Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-20-04, 06:08 PM   #49
circuitbreaker8
 
circuitbreaker8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 655
Default Re: FarCry 1.3 - OpenEXR HDR, 3dc, SM3.0 by default, more!

Very nice, I havnt tried this game on my 6800 GT yet...
__________________
ll Cooler Master Praetorian WTX Form ll OCZ PowerStream 520 ll AMD Athlon 64 3400 ClawHammer CG@2.55Ghz ll Zalman 7000Cu ll DFI LanParty UT nF3 250Gb ll OCZ EL Platinum 3200 rev2 3200 @ 255Mhz 2.5-3-3-7(2x512Mb) ll Gigabyte X800XT PE 256Mb GDDR3 VIVO@580/580 ll Arctic Silencer 4 ll SB Audigy 2 ZS ll Logitech Z-560 THX 4.1 ll NEC FE991Sb 19" CRT ll 14.9k in 3dmark03! :eek:
circuitbreaker8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-04, 12:27 AM   #50
Nv40
Agent-Fx
 
Nv40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: everywhere
Posts: 2,216
Default Re: FarCry 1.3 - OpenEXR HDR, 3dc, SM3.0 by default, more!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Subtestube
The X800 *can* do frame buffer blending.. least, that's what I thought. As I understand it, it's just that the accumulation buffer (for blending) on the ATi cards doesn't have high enough precision for true OpenEXR HDR. At least, that's the way I understand it... but on that, I could be wrong, and would be happy to be corrected. I'm really not as knowledgeable about the R420 as I should be.

Edit: Apologies, it seems you're right. Looked it up, and the 420 can do true OpenEXR HDR... but it has to use pixel shaders to do so. I'm still fairly certain it can do a reduced qual version natively though.
http://www.3dcenter.de/artikel/r420_...k/index4_e.php

according with a huge thread in B3d about FPblending feature in the Nv40 , ATI employees already confirmed that the is NO blending support neither with FP precision,neither with INT precision in ATi hardware. in other words if you are a developer a wants true-HDR in a game ,with ATI hardware then you are out of luck. everything needs to be emulated with pixel shaders through a process that everyone agreeds that is .. very very slow , with lower quality and painfull in the ass to emulate it. which is why the major feature in HL2 is now dropped by Valve because emulating it is not good enough for what they wanted.. Futuremark interview in B3d goes even more saying ATi can't do HDR.. which means -> HighDynamicRange . just because lights in a demo looks overbrighten doesn means its HDR. . just read their interview. lower quality emulation of "Hdr" .. is the only thing you have seen until now in PS2.0x cards demos. Timbury and FArcry are the first aplications to support true HDR in realtime.so take anything that you read from reviews with grain of salt. There are many game developers including Crytek/Futuremark and even Valve with comments already about this. the same things goes for true DIsplacement mapping and hardware Shadow maps.. not supported by ATI.

Last edited by Nv40; 10-21-04 at 12:51 AM.
Nv40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-04, 12:39 AM   #51
Nv40
Agent-Fx
 
Nv40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: everywhere
Posts: 2,216
Default Re: FarCry 1.3 - OpenEXR HDR, 3dc, SM3.0 by default, more!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbirney
Your confusing things. This version of HDR != PS3.0. OpenEXR HDR is not the only form of HDR out there....

read again my post.. notice the Sm3.0+ sign. not that the version exist .. but to show that the NV40 support more things beyond what SM3.0 can do. OpenEXR is not the only one in the industry.. there are others standars.. which ATI also dont support. and rumors says it will in the R520.
Nv40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-04, 12:40 AM   #52
Subtestube
Anisymbolic
 
Subtestube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 1,365
Default Re: FarCry 1.3 - OpenEXR HDR, 3dc, SM3.0 by default, more!

Cheers NV40... that clears things up nicely.
__________________
Dr Possible: Core 2 Duo E6400 on Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4. Galaxy GeForce 7600GT. 2GB Corsair XMS 2 DDR2-6400 RAM (CL5). ATi Theatre 550 Pro. Windows XP MCE. All stored in Piano black Antec Sonata II, with a broken door.

