Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-29-04, 10:44 AM   #49
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: Something that concerns me about the "internet registration" of HL2...

Yeah I was kinda wondering too.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-04, 11:09 AM   #50
karkrash81
Do you like dags?
 
karkrash81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 742
Send a message via AIM to karkrash81
Default Re: Something that concerns me about the "internet registration" of HL2...

yes please clarify sir....
__________________
My System: Athlon 64 x2 3800+ overclocked to 4600+/2 GB Geil PC3200/8800 GTS 320 mb/Asus A8N SLI Premium motherboard/Logitech z-680's/Total of 760 GB of Hard Drive Space (2x300 + 1x160)/audigy 2/Two 20.1" Widescreen LCD's (Dell 2005fpw)
Favorite movie: Snatch/Favorite Game: NOLF/Song of the Week: "You Know I'm No Good" by Amy Winehouse/
What I'm Playing this Week: Nothing!
karkrash81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-04, 12:17 PM   #51
theultimo
DoD + Sharepoint=Headache
 
theultimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Iraq
Posts: 667
Default Re: Something that concerns me about the "internet registration" of HL2...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riptide
What happened w/UT2004?
Cant use Dameon tools with it, cuz Safedisc screws you.
__________________
MAIN MACHINE: Macbook Pro Currently being used in Clamshell Mode | Core Duo 2.16 | 2GB DDR-2 667 | Mobility Radeon X1600 256MB (Underclocked version) | Windows Vista/OS X | 19' Viewsonic 1912wb
UMPC: Samsung Q1 | 512MB DDR-2 | 40GB | Xp Tablet PC 2005 | Intel GMA 900
XBOX Live Gamertag: theultimos
theultimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-04, 01:04 PM   #52
Fatman
Registered User
 
Fatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 387
Send a message via ICQ to Fatman Send a message via AIM to Fatman
Default Re: Something that concerns me about the "internet registration" of HL2...

UT2004 shipped with some new version of SafeDisc which would not run if you had virtual drives installed. Not to mention compatibility problems people were having, basically some drives refuse to read those SafeDisc CDs. I experienced a similar problem with Doom 3. Installer would spit out a missing file error. The file was there, both drives were refusing to read it off the retail CD. I had to make an image, burn that image to a cd, and finish the install off a cloned CD. That was my first run in with SafeDisc btw, never had any problems before, or since.
__________________
Desktop: P4 3.4EE - 1GB Kingston HyperX - Asus P4C800-E Delux - PNY 6800 Ultra - Audigy 2 ZS - 2 WD 120GB SE
- 8x Pioneer A07 DVD Combo Burner - 16x Samsung DVD Reader - Antec 480W - Antec P160 Case - ViewSonic VP201s

Mobile Rig: Inspiron 8600 - Pentium M 2.0GHz - 1GB PC2700 - ATI Radeom Mobility 9600 128MB - Hitachi 60GB 7200RPM HDD
- 8X CD-RW/DVD-ROM Drive - 15.4" WXGA Wide Display
Fatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-04, 01:12 PM   #53
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: Something that concerns me about the "internet registration" of HL2...

That's really weird, especially since it doesn't require a CD to run. Or did it? I got it over the summer, so maybe I missed all this?

I've had problems with SafeDisc and Call of Duty 1.4, I had to get the GotY patch (which is actually just an official no-cd crack) to get it to run, but only when I had Daemon Tools installed.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-04, 01:22 PM   #54
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: Something that concerns me about the "internet registration" of HL2...

If you use the latest patch it doesn't require the disc to be in the drive.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-04, 01:23 PM   #55
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: Something that concerns me about the "internet registration" of HL2...

Ahh. Tricky bastards.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-04, 01:56 PM   #56
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Something that concerns me about the "internet registration" of HL2...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninjaman09
Ahh. Tricky bastards.
You can thank Epic and Company for that. They hate copy protection would have just as assumed not have the finished product ship with it. But it wasn't their choice, only when they released the patch. They did the same thing with UT2003 and the original UT. Good on 'em I say.

UT2004 uses SecuROM protection, not Safedisc. In addition to the problems with virtual CD drives, in many cases, the install disc could simply not be read at all by the drive.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-29-04, 02:19 PM   #57
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: Something that concerns me about the "internet registration" of HL2...

Yeah, it really sucks how publishers force devs to put copy protection on their games. If only there were a way for developers to circumvent the publishers and deliver their games directly to end users...oh, wait...
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-04, 03:20 PM   #58
Fatman
Registered User
 
Fatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 387
Send a message via ICQ to Fatman Send a message via AIM to Fatman
Default Re: Something that concerns me about the "internet registration" of HL2...

lol, good one Ninja. Very subtle hint
__________________
Desktop: P4 3.4EE - 1GB Kingston HyperX - Asus P4C800-E Delux - PNY 6800 Ultra - Audigy 2 ZS - 2 WD 120GB SE
- 8x Pioneer A07 DVD Combo Burner - 16x Samsung DVD Reader - Antec 480W - Antec P160 Case - ViewSonic VP201s

Mobile Rig: Inspiron 8600 - Pentium M 2.0GHz - 1GB PC2700 - ATI Radeom Mobility 9600 128MB - Hitachi 60GB 7200RPM HDD
- 8X CD-RW/DVD-ROM Drive - 15.4" WXGA Wide Display
Fatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-04, 04:07 PM   #59
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: Something that concerns me about the "internet registration" of HL2...

The master server is all the copy protection UT2004 needs anyway. Ever try to use a keygen and join a server? Some of you probably not but lemme tell you - it won't work.

And yes, I paid for both my copies of UT2003 (won my copy of UT2004 here).
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-04, 07:06 PM   #60
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Something that concerns me about the "internet registration" of HL2...

Back to Half Life 2, though...

Another way that this activation will hurts us...well, some of us...is the fact that I go to a very lame school. CNU has the worst internet ever. We have ports open for AIM, Windows Update, and the web...thats about it. No games over IP, no Lan, no Mirc even without some fanagling. Steam? Ha...doesn't work. And since our phones here are over IP as well, I can't even dial up to activate. If Valve doesn't offer phone activation, then I'm screwed (there goes 80 bucks...).

There were lots of CS fans here last year, hundreds and hundreds played(this is before the crippling...), so I know there is a market here. I'm just praying that there is a viable phone activation.

Does anyone else have a similar problem at thier school?
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.