Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-23-04, 08:55 PM   #1
benz0209
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 19
Default doom 3 artifacts

I have a shuttle box that is equiped with a 9800xt 256 ram and i seem to get artifacts during Doom 3 gameplay. Is it too hot? i get them in hitman contracts also.
benz0209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-04, 12:03 AM   #2
Omega53
 
Omega53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hurricane Alley AKA FLORIDA
Posts: 842
Default Re: doom 3 artifacts

Lower it. Its overheating. This is common with the 9800xt. It seems like Ati shipped them clocked to their limit and in doom 3 and other shader intensive games artifacts accur. Just lower your core by 5mhz and you should be fine.
__________________
THERMALTAKE XASER VA8000BWS
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe NF4
[COLOR=Green]XFX|7800GTX[/COLOR] 256M @ [COLOR=Green]490/1300[/COLOR]
Venice 3000+ 64 @ [COLOR=Red]2.5ghz (278 FSB)[/COLOR]
1 GiG Cosair XMS 2.5-3-3-6 @ [COLOR=Blue]230Mhz[/COLOR]
19" Viewsonic G90f
[URL="http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm05=1275491"]8600 3D Mark 05[/URL]
Omega53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-04, 12:31 AM   #3
SigmaOrionis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 282
Default Re: doom 3 artifacts

There are a lot of posts about this at rage3d
SigmaOrionis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-04, 07:05 AM   #4
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: doom 3 artifacts

I found an artifact in Doom 3...



__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-04, 08:59 AM   #5
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: doom 3 artifacts

I've seen things that look like pixels popping in this game, and that's with my card at default speeds. Little white dots. It only happens in certain spots of the game and I can recreate it at will so I doubt it's a heat issue.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resurrection of Resurrection of Evil: Doom 3 BFG Date News Gaming Headlines 0 06-20-12 01:40 AM
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
Doom 3 BFG Edition will feature entire Doom series, seven new Doom 3 levels News Archived News Items 0 05-31-12 05:40 AM
Doom 3 technology for Quake 1 Kruno Gaming Central 104 10-09-02 09:56 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.