Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-26-04, 08:57 AM   #61
aAv7
 
aAv7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,250
Default Re: My run-in with a console boy

[quote=egbtmagus

Oh and to who posted the Doom 3 PORT shots... wana compare Final Fantasy VII on the PC and PS2 or even the PS1? PC is WAY below the quality of the console versions...[/QUOTE]

Play FF7 on PC with an emulator and then say that


I guess to each his own. I prefer fps and rts games, so PC is the gaming mecca for me. Console's these days are finally spewing out some decent fps's..but playing them with a controller instead of a keyboard/mouse is ..frustrating to say the least.
__________________
[SIZE="1"][B]CPU:[/B] AMD64 3200+ Winchester @ 2.2 [B]RAM:[/B] 2GB Kingston Dual Channel DDR 400 [B]Motherboard:[/B] Gigabyte K8 Triton nForce4 [B]VideoCard:[/B] eVGA GeForce 7800GTX 512MB [B]Hard Drive:[/B] WD 250GB Sata [B]OS:[/B] Dual boot, Windows XP Home/Windows Professional x64 Edition Retail[B] Audio:[/B] X-Fi Xtreme Music [B]Mouse:[/B] Logitech MX 310 [B]PSU:[/B] 500W Ultra Connect (34A on the 12V+)[/SIZE]

[SIZE="1"][B]Xbox 360:[/B] w/ Intercooler @ 1280x1024 , Dynasty Warriors 5, Fight Night Round 3, Kameo, NBA 2K6, Perfect Dark Zero CE, and PGR 3[SIZE="1"][/SIZE][/SIZE]
aAv7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-04, 09:00 AM   #62
Woodelf
I should be gaming.
 
Woodelf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ferelden
Posts: 908
Default Re: My run-in with a console boy

Xbox has alot of of it's visuals turned down vs PC.
Most games look like PC games set at 640x480 low qual. Xbox 2 is reported to include full sceen AA for HDTV res games. Not sure if the system is going to beat some of the 6800 ultra machines out there though (speculation based on r520 forcasted fill rate only).
It's definatly going to be one heck of an improvement over Xbox 2. Should be avail for christmas 2005, which by then we'll be well into SLI land.
__________________
i7920 @ 4.0 DO - Gigabyte ud4p - g.skill trident 6x2 ddr3 2000 @1600 7.7.7.18.1 - Cogage true spirit/sythe kaze 2000 - 2x Raid "0" WD 500GB (black) - xfi fatal1ty pro - Asus 5970 900/1200 - Corsair 1000HX - Samsung px2370
Woodelf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-04, 09:02 AM   #63
aAv7
 
aAv7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,250
Default Re: My run-in with a console boy

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveW
You mean he didn't block the door way and hassle you to reserve a copy of Maddan 2006? Or how about the strategy guide for the game you just brought? This couldn't have been an EB or Gamestop you went to.



He actually did try selling me the Fable strategy guide! Those guys never give up. I really cant stand when your lookin at a shelf of games and they gotta run up in your face and go " anything I can help you with?"
__________________
[SIZE="1"][B]CPU:[/B] AMD64 3200+ Winchester @ 2.2 [B]RAM:[/B] 2GB Kingston Dual Channel DDR 400 [B]Motherboard:[/B] Gigabyte K8 Triton nForce4 [B]VideoCard:[/B] eVGA GeForce 7800GTX 512MB [B]Hard Drive:[/B] WD 250GB Sata [B]OS:[/B] Dual boot, Windows XP Home/Windows Professional x64 Edition Retail[B] Audio:[/B] X-Fi Xtreme Music [B]Mouse:[/B] Logitech MX 310 [B]PSU:[/B] 500W Ultra Connect (34A on the 12V+)[/SIZE]

[SIZE="1"][B]Xbox 360:[/B] w/ Intercooler @ 1280x1024 , Dynasty Warriors 5, Fight Night Round 3, Kameo, NBA 2K6, Perfect Dark Zero CE, and PGR 3[SIZE="1"][/SIZE][/SIZE]
aAv7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-04, 09:08 AM   #64
Diamond_G
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hi
Posts: 239
Default Re: My run-in with a console boy

I like when you go to software etc (oops) and ask about a game (say halo 2) and they give you this spill about it is going to be the greatest thing since pr0n. And that if you don't reserve a copy now you won't get one till sometime after christmas (I'm in Hawaii but give me a break)...
__________________
Athlon X2 3800+
1 Gig ddr400 ram
300+ Gig storage across multiple drives
PNY Geforce 6800 (o/c 399/829)
Diamond_G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-04, 09:18 AM   #65
aAv7
 
aAv7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,250
Default Re: My run-in with a console boy

yea, thats great too! " Man I have 113 reserves for it right now...you dont put your name down with $5 bucks, I assure you, you wont find it till after Chirstmas...maybe even new years.."

