Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-16-04, 09:35 PM   #1
swsnyder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 19
Default Doom3 AA settings not respected?

I usually play Doom2 with AA off, but decided to test the impact AA would have on my framerate. I went from 0xAA, to 2xAA, to 4xAA, to 8xAA and my framerates stayed consistent without the test. Hmmmm....

I usually do not override the game settings in the nVidia driver config, but when I saw no reduction in framerate I suspected that AA changes were not really being done. I set the AA in the driver from no-override to 2xAA to 4xAA and to 8xAA. I each case I saw a reduction in framerate.

So: it seems that Doom3 does not horor the AA settings in the game.

Has anyone else seen this behavior?

Thanks.
swsnyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-04, 05:39 AM   #2
BioHazZarD
USCM Marine
 
BioHazZarD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,369
Send a message via MSN to BioHazZarD
Default Re: Doom3 AA settings not respected?

Carmack said its not working so its better to just raise the resolution.
__________________
Chieftec Miditower /w 5 case fans | Corsair 620W HX PSU | Asus M4N98TD EVO SLI | AMD Athlon2 X2 260 3,2GHz | Corsair 3GB PC3-10666 | eVGA Geforce GTX 460 1GB (336shader) | Samsung Spinpoint x2 250GB HD +SATA 320GB | SB Audigy 4 @ 2.1 | Samsung Syncmaster BX2331 TFT 23" running 1920x1080@60hz | Windows XP PRO SP2 | |
BioHazZarD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-04, 06:46 PM   #3
SigmaOrionis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 282
Default Re: Doom3 AA settings not respected?

Thats weird. Heres what I get.

1024x768 HQ Contol Panel set to App Preff for both AA & AF.

NoAA= 80 FPS
2XAA= 73 FPS
4XAA= 62 FPS

I can clearly see that AA is being enabled. So when did Carmack say this I'm confused.
__________________
EVGA NF41 SLI
A64 3700+ San Diego@ 2.5 GHZ
(2) 7900GT @ 470 1370
2 GB Corsair ValueSelect
SigmaOrionis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-04, 07:48 PM   #4
Subtestube
Anisymbolic
 
Subtestube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 1,365
Default Re: Doom3 AA settings not respected?

Did you quit and restart the game after enabling AA? And I mean actually exit the whole game, and re-load it. If you don't, changes won't be applied.
__________________
Dr Possible: Core 2 Duo E6400 on Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4. Galaxy GeForce 7600GT. 2GB Corsair XMS 2 DDR2-6400 RAM (CL5). ATi Theatre 550 Pro. Windows XP MCE. All stored in Piano black Antec Sonata II, with a broken door.

Mobile: ASUS M2400N, Pentium M 1.5 GHz. 512 MB DDR RAM. Intel EXTREME graphics. Windows XP SP 2 / Ubuntu 5.10.

Ridiculous DOES not have an 'e' in it. It comes from "ridicule" and has less than nothing to do with the colour red.
Subtestube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-04, 07:50 PM   #5
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,794
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default Re: Doom3 AA settings not respected?

AA works in Doom III period. You just have to restart the game by exiting and restarting or, at the cnsole type "vid_restart" for the new AA mode u selected to work, and if you are selecting AA thru the game make sure you have the AA setting in the forceware applet as "application controlled" etc.
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPU fan always at 100%, can not change the thermal settings legluondunet NVIDIA Linux 26 05-04-13 05:56 AM
RHEL 5.6 .nvidia-settings-rc settings un-applied on screen lock bluziff NVIDIA Linux 1 06-14-12 05:12 AM
302.11 driver only allows native resolution settings of laptop DFP darinmiller NVIDIA Linux 2 05-30-12 03:45 PM
Found Simpsons in NVIDIA registry settings! ShVen NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 6 10-06-02 09:26 PM
What resolution and graphics settings do you usually use for gaming? eliteone NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 21 08-09-02 01:31 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.