Mobile: ASUS M2400N, Pentium M 1.5 GHz. 512 MB DDR RAM. Intel EXTREME graphics. Windows XP SP 2 / Ubuntu 5.10.

Ridiculous DOES not have an 'e' in it. It comes from "ridicule" and has less than nothing to do with the colour red.
Subtestube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-04, 12:44 AM   #53
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: FarCry 1.3 - OpenEXR HDR, 3dc, SM3.0 by default, more!

Quote:
Originally Posted by circuitbreaker8
Very nice, I havnt tried this game on my 6800 GT yet...
Well, you should. It's amazing.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-04, 01:41 AM   #54
pat777
NV420
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 446
Default Re: FarCry 1.3 - OpenEXR HDR, 3dc, SM3.0 by default, more!

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/ubb.x?a=tp...232#8291000232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruined
BTW, Crytek made an error in that article, they meant to say "FP16 blending" not "Fp32 blending"
Ruined, are you sure that FP32 blending was a mistake? It sounds like he meant it in that article to me.
pat777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-04, 10:11 AM   #55
noko
noko
 
noko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando Florida
Posts: 735
Default Re: FarCry 1.3 - OpenEXR HDR, 3dc, SM3.0 by default, more!

Look forward to it. Played FarCry once on my Radeon 9700 Pro, should be much more fun on my GT when this patch comes out .
noko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-04, 11:39 AM   #56
Morrow
Atari STE 4-bit color
 
Morrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 798
Default Re: FarCry 1.3 - OpenEXR HDR, 3dc, SM3.0 by default, more!

Quote:
Originally Posted by pat777
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/ubb.x?a=tp...232#8291000232

Ruined, are you sure that FP32 blending was a mistake? It sounds like he meant it in that article to me.
FP32 blending is a mistake. The nv40 chip has only FP16 framebuffers so it can only perform FP16 blending. This has nothing to do with the highest precision at which pixelshaders can be rendered on >= nv3x hardware which is FP32.
Morrow is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-21-04, 03:21 PM   #57
Intel17
Is not an Intel fanboi
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 1,368
Default Re: FarCry 1.3 - OpenEXR HDR, 3dc, SM3.0 by default, more!

Fp32 blending would be outrageously expensive, and would BARELY run on todays 6800's.
Intel17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-04, 02:16 AM   #58
Diamond_G
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hi
Posts: 239
Default Re: FarCry 1.3 - OpenEXR HDR, 3dc, SM3.0 by default, more!

but it sure would look pretty!!
__________________
Athlon X2 3800+
1 Gig ddr400 ram
300+ Gig storage across multiple drives
PNY Geforce 6800 (o/c 399/829)
Diamond_G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-04, 04:53 AM   #59
DMA
Zzzleepy
 
DMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: In bed
Posts: 997
Default Re: FarCry 1.3 - OpenEXR HDR, 3dc, SM3.0 by default, more!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geiger/Ubi
We have a policy of not launching patches on Fridays as well, so there is a very good chance that it won't be tomorrow, but I'll update again tomorrow.
Now there's a shocker. No patch this week either.
__________________
Gigabyte EP35-DS4 | E6850@3.8GHz |
8800GT@800/2000MHz | 4 GB Corsair 6400|
DMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-04, 05:24 AM   #60
Morrow
Atari STE 4-bit color
 
Morrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 798
Default Re: FarCry 1.3 - OpenEXR HDR, 3dc, SM3.0 by default, more!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diamond_G
but it sure would look pretty!!
The difference netween FP16 and FP32 blending would only be a difference of banding and the difference would only be hardly noticeable.

FP16 blending will remain the standard for a few years because as Intel17 said, FP32 blending in realtime would be pretty much an overkill.
Morrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error messages... HELP!!!! Imperito NVIDIA Linux 3 09-24-02 10:46 PM
Nvidia GF4 MX 440 + Mandrake tomchristopher NVIDIA Linux 3 08-18-02 09:42 AM
nVidia drivers + Red Hat Linux 7.3 Error404 NVIDIA Linux 17 08-16-02 11:34 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.