via MSN to Nutty
Default Re: Sound

Yeah its a problem with the game, I get it as well. Just got to wait for a patch I guess.
Nutty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-04, 03:03 PM   #5
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Sound

Yeah my brother and I have the same problem, both running NF7-S motherboards with Soundstorm chips.

Funny how they boasted so much about the amazing 5.1 audio of the game, but in the final product it was one of the few things that didnt work correctly
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-04, 03:38 PM   #6
jnd3
Sword Saint
 
jnd3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Alpharetta, GA USA
Posts: 465
Send a message via AIM to jnd3 Send a message via Yahoo to jnd3
Default Re: Sound

Just bind an infrequently-used key to s_restart. Throughout the game it only happened to me a dozen times or so (over twice as many sessions). Given the audio problems I've had with other games in the past (Enter The Matrix, Splinter Cell, Ghost Recon) these are relatively mild and easily bypassed.
__________________
Desktop: Apple iMac 17" // Intel Core Duo 1.83 GHz // 1 GB PC2-5300 // ATI X1600 128 MB // 250 GB HDD // OS 10.4.10

Mobile: Apple PowerBook 12" // PowerPC G4 1.33 GHz // 1.25 GB PC2700 // GeForce FX 5200Go 64 MB // 60 GB // OS 10.4.10

Gaming: XBox 360 Premium // Samsung LNS2651D // Wireless Networking Adapter // SwordSaintJND3
jnd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-04, 03:48 PM   #7
Arioch
Registered User
 
Arioch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,087
Default Re: Sound

I just bound s_restart to my "v" key and only had to use it on and off sporadicly.
Arioch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-04, 04:02 PM   #8
tony24
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11
Default Re: Sound

Excuse my ignorance, how do I bind s_restart to a key?
would you add bind "M" "s_restart" to the doom3 config text file?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3800+
eVga nforce 4 SLI
120 GB Maxtor 7200 HDD
1 Gig Corsair 3200 DDR
Soundblaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum
Windows XP Home
eVga Nvidia 7900gtx SLI
tony24 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-22-04, 07:05 PM   #9
tony24
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11
Default Re: Sound

that worked, thanks for the replies....
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3800+
eVga nforce 4 SLI
120 GB Maxtor 7200 HDD
1 Gig Corsair 3200 DDR
Soundblaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum
Windows XP Home
eVga Nvidia 7900gtx SLI
tony24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-04, 09:17 PM   #10
Buck Armstrong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 138
Default Re: Sound

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
Funny how they boasted so much about the amazing 5.1 audio of the game, but in the final product it was one of the few things that didnt work correctly
It is amazing on my Audigy 2 ZS and 5.1 speakers.
Buck Armstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No sound in UT and UT2003 jsampson69 NVIDIA Linux 6 08-27-03 10:28 AM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-31-02 12:59 AM
Motherboard in built Sound solutions MUYA CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 22 09-27-02 05:45 AM
nForce sound locking up system shroom NVIDIA Linux 4 09-16-02 02:50 AM
nForce - BattleField 1942 demo - Sound cuts out rtz General Hardware 3 09-05-02 01:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.