Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-20-04, 06:31 AM   #1
astondg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Default Please help with game pausing/lag problem

Hello,
I have this system:
- Athlon 64 3800+
- ASUS A8V Deluxe (BIOS: 1005.027, VIA Driver: 4.51)
- Corsair 1GB XMS 3200XL
- XFX 6800 Ultra (Driver: 65.73)
- Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
- Western Digital 200GB SATA HDD
- Windows XP Service Pack 2
- Please let me know if any other specs are required

I just installed Colin McRae Rally 04 (also with other games so read on) and I am having a problem with it pausing or freezing for about 1 second at seemingly random times. This happens with the graphics settings on maximum or minimum and even on maximum I get 150fps to 250fps (using Fraps) most of the time and it drops to 80fps when this pause occurs. I have the latest patch for CMR 04 and I checked the Codemaster's website where they said that this could be caused by EAX so they said to add either NOEAX or NOHARDWARESOUND to the shortcut but I have tried both and neither seems to work.

I have also tried Midtown Madness 2 and it seems to have the same problem. FarCry may also have the same problem, it is hard to tell but it seems that every now and then it has a slight pause even on the lowest graphics settings. I have also tried Doom 3, Soldier of Fortune II, and Half-Life and none of these games have this problem.

I have checked the CPU and motherboard temperatures with ASUS PC Probe and they were 48C - 50C and 33 - 35C, the video card I am not so sure about because I can't check it while I am in game (ASUS PC Probe lets me record the temps) but I ran Doom 3 in window mode and I can't remember the exact temperature but it was under 80C.

I have tried setting my XFX 6800 Ultra from it's stock 425/1200 speeds to 402/1100 (for both 2D and 3D) and I have tried setting "Max Frames to Render Ahead" to 1 but neither of these has any effect. I also have AGP Fastwrites set to off.

Does this sound like a graphics card related problem? What should I be checking/doing now?

Thankyou,

Aston
astondg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-04, 07:01 AM   #2
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Please help with game pausing/lag problem

There's a big sticky thread in the NVIDIA forum regarding the 6800 and random freezes. Check that for information and possible solutions.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-04, 08:13 AM   #3
astondg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Default Re: Please help with game pausing/lag problem

Thanks, I did check that post and did a search before I posted but I tried most of the solutions I found and they didn't seem to help. Also my problem seems to be only in CMR 04, Midtown Madness, and FarCry. I think this is different from the other posts? I am also thinking that this might not be a graphics problem (because Codemasters mentioned a known EAX problem, but then their fix didn't work?), any opinions?

Aston
astondg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-04, 08:35 AM   #4
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Please help with game pausing/lag problem

Well all of the games that you have the problem in are Direct 3d (im pretty sure) and all of the ones that you dont are OpenGL.

Doesnt seem hardware related to me.

Check the programs you have running... antivirus, auto-updates, messengers etc.

Try some different display driver versions (uninstall the current ones first).

Try those and see what happens.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-04, 02:48 PM   #5
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default Re: Please help with game pausing/lag problem

Just to let you know, I havent had any problems regarding EAX on my Audigy2 ZS, using the latest drivers....oh I tell a lie, since using the latest drivers, I have had the odd scratching noise when playing CoD, but nothing major, and no pauses in any games.

I think Capt is on the right track.
__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-04, 03:31 PM   #6
Head_slinger
DEP Hater :)
 
Head_slinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, UK
Posts: 277
Send a message via ICQ to Head_slinger
Default Re: Please help with game pausing/lag problem

Hi,

I was having similar problems in Colin McRae, WinAmp seems to blow it down so dont have it running, as does Outlook. Best thing to check is what you have running in the tray.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+
1gb Corsair XMS3200C2PT
Leadtek 6800GT
Audigy 2
ASUS A8V

Windows XP Prof./SuSe 8.2
Head_slinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-04, 02:54 AM   #7
astondg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Default Re: Please help with game pausing/lag problem

Ok, I have tried these drivers:
- 61.77
- 65.62
- 65.73
- 66.32

Unfortunately none of them made any difference to my problem. Each time I uninstalled the old drivers in "Add Remove Programs" and then went into Safe Mode and ran "Detonator RIP", then installed the new drivers.

