Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-25-04, 07:53 PM   #13
anzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: 5700 or 9100

Quote:
Originally Posted by bklevan
does anyone know where i can get some diagrams and schmatics of the AGP slot? i also need some information on how the agp slot works with the processor... any help is appreciated!
Why? Im just curious.
anzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-04, 07:54 PM   #14
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: 5700 or 9100

Quote:
Originally Posted by bklevan
does anyone know where i can get some diagrams and schmatics of the AGP slot? i also need some information on how the agp slot works with the processor... any help is appreciated!
It will be much easier if you able to tell us what brand and model your PC is?
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-04, 07:57 PM   #15
bklevan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 15
Default Re: 5700 or 9100

i have a Dell Dimension 3000 with p4 2.8 processor, 512 MB MEMORY, 3 pci slots, no agp slot.

PS - is there an adapter to plug into a pci slot and then plug an agp card into that adapter?
bklevan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-04, 08:12 PM   #16
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: 5700 or 9100

Quote:
Originally Posted by bklevan
i have a Dell Dimension 3000 with p4 2.8 processor, 512 MB MEMORY, 3 pci slots, no agp slot.

PS - is there an adapter to plug into a pci slot and then plug an agp card into that adapter?
No.

Just take a minute to thinking about it, theres no way you could plug a card into an adapter and still have it fit inside the case. The slots in the back of the case have to line up.

That alone tells me theres no such thing.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-04, 08:26 PM   #17
tristancarton
Registered User
 
tristancarton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 113
Default Re: 5700 or 9100

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
No.
Just take a minute to thinking about it, theres no way you could plug a card into an adapter and still have it fit inside the case. The slots in the back of the case have to line up.
That alone tells me theres no such thing.
There actually is one that was made a long time ago but never released around the states.(impossible to find, not just very very hard to find)

here is a link to it
http://members.at.infoseek.co.jp/kap...changeAGP.html

If you want more info just do a google search on "agp2pci". Also as a note, videocards will work in computers with or without back brackets as long as their pins are plugged into the correct slot.

Bk, don't even think about trying to find it. It is not available. (it does exist though)
__________________
Primary: dfi ut250gb / a64 mobile 3400 62w clawhammer / 3x512mb pdp xbl tccd / WD 120Gb 7200 8Mb x2, RAID0 / 250Gb WD 7200 8Mb external / Sound Blaster 2 ZS Plat. / HDTV Wonder / Pioneer dvr105 / Pioneer dvd115 / Visiontek x800xt / Mad Dog 500w Surepower (superflower rebadge) with Smart Cables / Logitech z680 / IBM p260 21" FD Trinitron x2 / Windows XP sp2, Legal Version
tristancarton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-04, 08:40 PM   #18
anzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: 5700 or 9100

ASRock MicroATX mobo, i845GV Chipset: http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE
Sapphire Radeon 9600 pro: http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE

Total: $150
anzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-04, 08:50 PM   #19
tristancarton
Registered User
 
tristancarton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 113
Default Re: 5700 or 9100

anzak,
good call. much faster than the 5700le or 9100. in addition this provides huge benefits later on down the road. (agp cards will still be produced for a while)
__________________
Primary: dfi ut250gb / a64 mobile 3400 62w clawhammer / 3x512mb pdp xbl tccd / WD 120Gb 7200 8Mb x2, RAID0 / 250Gb WD 7200 8Mb external / Sound Blaster 2 ZS Plat. / HDTV Wonder / Pioneer dvr105 / Pioneer dvd115 / Visiontek x800xt / Mad Dog 500w Surepower (superflower rebadge) with Smart Cables / Logitech z680 / IBM p260 21" FD Trinitron x2 / Windows XP sp2, Legal Version
tristancarton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-04, 07:03 PM   #20
bklevan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 15
Default Re: 5700 or 9100

Supported CPU: Socket 478 Intel Pentium 4 (Prescott)/Celeron Processor
Chipset: i845GV + ICH5
FSB: 400/533MHz
RAM: 2x DIMM for DDR 266/333 Max 2GB
Slots: 1x AGP 8X/4X(ASRock A.G.I. 8X), 3x PCI, 1x AMR(Includes AMR 56k Modem)
IDE: 2x ATA 100 up to 4 Devices
Ports: 2x PS/2, 1x LPT, 1xVGA, 8x USB2.0(Rear 4), 1x RJ45, Audio Ports
Onboard Audio: 5.1-Channel AC97 Codec
Onboard Video: Intel Extreme Graphics
Onboard LAN: 10/100Mbps Ethernet
Form Factor: MicroATX

FSB... does this matter?

i have the dimension 3000, everything else is ok but this FSB im not sure about
bklevan is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-29-04, 07:39 PM   #21
aAv7
 
aAv7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,250
Default Re: 5700 or 9100

I was stuck on a 1.4GHZ system a few years back with only pci slots. I feel your pain. I was playing UT2K3 when it had first come out on a 1600+ AMD and a G2MX200 64MB PCI. I ended up getting the 9100, it was alittle faster, luckily I bought a new 2.66GHZ system with an agp slot in 2003......i've been in your shoes, best thing to do is buy a new mobo with an agp slot. None, and I mean NONE of these pci cards can compare to the stuff on agp. I mean, were moving forward toward pci-e right now, agp is already dating, so sticking it out with a pci slot is rough if you're even a moderate gamer. Get a new mobo and pick up a 9600/9800 Pro.
__________________
[SIZE="1"][B]CPU:[/B] AMD64 3200+ Winchester @ 2.2 [B]RAM:[/B] 2GB Kingston Dual Channel DDR 400 [B]Motherboard:[/B] Gigabyte K8 Triton nForce4 [B]VideoCard:[/B] eVGA GeForce 7800GTX 512MB [B]Hard Drive:[/B] WD 250GB Sata [B]OS:[/B] Dual boot, Windows XP Home/Windows Professional x64 Edition Retail[B] Audio:[/B] X-Fi Xtreme Music [B]Mouse:[/B] Logitech MX 310 [B]PSU:[/B] 500W Ultra Connect (34A on the 12V+)[/SIZE]

[SIZE="1"][B]Xbox 360:[/B] w/ Intercooler @ 1280x1024 , Dynasty Warriors 5, Fight Night Round 3, Kameo, NBA 2K6, Perfect Dark Zero CE, and PGR 3[SIZE="1"][/SIZE][/SIZE]
aAv7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-04, 01:47 PM   #22
bklevan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 15
Default Re: 5700 or 9100

anzak, i have one question... the motherboard that you suggested... will that fit into my dimension 3000?
bklevan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-04, 03:36 PM   #23
tiangha
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 25
Default Re: 5700 or 9100

I'd be more concerned about the fact that Dell uses proprietary Power Supplies and what not (so certain wires in the power connectors to the motherboard may be crossed) which means that a standard ATX motherboard might not work with a Dell power supply (the power supply might break the motherboard).

Would a Radeon 9200 PCI work better in this case? Would it be faster than the 9100 or the FX5700?
tiangha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-04, 05:47 PM   #24
XanderF
Registered User
 
XanderF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Buried 40ft below the Lunar surface, near the crater Tycho
Posts: 256
Send a message via Yahoo to XanderF
Default Re: 5700 or 9100

No, the 9200 is much, MUCH slower than the 9100.

And yes, the new mobo to get AGP slots is a better idea, but since it's a Dell, you'll need a new case and PSU, as well. Hopefully your old CPU and HSF for it will work in the new motherboard. Oh, and the memory.
__________________
Real Games.....Are Paper!
XanderF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.