Oh, oh....or how about this one. " Would you like to subscribe to our club for $20 bucks, you get ::enter cheap console mag name here:: and a plastic card that gives you 3 cents off used games. Then when you decline, you either get attitude, or this look like your nuts for passing up such a GREAT DEAL! lol.
__________________
[SIZE="1"][B]CPU:[/B] AMD64 3200+ Winchester @ 2.2 [B]RAM:[/B] 2GB Kingston Dual Channel DDR 400 [B]Motherboard:[/B] Gigabyte K8 Triton nForce4 [B]VideoCard:[/B] eVGA GeForce 7800GTX 512MB [B]Hard Drive:[/B] WD 250GB Sata [B]OS:[/B] Dual boot, Windows XP Home/Windows Professional x64 Edition Retail[B] Audio:[/B] X-Fi Xtreme Music [B]Mouse:[/B] Logitech MX 310 [B]PSU:[/B] 500W Ultra Connect (34A on the 12V+)[/SIZE]

[SIZE="1"][B]Xbox 360:[/B] w/ Intercooler @ 1280x1024 , Dynasty Warriors 5, Fight Night Round 3, Kameo, NBA 2K6, Perfect Dark Zero CE, and PGR 3[SIZE="1"][/SIZE][/SIZE]
aAv7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-04, 09:22 AM   #66
Diamond_G
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hi
Posts: 239
Default Re: My run-in with a console boy

Hey I have a gamestop subscription, but for ten mags 10 bucks isn't a bad deal...

it reminds me of a lot of the ctrlaltdel-online stuff...
__________________
Athlon X2 3800+
1 Gig ddr400 ram
300+ Gig storage across multiple drives
PNY Geforce 6800 (o/c 399/829)
Diamond_G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-04, 02:35 PM   #67
Woodelf
I should be gaming.
 
Woodelf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ferelden
Posts: 908
Default Re: My run-in with a console boy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diamond_G
Hey I have a gamestop subscription, but for ten mags 10 bucks isn't a bad deal...

it reminds me of a lot of the ctrlaltdel-online stuff...
I agree, it's a pretty cool mag, with good graphics and many reviews. I used to use the card, but I can get better deal's from the mom and pop video exchange stores.
__________________
i7920 @ 4.0 DO - Gigabyte ud4p - g.skill trident 6x2 ddr3 2000 @1600 7.7.7.18.1 - Cogage true spirit/sythe kaze 2000 - 2x Raid "0" WD 500GB (black) - xfi fatal1ty pro - Asus 5970 900/1200 - Corsair 1000HX - Samsung px2370
Woodelf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-04, 03:05 PM   #68
Vamp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 129
Default Re: My run-in with a console boy

I know what you mean, because I used to be like that! When I had a crap PC I had to convince myself that consoles were better to make myself not feel bad about having a bad system. Now that I have a decent system I can definitely tell most PC games are better, I don't even play with AA/AF but control and atmospheric issues just make the game more fun... Not to mention higher res, but there are some games which ARE meant for console. Silent Hill/Resident Evil, Ninja Gaiden, Splinter Cell... Those are the consoel games.

But God, people that talk **** so freely piss me off!

There're these two guys that usually sit in front of me on the school-bus who have no idea what the **** they're talking about.

A few days ago they were talking about the Garfield movie.

Guy 1: You know that the guy who does the voice for Garfield is the same guy who did the voice for him in the TV Series.

Guy 2: You mean girl, Garfield's voice was done by a girl.

I wanted to stand up and backslap both of them and scream

"Bill Murray! Bill ****ing Murray!"

Instead, I pumped the volume on my MP3 player to drown out the ignorance.
Vamp is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-29-04, 11:44 AM   #69
PSYCHODAD
cereal killer
 
PSYCHODAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: indiana
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: My run-in with a console boy

I think Lorenzo Music supplied the voice for the cartoon series. (deceased)
__________________
System #1
CPU INTEL|3rd gen I-7@3.7ghz
16gb memory Windows 7 home premium 64 bit
PSU Siverstone Zeus 850w
EVGA 660gtx
Logitech G400 gaming mouse
Dell 2407WFP 24" lcd


Video Games -- Why waste good technology on science and medicine?
PSYCHODAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-04, 12:12 PM   #70
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: My run-in with a console boy

I just played another console game thats so much better then many PC games... Transformers for the PS2... The graphics are freaking AWSOME! Screenshots and movies did not do this game justice. It's worth more then the 17.99 I payed for it used...
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-04, 10:41 PM   #71
WeReWoLf
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,015
Send a message via MSN to WeReWoLf
Default Re: My run-in with a console boy

Quote:
Originally Posted by anzak
I was under the impression that the Xbox2 would be running the R420 chip?
The only reason that the XBox 2 is going ATi is because the Gamecube used it. You have seen what kind of graphics quality the gamecube can produce, not to mention no slowdown. The gamecube's GPU was based on the VE as well, only optimized better. Having said that, the gamecube was just a blunder. I'm amazed that it's still selling. slowly, but it's selling.
WeReWoLf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-04, 10:16 AM   #72
Edge
3d animator for hire!
 
Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,564
Default Re: My run-in with a console boy

Quote:
Originally Posted by WeReWoLf5900
The only reason that the XBox 2 is going ATi is because the Gamecube used it.
Actually, they're going with ATI because they had some problems with Nvidia about the Xbox chip. They even went to court about it, basically there was a dispute about chip prices. So, with Nvidia no longer an option, who do you think they'd turn to? Xgi?

And BTW, the chip inside the Gamecube was not made by ATI. It was developed by ArtX, who were bought out by ATI right before the Gamecube was released.
Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UEFI+Nvidia - NVRM: Your system is not currently configured to drive a VGA console... interzoneuk NVIDIA Linux 0 06-26-12 04:51 AM
BUG 302.17 - can not access TTY console legluondunet NVIDIA Linux 9 06-24-12 05:16 PM
Console Killers News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 10:10 PM
Getting the proprietary nvidia driver to run with Debian 3.0 r0 (woody) Katchina404 NVIDIA Linux 9 01-12-03 08:49 AM
Framebuffer console mascot NVIDIA Linux 1 09-14-02 09:18 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.