Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-20-04, 11:18 AM   #1
jat850
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Question Riva TNT2 and TV-OUT

Hi folks,

Been trying for days to get TV-out working on my Riva TNT2 card in X.org.

The video card itself works fine and everything is okay on my monitor, but I've tried about 100 different xorg.conf configs and haven't had any luck getting it to show up on my TV (just a regular Panasonic TV via s-video). What happens is, the TV appears to go into a strange vertical-sync loop. It seems to me like the refresh rate settings are messed up, or the resolution, or something.

I've tried using TwinView, and more conventional configurations (two Monitor/Screen sections, etc.)

Can anyone help provide me with a pretty concise/basic example xorg.conf file for TV-out on a card like this? Getting pretty frustrated at not being able to figure it out

If more specific details are required, let me know.

Thanks.
jat850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-04, 11:53 AM   #2
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Riva TNT2 and TV-OUT

Your card doesn't support twinview. Because of this there can be only one screen active at at time. To get tvout working grab a working X config file, replace the refresh rates for the monitor with those for the tv, add lines like tvstandard, tvoutformat, connectedmonitor and replace the resolutions for the monitor with ones for the tv.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-04, 11:56 AM   #3
jat850
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Default Re: Riva TNT2 and TV-OUT

Thunderbird,

Thanks muchly for the quick reply. I'll try doing that.

I have tried configurations where I only have the TV plugged into the card, and set up sections such as:

Monitor:
HorizSync 31.5-50.0
VertRefresh 60.0

(which seems to be pretty standard for TV-out)

and then the normal Device section with tvstandard, tvoutformat and ConnectedMonitor "TV", but it just doesn't seem to help.

I'll certainly try again, and post back the configuration here. Thanks for the help.
jat850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-04, 12:02 PM   #4
jat850
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Default Re: Riva TNT2 and TV-OUT

Here's my current (relevant) portion of my xorg.conf file. Does it look appropriate?

Code:
Section "Monitor"
        Identifier      "Monitor0"
        VendorName      "Panasonic"
        HorizSync   31.5-50.0
        VertRefresh 60.0
 EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier      "Card0"
        VendorName      "nvidia"
        Driver          "nvidia"
        VideoRam        16384
        Option "RenderAccel"                    "true"
        Option "IgnoreEDID"                     "1"
        Option "HWCursor"                       "0"
        Option "TVOutFormat"                    "svideo"
        Option "TVStandard"                     "NTSC-M"
        Option "ConnectedMonitor"               "TV"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen0"
    Device      "Card0"
    Monitor     "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 24

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes       "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier      "Layout0"
        Screen          "Screen0"
        InputDevice     "Mouse1"        "CorePointer"
        InputDevice     "Keyboard1"     "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection
jat850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-04, 01:26 PM   #5
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Riva TNT2 and TV-OUT

Looks quite good to me (useally 30-50 is used instead of 31.5 but that doesn't matter much). Perhaps the problem is the resolution of 1024x768 try to lower it as not all cards support that resolution and there were troubles with high resolutions in recent drivers. For use with a NTSC tv 640x480 is optimal and for use with PAL 800x600. (higher resolutions become interlaced)
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-04, 01:42 PM   #6
jat850
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Default Re: Riva TNT2 and TV-OUT

Thanks again, Thunderbird. I'll try those suggestions as soon as I can... at work for a few more hours yet.
jat850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-04, 06:42 PM   #7
jat850
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Default Re: Riva TNT2 and TV-OUT

Hmm... tested it, and here's what I get as an error in my X.org logfile:

(II) NVIDIA(0): Using ConnectedMonitor string "TV-0"
(EE) NVIDIA(0): The requested configuration of display devices is not
(EE) NVIDIA(0): supported in the hardware.
(II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
(II) UnloadModule: "vgahw"
(II) Unloading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/libvgahw.a
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

Fatal server error:
no screens found

Any further suggestions I can try?

I can provide the full logfile if needed.
jat850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-04, 02:27 PM   #8
mtvoid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Delhi, India
Posts: 14
Default Re: Riva TNT2 and TV-OUT

Hi
You don't need to mess around with your xorg.conf to enable tv-out. There is this app called nvtv, which enables tv-out on nvidia cards and supports lots of configuration options too:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/nv-tv-out
If you're using debian, install the package nvtv
Hope this helps...
mtvoid is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-21-04, 02:46 PM   #9
vicoluf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: Riva TNT2 and TV-OUT

Hi,
I'm having exactly the same problem with my asus v3400TNT card as jet850. Is it possible that nvidia drivers does not support TNT/TNT2 cards??

Victor
vicoluf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-04, 02:59 PM   #10
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Riva TNT2 and TV-OUT

The drivers support TNT cards fine. Further don't use nvtv as it is quite a hack.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-04, 03:16 PM   #11
Ruffiano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1
Default Re: Riva TNT2 and TV-OUT

Jat, I was having a lot of problems with my TV out on the TNT2 board too. Using your x.conf I was able to get it to work fine first go. I am now having the problem of not being able to switch into a console though, screen just goes blue.
Ruffiano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-04, 05:45 PM   #12
jat850
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Default Re: Riva TNT2 and TV-OUT

Okay, thanks for the further input folks - I will keep trying some stuff at home tonight. Didn't have any more success tonight, but I think I must be getting close, hopefully.
jat850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.