Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > Other Desktop Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-01-04, 09:10 AM   #1
Kapp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 94
Send a message via ICQ to Kapp Send a message via AIM to Kapp
Default Visiontek Xtasy 9200

So the Geforce 3 I purchased 3 years ago by Visiontek stopped working. I gave them a call and told them my card should still be under warranty for a replacement. They told me it's not, because the company went bankrupt, so I would have to use their upgrade service. With the problems I had with the company in the past, I can't say that I was suprised. So instead of dishing out a few hundred bucks for a new card, I used their "upgrade service." I sent them my broken card [Nvidia Geforce 3], and 50 bucks for an upgrade to an ATI Xtasy 9200 8X AGP with 256 Ram.

I got the card 3 weeks later. Now, I have never used an ATI card...ever.

For some reason, i'm experiencing some slowness in Counterstrike. I changed my monitor to 85 Hertz, and that seems to have helped alittle bit, but what other settings should I mess around with? Also, do you think this upgrade was worth it?

My specs are kind of old:

Pentium 3, 1 GHZ Processor. 256 Ram. 350 Power Supply. 17' KDS Visial Sensations Monitor.

All suggestions on what I should do to configure this card to work best on my system is appericiated!

Thanks.
Kapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-04, 11:51 AM   #2
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Visiontek Xtasy 9200

that card is a hobbled 8500 with #1: a 64 bit memory interface, making it way slower, #2 removed vertex shaders, making it slower, and #3 a weaker ppipeline configuration making it slower...

that's a big downgrade from a GF3...

Your system can be reasonably happy playing todays games if you have AT LEAST a GF3 spec card... now that you don't, no tweaking's gonna help you...

I'd like to recommend all sorts of tweaks, but I must first say that it would really be a good idea to try and sell that 9200 for $40 or so (thats basically what they're worth), and try to get a GF3 for $45-50, an 8500/9100 (128 bit memory interface version) for $50-60, a GF4 ti4200 for around $60-80, a low clocked 9600 for $80-90, or a 5600 ultra for around $100...

this post was not meant to ridicule your card, but was rather meant to inform you of a downgrade that occured, and possibly help you figure out how to definitely get a better vidcard...

__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-04, 05:29 PM   #3
Kapp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 94
Send a message via ICQ to Kapp Send a message via AIM to Kapp
Default Re: Visiontek Xtasy 9200

What about a Geforce 4 MX4000 128 MB Ram 8X for 50 bucks?
Kapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-04, 05:35 PM   #4
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Visiontek Xtasy 9200

that is a very crappy card, the MX... steer clear of them save for maybe for use as a server's vidcard... no DX8 features, no DX9 features, and just generally poopy performance...

If you have $50 and want a vidcard, your best bet is positively a GF3 or an 8500...
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-04, 05:41 PM   #5
Kapp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 94
Send a message via ICQ to Kapp Send a message via AIM to Kapp
Default Re: Visiontek Xtasy 9200

I'm so pissed off because when I first bought the Geforce 3, it was 400 bucks, and it had a "lifetime" warranty. Now the company goes "bankrupt" and then bull****s me about "upgrading" my card, and sends me a ****tier card for more money.
Kapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-04, 06:18 PM   #6
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Visiontek Xtasy 9200

Well sure beats PNYs Lifetime warranty, I called them up and they expected me to have my reciept for the card that was 2 years old.

So I went and got my credit card documents and an invoice from my bank, When I purchased it, then I was told that they only honor a cards "Shelftime and production warranty:

Read there Warranty disclaimer and sure enough, thats true.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-04, 06:42 PM   #7
Kapp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 94
Send a message via ICQ to Kapp Send a message via AIM to Kapp
Default Re: Visiontek Xtasy 9200

As soon as I found out that they downgraded my card, I rushed to ebay and got a Geforce 3 for 32 bucks. I'm thinking of not completing the transaction though, and getting a GeForce4 TI 4200 128MB DDR AGP TV & DVI-OUT for 78 bucks. Is this worth it? Also, is this card better then the Geforce 3 and the 9200?
Kapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-04, 07:03 PM   #8
{Sniping}Waste
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 264
Default Re: Visiontek Xtasy 9200

Add a little more money and get a 9600 PRO. YOu can get them for $120-$135 now and that will alow some AA and AF.
here is one from newegg for $128.
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...102-291&depa=1
Here is a 9600 non pro clocked at 325/200 (the pro is 400/300) for $80.
Its referb but not a bad price for a 9600 non pro with a fan and the fan should let you hit 400 and up.
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...type=Refurbish
For a little more $136 is a 9600XT (500/300DDR600) but its a referb if you don't mind that.
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...type=Refurbish
{Sniping}Waste is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-01-04, 07:07 PM   #9
Kapp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 94
Send a message via ICQ to Kapp Send a message via AIM to Kapp
Default Re: Visiontek Xtasy 9200

The 9600 Pro looks reasonable for me. Will it run good with Counterstrike, and my specs?:

Pentium 3, 1 GHZ Processor. 256 Ram. 350 Power Supply. 17' KDS Visial Sensations Monitor.

Thanks.
Kapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-04, 07:14 PM   #10
{Sniping}Waste
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 264
Default Re: Visiontek Xtasy 9200

See if you motherboard is 4XAGP. If it is then there is no problem. Some P3 mobos only support up to 2XAGP. AS for your games, it will work great. I have used Radeon 64meg, 7000, 7500,8500,9500,9600,9700 with DOD and have no problems. With the 9600, you should be able to run 1280x1024 with 16XAF and 4XAA in openGL with Counterstrike.

What mobo do you have?
{Sniping}Waste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-04, 07:20 PM   #11
Kapp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 94
Send a message via ICQ to Kapp Send a message via AIM to Kapp
Default Re: Visiontek Xtasy 9200

Yeah, it supports 4X. It's an Asus CUSL2 mobo. My old Geforce 3 worked great, so i'm guessing this card will be just as good, if not better (Hopefully)...
Kapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-04, 07:43 PM   #12
{Sniping}Waste
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 264
Default Re: Visiontek Xtasy 9200

It should be faster with higher IQ. It should be faster even using 16XAF and 4XAA and you might be able to do 6XAA.
There is no way a GF3 or GF4 can do that.

Hope this helps.
PS do you play DOD?
{Sniping}Waste is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale - Visiontek Ti4600 and a couple other things... Cutter For Sale/Trade 3 09-24-02 10:34 PM
FS Visiontek GF4 Ti4600 bkswaney For Sale/Trade 4 08-27-02 10:58 PM
Visiontek GeForce 4 Ti4600 for sale!!! mcortz_2000 For Sale/Trade 11 08-21-02 12:47 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.