Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-19-04, 08:50 PM   #1
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Exclamation Internet connection needed for retail HL2

Quote:
Response (JonH) 10/19/2004 01:18 PM
Hello,

"Will it require setting up a STEAM account so that the game can be authenticated ONLINE at install time? (and then play OFFLINE)"

Exactly, this is how the game will be 'activated'.
Just an interesting tidbit I found on the net
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline  
Old 10-19-04, 08:58 PM   #2
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Internet connection needed for retail HL2

Boo! Hiss!

Activation is teh deval.
saturnotaku is offline  
Old 10-19-04, 09:26 PM   #3
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Internet connection needed for retail HL2

Quote:
Originally Posted by saturnotaku
Boo! Hiss!

Activation is teh deval.
ROFL.

Well, I hope that once it is activated, no more Steam to play a Valve game. I don't mind going through Steam to play CS:S now, but what happens if my cable (internet) connection goes out for some reason? I'd rather have a seperate executable on my desktop and NOT go through Steam. But that's my opinion.
six_storm is offline  
Old 10-20-04, 12:03 AM   #4
Son Goku
Registered User
 
Son Goku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: 439 East District, Mount Paozu
Posts: 1,714
Default Re: Internet connection needed for retail HL2

Another company goes the way of software activation. That doesn't give us many details (such as if it will tie to hardware like XP activation or not, will we have to call in on a re-install, etc)...but I can say I don't like activation as it is.

As I mentioned years ago, it isn't just XP and one call to Microsoft, but if other companies copy their example one could end up having to make a seperate call for every piece of software on their HD on each reinstall. Sorry, but I don't particularly like having to speak on the phone that much, let along beg for permission to reinstall a program I payed for.

Another company/product goes the way of activation and we have yet to see how encombersome this will be for the consumer.
Son Goku is offline  
Old 10-20-04, 12:06 AM   #5
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Internet connection needed for retail HL2

Im all for it! Maybe they should even use a USB Key to lock it! F them Pirates!
 
Old 10-20-04, 12:22 AM   #6
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Internet connection needed for retail HL2

So what if the game has a bad install and I activate and have to reinstall...

Bah... why the hell do they have to make it so damned complicated. No matter what they do there will be illegal versions of the game scattered all over the planet. Windows XP had pretty stiff protection yet im willing to bet that around half of the computers with XP installed are using it illegally (one way or another).

Its been said a million times before. The only people this crap hurts are the paying customers. Its irritating as hell to have to go through with things like this. Besides, if I have 2 computers and want to try the game on both I should be able to. Im only one person, I cant very well play them both at the same time can I?
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline  
Old 10-20-04, 01:09 AM   #7
Edge
3d animator for hire!
 
Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,564
Default Re: Internet connection needed for retail HL2

Wow, that's increadibly stupid...and what's even worse is that the cracked version of the game probably won't have this limitation. I think I'll call them as soon as I get the game and complain I can't play it because I don't have internet (not that I don't, but not all the computers I have at my house are currently networked and I'd like to be able to play HL2 on any of them, saying "I can't play it at all" sounds more critical ). *sigh*, it's like we're returning to the old days of color wheels and manual codes in order to "validate" a game.
Edge is offline  
Old 10-20-04, 03:16 AM   #8
Son Goku
Registered User
 
Son Goku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: 439 East District, Mount Paozu
Posts: 1,714
Default Re: Internet connection needed for retail HL2

If winXP is any indication it is not the pirates that get effected by these stupid activation schemes. After they've downloaded their Devil's Own release or whatever else, they could care less. It is the honest people who pay the price with these schemes, even while the pirates invariably find another way.

Arguments of "anti-piracy" hold no weight with me here... Anything that can be setup in software can also be broken in software as well. And though Devil's Own isn't technically a crack (it's a leaked corporate release), beta 2 and all the release candidates of Windows XP were cracked. I had winXP prior to release from an MSDN subscription, and yes I was quite well aware of the cracks and where to get them. If it wasn't cracked in the final, but just leaked...it's probably largely to the fact that peeps aren't necessarily going to spend the time cracking something, when there's an easier way to get it out. In such matters, humans can tend to be a bit on the lazy side, taking the easier path to accomplish their goals.

This should also be brought into consideration here, as I know matter of factly that people who never warzed things before XP activation were quite willing to consider it even when having a purchased copy of winXP. Same might end up occuring here, if activation becomes more of a pain/more work then cracking it, with those who are most honest being the one's who get stuck the most.
Son Goku is offline  

Old 10-20-04, 04:25 AM   #9
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Internet connection needed for retail HL2

I just thought about something else thats totaly rediculous about this...

What if 10 years down the road I want to play HL2 again? Its likely that Steam will be gone (very few programs last that long in this industry... valve may even be gone), which means HL2 will be totaly USELESS. Without the Steam servers, you simply will NOT be able to install it.

