Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-15-04, 12:51 PM   #1
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Exclamation For everyone that has preloaded HL2

Check this out

Quote:
Here is where to find the file:

C:\Program Files\Valve\Steam\SteamApps\*your user name*\counter-strike source\hl2.exe

Copy the file to your desktop and rename it hl2.txt. Open it up in wordpad and paste this line at the top of the file:

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Go to Format->Font and select Terminal 6 point regular. Make sure Word Wrap is checked (in the Format menu) and adjust the width of your window until it's just as wide as the line of x's (49 characters). Make sure none of em bump down to the next line.

Now scroll though the file until something jumps out at you. You'll know it when you see it.
This is what you will find:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v4.../hl2secret.jpg
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-04, 12:55 PM   #2
aAv7
 
aAv7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,250
Default Re: For everyone that has preloaded HL2

jakup-you're a great guy, but man-you have way too much time on your hands lol.
__________________
[SIZE="1"][B]CPU:[/B] AMD64 3200+ Winchester @ 2.2 [B]RAM:[/B] 2GB Kingston Dual Channel DDR 400 [B]Motherboard:[/B] Gigabyte K8 Triton nForce4 [B]VideoCard:[/B] eVGA GeForce 7800GTX 512MB [B]Hard Drive:[/B] WD 250GB Sata [B]OS:[/B] Dual boot, Windows XP Home/Windows Professional x64 Edition Retail[B] Audio:[/B] X-Fi Xtreme Music [B]Mouse:[/B] Logitech MX 310 [B]PSU:[/B] 500W Ultra Connect (34A on the 12V+)[/SIZE]

[SIZE="1"][B]Xbox 360:[/B] w/ Intercooler @ 1280x1024 , Dynasty Warriors 5, Fight Night Round 3, Kameo, NBA 2K6, Perfect Dark Zero CE, and PGR 3[SIZE="1"][/SIZE][/SIZE]
aAv7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-04, 01:00 PM   #3
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: For everyone that has preloaded HL2

lol well I probably should of said that I didnt discover that

I found it here I think even then I have way too much time on my hands..hehe

http://www.forumplanet.com/planethal...id=1501678&p=1
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-04, 01:01 PM   #4
aAv7
 
aAv7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,250
Default Re: For everyone that has preloaded HL2

ok..nevermind then lol
__________________
[SIZE="1"][B]CPU:[/B] AMD64 3200+ Winchester @ 2.2 [B]RAM:[/B] 2GB Kingston Dual Channel DDR 400 [B]Motherboard:[/B] Gigabyte K8 Triton nForce4 [B]VideoCard:[/B] eVGA GeForce 7800GTX 512MB [B]Hard Drive:[/B] WD 250GB Sata [B]OS:[/B] Dual boot, Windows XP Home/Windows Professional x64 Edition Retail[B] Audio:[/B] X-Fi Xtreme Music [B]Mouse:[/B] Logitech MX 310 [B]PSU:[/B] 500W Ultra Connect (34A on the 12V+)[/SIZE]

[SIZE="1"][B]Xbox 360:[/B] w/ Intercooler @ 1280x1024 , Dynasty Warriors 5, Fight Night Round 3, Kameo, NBA 2K6, Perfect Dark Zero CE, and PGR 3[SIZE="1"][/SIZE][/SIZE]
aAv7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-04, 04:20 AM   #5
Bad_Boy
god of war.
 
Bad_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: greensboro, nc.
Posts: 2,912
Send a message via AIM to Bad_Boy
Default Re: For everyone that has preloaded HL2

who the hell is dclowd990
or is it the text file im supposed to be looking at? ;x
__________________
[PS ID: Bad_Boy]
Bad_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-04, 01:03 PM   #6
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: For everyone that has preloaded HL2

son of a bitch! i thought you were going to say you could somehow play HL2 now! DAMNIT!

I was SO close to buying a Steam package right now.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-04, 01:19 PM   #7
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: For everyone that has preloaded HL2

Haha, Superklye. That would've been pretty easy to get HL2 to work, but would've also been nice. It'll go gold soon so don't worry.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-04, 05:22 PM   #8
BioHazZarD
USCM Marine
 
BioHazZarD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,369
Send a message via MSN to BioHazZarD
Default Re: For everyone that has preloaded HL2

rofl what a find.
__________________
Chieftec Miditower /w 5 case fans | Corsair 620W HX PSU | Asus M4N98TD EVO SLI | AMD Athlon2 X2 260 3,2GHz | Corsair 3GB PC3-10666 | eVGA Geforce GTX 460 1GB (336shader) | Samsung Spinpoint x2 250GB HD +SATA 320GB | SB Audigy 4 @ 2.1 | Samsung Syncmaster BX2331 TFT 23" running 1920x1080@60hz | Windows XP PRO SP2 | |
BioHazZarD is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-17-04, 05:30 PM   #9
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: For everyone that has preloaded HL2

Thats a lovely chick !

err .. whats that hl2 find again ??
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.