Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-27-04, 12:39 PM   #1
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Post Playing older games under Windows XP SP2

I was just wondering if anybody has found a way around to get old games installed with sp2 installes like Quake 1,2 and Sin and Half Life1 and other old games.When I try to install them it just say that it is a 16bit game and it a sercurity problem but they worked fine with Sp1,but I liked the sercurity in sp2,but it is unacepeptable if I can't install all my games.But I have a good ativirus and Firewall and run spyware programs so I guess I don't need Sp2 but I hate that Microsoft put out a servise pack and it has so much sercurity that it want even let you install a old 16bit game,it should let you have the option to install them.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-04, 12:41 PM   #2
wshadow
Mac Tech by day...PC:)
 
wshadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chino,Ca
Posts: 366
Default Re: Playing Old Games with Windows XP SP2

thats ghey of microsoft
__________________
p4 3.0 with 8ik1100, 1gig corsair 433 xms,6600 GT,enermax 460w, Silverstone lc03 black, logitech z-680, Samsung 910t, audigy 2,liteon external 8dvdrw,WD SATA 120gb, 36g raptor,DVD Xpress,nostromo n52,mx1000 . all powered by your mom!!!


The only state Palestine is, is a state of Terrorism.

United under GOD! If you arent under GOD, then dont call yourself American. Allah isnt GOD.
wshadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-04, 12:48 PM   #3
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Playing Old Games with Windows XP SP2

I've played Quake I and II and am playing HL1 right now, all on XP SP2 with no problems at all.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-04, 12:49 PM   #4
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Playing Old Games with Windows XP SP2

Sounds like your security settings are too strict. I dont really know where you would change them, but thats my guess.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-04, 01:05 PM   #5
majortom
Done
 
majortom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: the evil empire
Posts: 328
Send a message via AIM to majortom
Default Re: Playing Old Games with Windows XP SP2

if you are using windows firewall, maybe thats the problem. it didnt let me do anything until i turned it off and used zonealarm
__________________
- oh man, the water effects in source look amazing!
- really?
- yeah, i tried to touch it, and my hand got wet
- cool!
- oh wait, never mind. i just peed on myself


---------------------------------------------------------
Mein Comp!:
MSI 6380 kt266| XP 1700+| 512M PC3200 @ 266mhz | 80 gig | MSI radeon 9800 pro 128m (r360 core)| nec 2500a 8x single layer burn (dl hack)| thermaltake silentpower 420W PSU| POS generic case| Grado SR 60 headphones
majortom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-04, 01:17 PM   #6
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: Playing Old Games with Windows XP SP2

I played Quake 2 just a couple of days ago, and I can play TIE Fighter 95 no problem (with the recent windows xp joystick patch). I've been able to play other old games without trouble too. Check your settings, I guess, though I don't remember doing anything to get my stuff running.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-04, 04:28 PM   #7
Subtestube
Anisymbolic
 
Subtestube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 1,365
Default Re: Playing Old Games with Windows XP SP2

Weird... I've been running SP2 pretty much since it came out, and I have no issues with Quake or Quake II. Does it ask you when you start these games if you want to unblock their features or something?
Meh... I dunno what's wrong. I run the Windows Firewall as well... no hassles there.
__________________
Dr Possible: Core 2 Duo E6400 on Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4. Galaxy GeForce 7600GT. 2GB Corsair XMS 2 DDR2-6400 RAM (CL5). ATi Theatre 550 Pro. Windows XP MCE. All stored in Piano black Antec Sonata II, with a broken door.

Mobile: ASUS M2400N, Pentium M 1.5 GHz. 512 MB DDR RAM. Intel EXTREME graphics. Windows XP SP 2 / Ubuntu 5.10.

Ridiculous DOES not have an 'e' in it. It comes from "ridicule" and has less than nothing to do with the colour red.
Subtestube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-04, 06:06 PM   #8
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: Playing older games under Windows XP SP2

Possible fixes.

1) http://www.jsiinc.com/SUBK/tip5000/rh5099.htm

2) Start a registry editor (e.g., regedit.exe).
Navigate to the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Session Manager\AppCompatibility\NTVDM.EXE subkey, then press Delete.
Click Yes to the confirmation.
Restart the computer.
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) · Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 · eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi · Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T · eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi · Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe · Western Digital Caviar SE ½TB RAID 0/1 · PowerLink LPK2-30 400W · LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVD±R/RW/ROM · MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive · Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD · Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB · Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads · Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard · Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter · nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) · ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-29-04, 08:11 PM   #9
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default Re: Playing older games under Windows XP SP2

I used the Disk of SP2 that I ordered from microsoft and when I load a old game it just says it is a 16bit applacation and could cause a sucurity risk and would not load,it has a ignore button to push but even if you push it it still will not load the game,I did turn off the firewall and ativirus and turning the security features down but one of them would not let me turn it down and it still would'nt load I tried the compatibility button to run as a win 95 game but that did nothing I will give some of the options mention here a try later but I just got though down loading SP1 and have no problems now.But that wired no body else seems to have this problem like I do after installing SP2.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-04, 12:23 AM   #10
Saintster
Registered User
 
Saintster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 784
Default Re: Playing older games under Windows XP SP2

I just tried to load Chaser up and i got a mathematical 64 bit warning. i had to uninstall sp2 install chaser and reinstall sp 2..then chaser played fine!
Saintster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
NVIDIA Brings 18 Years of Experience to Windows 8 News Archived News Items 0 06-03-12 06:20 AM
Sync it up: Hands on with the preview of Windows 8's cloud sync service News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 08:30 PM
Max Payne 3 'will not use Games for Windows Live' say Rockstar News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 06:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.