Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-07-04, 09:13 PM   #1
PaiN
Don't make me MAD!
 
PaiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 2,111
Default Tribes: Vengeance video opt. question...?

I know this might sound like a newb question but its bugging me....
In the "Video Opitions" of T:Ven there's a v2.0 Pixel Shaders on\off switch(off by default)
Anyone know for sure what the default PS of this game is? Does turning PS v2.0 "on" step it up or down...?
__________________
Core i5 2500K @ 4.2ghz | EVGA Superclock M020 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8gb G.Skill Ripjaws X PC1600 | EVGA GTX760SC | SB X-Fi Xtremegamer | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610w PSU | (2) WD Black 640gb in RAID"0" | MSI SATA DVD-RW | Saitek Eclipse kb | Logi G5v2 mouse / Steelseries QcK | Antec P182 "Gunmetal" | Logitech 5300a THX 5.1 speakers | ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD
-Windows7 64bit
PaiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-04, 09:57 PM   #2
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Tribes: Vengeance video opt. question...?

The PS2.0 will improve the graphics of course . in the demo i think PS2.0 was used for the water effects to make the reflections looks better (though i'm not quite sure)
Default for DX9.0 cards should be PS2.0
defualt for DX8.0 cards will be PS1.1
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-04, 10:25 AM   #3
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default Re: Tribes: Vengeance video opt. question...?

IIRC, in the demo the default is "off". Just from gazing around while playing, looks like PS2.0 is being used in water & several textures. Still haven't purchased the final yet though. Did the "smart" guys @ VU finally put out a dedicated server package yet? Still can't believe they released the game w/o it
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-04, 02:09 PM   #4
ynnek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,364
Default Re: Tribes: Vengeance video opt. question...?

wouldn't put it past them trying to scam an extra buck..


Quote:
Originally Posted by |JuiceZ|
IIRC, in the demo the default is "off". Just from gazing around while playing, looks like PS2.0 is being used in water & several textures. Still haven't purchased the final yet though. Did the "smart" guys @ VU finally put out a dedicated server package yet? Still can't believe they released the game w/o it
ynnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-04, 12:47 AM   #5
Xav
Professional NV Lurker
 
Xav's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 361
Default Re: Tribes: Vengeance video opt. question...?

Here's a link to the Shack for the dedicated server...just released.


http://www.shacknews.com/onearticle.x/33963
__________________
System I: intel 2500k || Asus P8P67 Pro || 4GB Gskill DDR3 Ripjaws || EVGA GTX570SC || SB X-Fi || OCZ GameXstream 600W || Klipsch PM 5.1 Ultra || Gateway FHD2401 LCD

System II: C2D E8400 || Gigabyte GA-EP35 || 2GB Gskill DDR2 1066 || XFX GTX 260 Black Edition || Audigy 2 || Corsair TX650 || Klipsch PM 2.1 || Gateway 2185W LCD

Consoles: 360/PS3
Xav is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IOGEAR 3D Complete+ 4-Port HDMI Switcher with 2D/3D Video Processor News Archived News Items 0 06-28-12 06:40 PM
Video Editor Question technoid General Software 2 06-22-12 12:05 PM
Best video card for running dual displays? nutsnbolts NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 10 09-03-02 03:02 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.