Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-18-04, 03:46 AM   #1
avesta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 165
Default low fps in Rome:Total War?

Im playing rome and Im playing at 1024x768 no AA or no shadows but all other in game settings on maximum. When I play custom battle of 2000 men im getting 10-15 fps....am i cpu limited or video card limited? or should I be getting better framerate?
avesta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-04, 05:20 AM   #2
Subtestube
Anisymbolic
 
Subtestube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 1,365
Default Re: low fps in Rome:Total War?

Well, perhaps you could tell us what CPU and Video card you have. Then we might be able to help.
__________________
Dr Possible: Core 2 Duo E6400 on Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4. Galaxy GeForce 7600GT. 2GB Corsair XMS 2 DDR2-6400 RAM (CL5). ATi Theatre 550 Pro. Windows XP MCE. All stored in Piano black Antec Sonata II, with a broken door.

Mobile: ASUS M2400N, Pentium M 1.5 GHz. 512 MB DDR RAM. Intel EXTREME graphics. Windows XP SP 2 / Ubuntu 5.10.

Ridiculous DOES not have an 'e' in it. It comes from "ridicule" and has less than nothing to do with the colour red.
Subtestube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-04, 12:40 PM   #3
avesta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 165
Default Re: low fps in Rome:Total War?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Subtestube
Well, perhaps you could tell us what CPU and Video card you have. Then we might be able to help.
sorry I set up my SIG, but its not showing for some reason

fx-53 s939
sapphire x800xt
1GB 3200XL corsair
2 x 74GB WD Raptors
avesta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-04, 01:03 PM   #4
aAv7
 
aAv7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,250
Default Re: low fps in Rome:Total War?

it's very cpu limited...you have a great system btw. I'm shocked to see a fx-53 is dipping into the 15's with the game....so it might be something else. But it is known the game is very cpu limited.

Did you come off a nvidia card? Might have a driver conflict.
__________________
[SIZE="1"][B]CPU:[/B] AMD64 3200+ Winchester @ 2.2 [B]RAM:[/B] 2GB Kingston Dual Channel DDR 400 [B]Motherboard:[/B] Gigabyte K8 Triton nForce4 [B]VideoCard:[/B] eVGA GeForce 7800GTX 512MB [B]Hard Drive:[/B] WD 250GB Sata [B]OS:[/B] Dual boot, Windows XP Home/Windows Professional x64 Edition Retail[B] Audio:[/B] X-Fi Xtreme Music [B]Mouse:[/B] Logitech MX 310 [B]PSU:[/B] 500W Ultra Connect (34A on the 12V+)[/SIZE]

[SIZE="1"][B]Xbox 360:[/B] w/ Intercooler @ 1280x1024 , Dynasty Warriors 5, Fight Night Round 3, Kameo, NBA 2K6, Perfect Dark Zero CE, and PGR 3[SIZE="1"][/SIZE][/SIZE]
aAv7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-04, 01:09 PM   #5
avesta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 165
Default Re: low fps in Rome:Total War?

no this system is brand new it never had an nvidia card on it....
avesta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-04, 01:10 PM   #6
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: low fps in Rome:Total War?

Anything else running slowly, or is it just the game?
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-04, 01:41 PM   #7
aaahhh52
gahboo?
 
aaahhh52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to aaahhh52
Default Re: low fps in Rome:Total War?

doh? i average atleast 30 frames on my system, with those exact settings cept 2xAA, specs in link
__________________
SPECS <-- mobo = fried R.I.P

New Pc:
Gigabye k8n-SLI NF4
AMD x2 4600+
Evga 7900gs 256mb
1gb pc 3200
160gb SATA II
aaahhh52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-04, 01:42 PM   #8
YOGIx213
Registered User
 
YOGIx213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 511
Default Re: low fps in Rome:Total War?

I have the same problems with this game as well but I expected as much, being that the game is rendering thousands of soldiers and actions at once.

On a side note, has anyone seen the History Channel lately? They have been using Rome Total War to recreate historical battles on some of their shows. They use it to show exactly what tactics the featured armies used to their advantage or disadvantage. It's pretty nice.
__________________

Windows Vista Home Premium 32bit
Intel E6750 @ 3.2
Asus P5N-E SLI Mobo
Kingston 2gb DDR2 pc6400Dual Channel Kit
Maxtor 500gb SATAII hd
eVGA 8800 GT 512mb (700/1750/955)
(Stock Air Fan)

3dMark 2006 Score: 12301
http://bf2s.com/player/yogix213/
YOGIx213 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-18-04, 01:44 PM   #9
avesta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 165
Default Re: low fps in Rome:Total War?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninjaman09
Anything else running slowly, or is it just the game?

Just the game. My computer runs fine otherwise.
avesta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-04, 04:00 PM   #10
Subtestube
Anisymbolic
 
Subtestube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 1,365
Default Re: low fps in Rome:Total War?

Hmmm.. it does sound odd. I do better than that - 2000 soldiers usually isn't too hard on my box... only 3000+ with VERY high graphics opts. And I'm runnin' a non ultra. There're no known ATi conflicts with the game are there? I guess it *could* be a driver bug.
__________________
Dr Possible: Core 2 Duo E6400 on Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4. Galaxy GeForce 7600GT. 2GB Corsair XMS 2 DDR2-6400 RAM (CL5). ATi Theatre 550 Pro. Windows XP MCE. All stored in Piano black Antec Sonata II, with a broken door.

Mobile: ASUS M2400N, Pentium M 1.5 GHz. 512 MB DDR RAM. Intel EXTREME graphics. Windows XP SP 2 / Ubuntu 5.10.

Ridiculous DOES not have an 'e' in it. It comes from "ridicule" and has less than nothing to do with the colour red.
Subtestube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-04, 04:02 PM   #11
SH0DAN
SGIRealityEngine
 
SH0DAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Citadel Station
Posts: 1,676
Send a message via ICQ to SH0DAN
Default Re: low fps in Rome:Total War?

It slows down alot on my system as well,with that many soldiers on screen.the
game as others have said is VERY cpu limited.I run it at 11x8x32 with everything maxed with quincunx AA + 2x Aniso.
__________________
When plunder becomes a way of life for a group of men living together in society, they create for themselves, in the course of time, a legal system that authorizes it and a moral code that glorifies it. -Fred Bastiat-

The last official act of a corrupt government is to loot the nation.

When buying and selling are controlled by legislation, the first things to be bought and sold are legislators.
P. J. O'Rourke

------------------
Q6600 g0 @3.20Ghz 1.30 VOLTS||Tr ULTIMA 90I + ||2X1Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC6400 4-3-3-7@ 400 x 8
BFG 260gtx MAXCORE55 @ 690/1420/2377 ||Asus P5K-Deluxe WiFi AP||Corsair HX520||Nec 2470WNX-BK + LG 1751S|
Lian Li PC-65B + II||Western Digital 150GB RaptorX|| Samsung 750Gb HD x3|| WD 2500KS ||Samsung 183s||SB Audigy 2 ZS||Audio Technica ESW9's +red RSA Predator|G11+MX518
SH0DAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-04, 04:06 PM   #12
avesta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 165
Default Re: low fps in Rome:Total War?

Its really pissing me off cause i spend so much money for this system and i cant figure out why it slows down. I changed to the omega drivers and im getting the same thing.
avesta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Napoleon: Total War Free Weekend and 50% off! News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 12:30 AM
Naval War: Arctic Circle review News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 09:20 PM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM
Low OpenGL Performance Instinct NVIDIA Linux 10 08-08-02 03:56 PM
low fps why??? nipster Benchmarking And Overclocking 4 08-07-02 02:35 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.