Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-24-04, 12:06 AM   #1
gts
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to gts
Default Doom3 ... oh the pain

Albatron GeForce 5200 FX
--- Overclocked, 300 Mhz Mem, 275 Mhz Core
Pentium IV 2.8 Ghz
512 MB PC3200 Corsair Performance DDR

Doom3 --> WineCVS & Cedega
Default settings: 4.1 FPS
Cutting everything off (game looks like crap) and memory seta image_cache to 128 ... 13.4 FPS

Runs BEATIFULLY until you turn rapidly or an imp shows up... then ohhh hell...

Suggestions?

In advance -- YES I KNOW the 5200 is a budget card... but FOUR fps?????
gts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-04, 03:08 PM   #2
holmes
Registered User
 
holmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 692
Default Re: Doom3 ... oh the pain

Don't know what to tell you.. wait for the linux binaries & see if that helps a little. Should be coming out soon. That or splurge on a new card (depending on your budget):

FX5700ultra $148
5900XT $186
6800 $270

Personally, if I was you I'd wait for the AGP version of the 6600GT.. sub-$200 = win in my book...

__________________

The Rig
ASRock 970 Extreme3 AM3+
AMD Athlon II x2 260
DDR3-1600 (2x2GB) Kingston HyperX
Western Digital caviar 1TB
ECS GeForce GT 220 1GB
Cooler Master Storm Scout ATX case
Corsair 750W PSU
holmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-04, 06:06 PM   #3
vincoof
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Posts: 104
Send a message via ICQ to vincoof Send a message via AIM to vincoof
Default Re: Doom3 ... oh the pain

My parents have a similar computer (Leadtek FX 5200 Ultra, PIV 2.4 GHz, 512MB RAM) with Windows XP Home and the game runs at 15-25 fps with all details ON (stencil shadows, specular lighting, etc) and medium textures (somewhat called "high quality") at 640x480 FSAA 2x. It drops to <10 fps when monsters appear though.

I tried all details set to the minimum value possible (640x480, no AA, no stencil shadow etc) and it ran fine : 30-40 fps all the time, with framerate drops to 15-20 fps when seeing monsters.

As for buying a new card, yes the GF6600 GT looks like the best speed/price ratio, especially for Doom 3. Don't mistake with the 6600 non-GT which is pretty crap (not that bad for its price, though).
vincoof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-04, 02:34 AM   #4
kmike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 34
Default Re: Doom3 ... oh the pain

There's a penalty difference of at least 10 fps when running Doom3 under Cedega as opposed to native mode (Windows). So to back up previous posts: quit complaining and wait for linux binaries, and start to save up for 5700/5900/6600/6800
kmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-04, 04:22 AM   #5
LordMorgul
Electrical Engineer
 
LordMorgul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 872
Default Re: Doom3 ... oh the pain

Frankly I'm impressed you have the game running at all before the native binaries show up, Doom3 is a very hardware intensive game.
__________________
"..the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." (Edmond Burke)
nVIDIA video driver RPMs for Fedora :: see yum repo at livna.org.
LordMorgul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-04, 11:59 AM   #6
logan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 492
Default Re: Doom3 ... oh the pain

I know the 5200 isn't supposed to be that good, but geez, I think you should be getting more than that. I've got an amd64 3200+ and a GeForce4 Ti 4200. With my preferred config (640x480, low) I get nearly 50fps, but only 16.2 when setup for http://www.doom3benchmarks.com/.
logan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-04, 03:34 PM   #7
kmike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 34
Default Re: Doom3 ... oh the pain

Seems like it comes as kind of surprise for you, but the fact is, GF4 Ti 4200 is a more powerful video card than 5200, the latter being basically just GF4 MX + DirectX9 features added on top.
kmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-04, 01:48 PM   #8
gts
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to gts
Default Re: Doom3 ... oh the pain

Update:

Tweaking Doom3 config file mucho... and overclocking that Albatron from:
260 Mhz Mem
240 Mhz Core

to

320 Mhz Mem
300 Mhz Core

Produces much likeable results. Averaging around 18 FPS, 10 FPS under heavy-monster load. Though a slow framerate, the game is quite playable like that.
gts is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Still Killing Pain After All These Years: Painkiller Reboot News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-05-12 05:10 AM
May 8, 1886: Looking for Pain Relief, and Finding Coca-Cola Instead News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-08-12 07:10 AM
Doom III: Who cares? PCarr78 Gaming Central 36 08-06-02 12:55 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.