Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-22-04, 06:47 PM   #13
andyrock
Registered User
 
andyrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: EU / Portugal
Posts: 110
Default Re: Problem with Asus GF4 4800SE

It's not a power issue, since i also have an asus 4800se + celeron 1400 (tualatin) + sb-live + usb stuff and an old 250W power supply. I never had any problem like those you are reporting.

Probably your card is damaged - this card can get quite hot, so you should never overclock it if your system's ambient temperature is too high.
__________________
AndyRock

--
1. Toshiba M30-742 | Centrino/Pentium-M 1700mhz | Geforce FX 5200Go
2. Celeron (Tualatin) 1400mhz | Geforce Ti 4800SE
andyrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-04, 03:52 AM   #14
Morjo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8
Default Re: Problem with Asus GF4 4800SE

I got a mates 9600XT to try out and the same thing happens with it also

This is driving me nutters!
Morjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-04, 05:13 AM   #15
rohit
Awaiting WGF 2.0
 
rohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,174
Lightbulb Re: Problem with Asus GF4 4800SE

I toldya dude, there must be other hardware incompatibility issue or mobo issue. ASUS doesnt hav many problematic cards. especially with geforce4ti lineup.
If u can/and if ur mobo supports, try updatin its bios.

OMG, OMG OMG, i jus saw ur specs, U have a soltek mobo, My friend had/has a soltek mobo too with ATHLON XP 2000+.. n he suffered from a problem as well, wen he switched from a MX440 to ti4200.The comp used to restart on its own. as soon as the OS selection mode came up on startup. But the thing got fine with MX440 re-Installed. I donno wat he did, ill get in touch with him and find out.

(I still feel its a mobo issue...jus a feelin)
__________________
|C.P.U : s939 AMD Athlon64 3200+ (newcastle) |
|MoBo : ASUS A8V Deluxe ||RAM: [512 x 2]MB Transcend DDR400 (pc3200) |
|V.G.A : LeadTek a400GT TDH (350/1000) [GeForce 6800GT] |
|Sound: RealTek Integrated. |
|P.S.U : PowerSafe 450w |
|MISC.: Logitech Cordless DUO(MX700 + Wireless Keyboard)||Lite-On DVD CD-RW Combo 52x16x52
|3dMark'05: 4893 [@ 350/1000]
rohit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-04, 06:31 AM   #16
Morjo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8
Default Re: Problem with Asus GF4 4800SE

Quote:
Originally Posted by rohit
I toldya dude, there must be other hardware incompatibility issue or mobo issue. ASUS doesnt hav many problematic cards. especially with geforce4ti lineup.
If u can/and if ur mobo supports, try updatin its bios.

OMG, OMG OMG, i jus saw ur specs, U have a soltek mobo, My friend had/has a soltek mobo too with ATHLON XP 2000+.. n he suffered from a problem as well, wen he switched from a MX440 to ti4200.The comp used to restart on its own. as soon as the OS selection mode came up on startup. But the thing got fine with MX440 re-Installed. I donno wat he did, ill get in touch with him and find out.

(I still feel its a mobo issue...jus a feelin)
Yes please do that would be fantastic
Morjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-04, 05:00 AM   #17
rohit
Awaiting WGF 2.0
 
rohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,174
Default Re: Problem with Asus GF4 4800SE

Alrite, i spoke to him, he says that he tried 3 diff ti4200's on his comp, the xfx that he bought, thn he replaced sayin its faulty, but didnt work, n mine inno3d, that didnt work eithr. So he sold of the ti4200 and is workin with the MX440
Also he said the board's bios cant b changed easily, so he doesnt wanna do it.
Also he tld me the problem was cumin on puttin any new gen cards, like Ti-series, or fx 5200/5600U and 9500P.
But strangely, one of our friends, Club3d 9800Pro workd very well
It gav no problems of freezing, or rebooting of the comp.
the problems he faced with all other cards, bsides the 9800Pro and Mx440 are
1] comp wuld load into windows, after 2 -3 retries. (it used to crash durin 98se boot-screen)
2] comp wuld crash wen switched to 32-bit desktop colors (so ony 256 colors or 16-bit colors culd b used)
3] 20 mins of gameplay, and the comp wuld restart (mind u, no heating problems, all 5 cards cant suffer frm heating probs)

But Surprisingly the Mighty 9800Pro worked very well with no problems at all. No clue y?
now he uses the mx440, he cant afford a 9800pro

Dude im sorry culdnt find out the reason for these probs, n i am sorry i confused u even more
but i cant really fig. out a reason. Now all u can do is
1] check ur card on some other system, to b sure ur card is alrite ( ur card is alrite since u said 9600Xt also givs same probs) but jus to b sure)
2] to check ur system's incompatibility, borrow ur friends RAM n check wheather ur ram is the culprit or no, or PSu if possible borrow n check, remove all other pci cards, includin LAN Card, to c if its some IRQ problem
3 ] if all abv fails, go to ur dealer/engineer/professional, say "the BOARD is messed up, and is in warranty, RMA it. |OR| Check the system, n fix my cards problem."
__________________
|C.P.U : s939 AMD Athlon64 3200+ (newcastle) |
|MoBo : ASUS A8V Deluxe ||RAM: [512 x 2]MB Transcend DDR400 (pc3200) |
|V.G.A : LeadTek a400GT TDH (350/1000) [GeForce 6800GT] |
|Sound: RealTek Integrated. |
|P.S.U : PowerSafe 450w |
|MISC.: Logitech Cordless DUO(MX700 + Wireless Keyboard)||Lite-On DVD CD-RW Combo 52x16x52
|3dMark'05: 4893 [@ 350/1000]
rohit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-04, 05:23 AM   #18
Morjo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8
Default Re: Problem with Asus GF4 4800SE

Thanks for your help it's greatly appreciated.

Anyway I but the bullet and just purchased a new mobo, now it's working again. Thanks
Morjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-04, 01:13 AM   #19
rohit
Awaiting WGF 2.0
 
rohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,174
Thumbs up Re: Problem with Asus GF4 4800SE

Thast great,
ur prob got solved.
but my card is damaged now. so i am scre*ed.

Congrats!!
btw plz post the model of the mobo u had, and the mobo u bought!
__________________
|C.P.U : s939 AMD Athlon64 3200+ (newcastle) |
|MoBo : ASUS A8V Deluxe ||RAM: [512 x 2]MB Transcend DDR400 (pc3200) |
|V.G.A : LeadTek a400GT TDH (350/1000) [GeForce 6800GT] |
|Sound: RealTek Integrated. |
|P.S.U : PowerSafe 450w |
|MISC.: Logitech Cordless DUO(MX700 + Wireless Keyboard)||Lite-On DVD CD-RW Combo 52x16x52
|3dMark'05: 4893 [@ 350/1000]
rohit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Review of the 23-inch Asus VG23AH Passive 3D IPS Display News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-21-12 07:40 PM
ASUS GeForce GTX 670 DirectCU II Top Unveiled Features 1137MHz Boost Clock (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 06:30 AM
GF4 Nvidia Driver 2960, Win TV Problem, Freeze titan3025 NVIDIA Linux 5 09-06-02 07:12 AM
funny problem with 2960 and GF4 konsti NVIDIA Linux 3 09-03-02 07:08 AM
GeForce4 image quality - need some HONEST opinions ErrorS NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 24 08-22-02 06:39 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.