If Valve was so damned worried about piracy, youd think they would use their amazing new Steam purchasing system and make the games a fraction of the retail cost. If some pirate had a choice of slowly downloading the game illegally over the course of a month and then not being able to play online OR spending $25-$30 to download it from Steam legally, Im willing to bet that most wouldnt pirate it.
Right now they either pay $50+ to download it, $50+ to buy it retail or download it for free illegally. Im not going to lie, if I had a guaranteed chance to get it for free, I would consider it (though Id probably buy it eventually anyway just to have it).

Its like the chicken and egg thing. They raise the prices of the games to make up for pirated copies which are downloaded because the games cost too much. Actually no, I guess they just raise the prices of the games because they want to be rich
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline  
Old 10-20-04, 04:50 AM   #10
NAZCA M12
Master Thief
 
NAZCA M12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The City
Posts: 448
Unhappy Re: Internet connection needed for retail HL2

Everything's got to be done Valve's way hasn't it? Is this 100% confirmed? If it is, **** them. I don't see why i have to ask them in order to install their game i legally bought, or have to mess with Steam just because they say so. I could perfectly understand the anti-piracy thinking behind it but i don't see why they should **** everybody (legal owners included) for that. I get the impression that they're doing this ONLY in order to milk the game as much as they can and get every last penny out of it, without caring about their hard work being stolen/wasted each time an illegal copy is sold. Valve has been pushing the envelope way too much with their hyped game and unfortunately 99% of gamers prefer to obey, drop their pants down and bend over. I'm sick of it. No HL2 for me looks like
__________________
P4 3,2@3,85GHz - Asus P4C800-E - 2Gb DDR-500 OCZ - 2x WD Raptors (Raid 0) - Creative Audigy 2 - ATI AIW 9800Pro - Antec 550W - LG GSA 4163b - NEC ND-3540A - Viewsonic VG700 - Antec Plus 660 AMG - Creative Inspire T7700 - Win98SE/XP
NAZCA M12 is offline  
Old 10-20-04, 05:05 AM   #11
FierceDeityLink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 390
Send a message via AIM to FierceDeityLink Send a message via MSN to FierceDeityLink Send a message via Yahoo to FierceDeityLink
Default Re: Internet connection needed for retail HL2

Valve can't make Half-Life 2 available for less money on Steam. More than likely, Half-Life 2 will be tied to your Steam account, so if you have to reinstall, you can just have Steam rebuild the cache files. If Steam is ever shut down, there will probably be a new version of the architecture (e.g.: WON -> Steam), so you'd end up needing to download a patch. Of course, none of this is possible if you don't have an internet connection unless they opt to allow calling for activation (dunno how with the global simultaneous release).

I don't care if I have to activate, because it will have already been done because I purchased through Steam.
__________________
P4 3.2C|Asus P4C800-E DX|2GB Corsair DDR400|BFG Geforce 6800 Ultra|Antec TrueControl 550
Koolance EXOS 2|PolarFLO TT CPU|Danger Den NV-68|Danger Den MAZE4 chipset
FierceDeityLink is offline  
Old 10-20-04, 05:11 AM   #12
mezkal
Registered User
 
mezkal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: ...Twisting the Vertices of Reality...
Posts: 358
Default Re: Internet connection needed for retail HL2

Quote:
Originally Posted by NAZCA M12
Everything's got to be done Valve's way hasn't it? Is this 100% confirmed? If it is, **** them. I don't see why i have to ask them in order to install their game i legally bought, or have to mess with Steam just because they say so. I could perfectly understand the anti-piracy thinking behind it but i don't see why they should **** everybody (legal owners included) for that. I get the impression that they're doing this ONLY in order to milk the game as much as they can and get every last penny out of it, without caring about their hard work being stolen/wasted each time an illegal copy is sold. Valve has been pushing the envelope way too much with their hyped game and unfortunately 99% of gamers prefer to obey, drop their pants down and bend over. I'm sick of it. No HL2 for me looks like
ummm I really REALLY don't see what the issue is here. Are you going to be playing the game online? Will you let it download updates?

So what's the difference if it needs to be authenticated to start? So do Yahoo, MSN messenger and umpteen other apps we have on our "connected" PCs.

If you are connected enough to care about your signature on a chat board then I think you won't find it unusual for HL2 to connect to authenticate.

[ArnieVoice]
Stop whining!
[/ArnieVoice]
__________________
Core 2 Duo e6750
Gigabyte N650i DS4 Motherboard
4GB PC 6400 Corsair XMS2 DDR2 RAM
Zalman CNPS 9700 HSF
Thermaltake Soprano Case w/ clear side door and all three fans mounted
Antec TruPower 2.0 PSU
Gigabyte Geforce 8600GTS Fanless
2 x Dvico Hybrid HDTV tuners
1 x Loewe 32" SDTV @ 1440x820 custom res via SVIDEO
(can't afford a new TV just yet)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NVJoe
In defense of Cooper Lawrence : "I hate gamers and the gaming community."
mezkal is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What your Internet behavior says about your mental state News Archived News Items 0 06-17-12 09:00 PM
Bandwidth explosion: As Internet use soars, can bottlenecks be averted? News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.