Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-28-04, 05:50 PM   #1
slapperboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Default On Linux boot I get a init-2.05 prompt

When I boot my system, the linux file systems are read only.

The boot process stops at an init-2.05# prompt.

I can not boot into normal Redhat multiuser mode.

no login
slapperboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-04, 09:16 PM   #2
whig
550Ti
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 854
Default Re: On Linux boot I get a init-2.05 prompt

Remount filesystems rw and init 3. Check /etc/inittab to be sure it contains your desired default runlevel.
whig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-04, 10:48 PM   #3
slapperboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Default Re: On Linux boot I get a init-2.05 prompt

When i #mount
the root filesystem /dev/sda1 or / says that it is rw
but if i create a file with vi or edit a file with vi it stipulates that the filesystem is read only.

could someone give me a mount command to put this thing into a read write state
slapperboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-04, 03:45 AM   #4
whig
550Ti
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 854
Default Re: On Linux boot I get a init-2.05 prompt

mount / -o remount,rw

(in single user mode; and you may need to specify filesystem type with -t)
whig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-04, 10:29 PM   #5
slapperboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Default Re: On Linux boot I get a init-2.05 prompt

I used the # mount -t ext3 /dev/sda1 / -o remount,rw

command...work great....root filesystem is now rw

I cant change the runlevel to 3 using the init or telinit command

If I # init 3

I get command not found.

Same with telinit even though I know it is /sbin

AM I waisting my time trying to get to multiuser mode.

After I did a successful remount rw

When I type # ls in /tmp I get a modprode cant find ppp0
message.

I still am a mile from a normal boot with a login

I need help
slapperboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-04, 11:22 PM   #6
whig
550Ti
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 854
Default Re: On Linux boot I get a init-2.05 prompt

Yes, init and telinit are both in /sbin, but they might not be in the path your system looks for executables. So type either /sbin/init or ./init from the sbin directory.

I don't about the /tmp message... sounds like your system is damaged somehow (it happens). Backup your important data because if your linux is screwed you may need to do a reinstall. Or it could be because windows has taken over your master boot record... got to hate that.
whig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-04, 11:40 PM   #7
slapperboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Default Re: On Linux boot I get a init-2.05 prompt

The init command is not in the /sbin directory.?

Can I reinstall without loosing my data?

Can I repair my master boot record?

Or Am I toast and start again?
slapperboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-04, 03:36 AM   #8
whig
550Ti
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 854
Default Re: On Linux boot I get a init-2.05 prompt

init and telinit ought to be in /sbin - you have a strange system otherwise. To boot normally you need init.

It is possible to reinstall without losing data, often distributions have an upgrade option. If that option isn't there your backup strategy depends on the partitions and free space on your harddisk. A cd-writer would come in handy here - to be extra sure because specify a wrong partition and you could say goodbye to the data on it.

To reset the mbr is straight-forward, just that you need to know whether it is lilo or grub that loads Linux. Do you have a /boot/grub directory? Or the file /etc/lilo.conf? Then head to the documentation.

Starting over depends if any of the above helps your situation. Do a backup first then try for a repair would be safest. Good luck.
whig is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nVidia Linux drivers with Linux on Mac, help? Thetargos NVIDIA Linux 0 05-13-12 12:52 PM
Mandrake Linux 9.0 (Dolphin) now available | comments? volt General Linux 10 10-19-02 10:13 PM
Ti4200 and Linux Install Problem ultrajava NVIDIA Linux 5 09-28-02 08:13 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.