One thing I did notice while testing all these drivers is that a couple of times when it froze I heard a beep. I am not sure if it was from the soundcard and speakers or the computer speaker but it definately was not part of CMR 04 and not meant to happen. I don't know if this could help identify the problem?

When I run CMR 04 and the other games I have in the tray:
- ASUS PC Probe
- Logitech iTouch
- A HP Printer icon thing
- Disabled Norton Antivirus icon
- Creative Volume Control

There are other programs running in the background that I can see in the Task Manager, e.g. InCD, but I don't really want to just end the process and stuff something up.

I don't have any programs like Outlook, Winamp, or Messenger running.

Any other ideas about what it could be or what I can try?

EDIT: Head_slinger I just realised we have very similar systems, the biggest difference is the video card. So you aren't having problems anymore?

Thanks,

Aston
astondg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-04, 03:55 AM   #8
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Please help with game pausing/lag problem

Try this:
Go into msconfig (im assuming you know how to get there... start\run:msconfig) uncheck everything from your startup, then restart. I know, this isnt a good idea for every day use, but you can always go back and check them again, this is just for testing purposes.

Uncheck them all, restart, try the games again with nothing running.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-21-04, 05:18 AM   #9
astondg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Default Re: Please help with game pausing/lag problem

Ok, when I uncheck everything in the "Startup" section and a couple of the things in the "Services" section and I start the game with the NOEAX or NOHARDWARESOUND options then CMR 04 seems to work ok. I suppose the next step is to enable things one by one, that's going to take a while . I might try reinstalling the soundcard drivers first.

Thanks,

Aston
astondg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-04, 05:31 AM   #10
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Please help with game pausing/lag problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by astondg
Ok, when I uncheck everything in the "Startup" section and a couple of the things in the "Services" section and I start the game with the NOEAX or NOHARDWARESOUND options then CMR 04 seems to work ok. I suppose the next step is to enable things one by one, that's going to take a while . I might try reinstalling the soundcard drivers first.

Thanks,

Aston
Generally, you want to avoid doing 2 things at once. Maybe, enable EAX and hardware sound with all the programs off and see if the problem is still gone. If it is, dont reinstall sound drivers... the less you do, the less complicated thnigs will get.

I wouldnt mess with the drivers yet. Narrow it down first by enabling things. If its sound related, then reinstall sound drivers.

Might want to try enabling the virus scanner first to see if that brings the problem back... right now thats what id say it was.

Anyway, im glad my advice helped this much... if the problem still persists when you disable all running programs, then you usually have a lot of work ahead of you
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-04, 05:46 AM   #11
DJMONDY
Registered User
 
DJMONDY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,050
Default Re: Please help with game pausing/lag problem

Apart from the pausing problems hows it run far cry, doom 3 etc??

Im waiting for my XFX 6800U to arrive any day now
DJMONDY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-04, 06:26 AM   #12
astondg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Default Re: Please help with game pausing/lag problem

Far Cry runs fine at high detail, I haven't really played it that much because I am waiting to see if SM3.0 support is included (again ). In Doom 3 with the standard card (425mhz/1200mhz), 65.73 drivers, at 1280x1024, in game settings on High Quality (I think includes 8x AF), all "Advanced Settings" set to yes - except vsync, and 4x AA, I ran timedemo demo1 and got 53fps. In game I haven't had any problems with the frame rate and it looks amazing.

Except for this problem (which it seems is not video card related anyway) this is a very nice video card.

EDIT: I see a lot of people are benchmarking Doom 3 without AA so I just ran two more benchmarks without AA
1024x768 - 95.1fps
1280x1024 - 80.7fps

Aston

Last edited by astondg; 09-21-04 at 06:36 AM.
astondg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(Kotaku) Do We Really Need Video Game Consoles Anymore? [Speak Up On Kotaku] News Archived News Items 1 06-16-12 11:35 AM
HDMI overscan fix for multiple resolutions + Zod Engine Problem. cheechr1 NVIDIA Linux 0 06-11-12 02:27 PM
Saturday Crapshoot: Quest For Glory 4 1/2 News Gaming Headlines 0 06-09-12 11:10 AM
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
Saturday Crapshoot: Star Trek: The Next Generation News Archived News Items 0 05-12-12 12:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.