Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-01-04, 12:44 PM   #1
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Question Half-Life 2... Arcade Game??!!

http://www.watch.impress.co.jp/game/...041101/hl2.htm

Quote:
TAITO corp. will release Half-Life 2 for arcade video in the summer of 2005. The selling price or the playing fee is not yet determined. Half-Life 2 is the latest product of Valve's Half-Life series for Windows FPS game. This Windows game will be released on 17 Nov. in Japan (by CyberFront corp), and on 16 Nov. in Western countries. Although the game isn't released yet, many people are attracted by its amazing visual quality. TAITO will develop this arcade video game on their original board 'Type X.' The arcade video game board 'Type X' uses Windows XP Embedded, which can apply development kits for Windows.

Based on original HL2, it will be customized to have three game modes: 'Story mode' - original singleplay mode, 'Batlle mode' - multiplayer realtime match that players can join from all over the country, and 'Mission mode' - multiplayer mission co-op battle. Communication system will be 'TATIO NESYS(Net-Entry-SYStem),' which have been running such as Battle Gear 3 and Zoid Infinity. Playing data will be stored on servers so people can play at penny arcade throughout the country.

It is planned the chassis is going to have a ****pit-style sheet, a wide-screen and 5.1ch surround which is giving a presence unique to arcade. The type of a playing controller isn't determined yet.

Starting in Japan, the company consider unfolding to the whole world as Half-Life 2 has a high worldwide attention.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-04, 12:47 PM   #2
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: Half-Life 2... Arcade Game??!!

Heh, at first I thought that you were talking about the little "Codename Gordon" game at steam, but apparently not

I can't really image a HL2 game based in that description, I wonder what it will be like...?
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-04, 01:07 PM   #3
Edge
3d animator for hire!
 
Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,564
Default Re: Half-Life 2... Arcade Game??!!

Well that's an...interesting...idea...though I have no idea why they would pick HL2 as the foundation for an arcade game. Wouldn't UT2004, or CS:S, or Doom 3 have been better picks? Odd that they'd do this in Japan, over there FPS games are about as popular as dating simulators are over here.
Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-04, 01:10 PM   #4
steamedrice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 24
Default Re: Half-Life 2... Arcade Game??!!

bleh arcades are dying out and hl2 ain't going to help it. The only games I see people playing at the arcades are daytona, DDR, tekken, or mvc2
steamedrice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-04, 01:12 PM   #5
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Half-Life 2... Arcade Game??!!

Me remembers back to arcades and Mortal Kombat 1...

ahhhh.. the memories
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-04, 01:56 PM   #6
Edge
3d animator for hire!
 
Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,564
Default Re: Half-Life 2... Arcade Game??!!

Dayyyytoooonaaaaaa, lets go away, lets go away, Dayyyyyyyyytoooooooonaaaaaaaaaaaaaa...

Sorry, supressed memories are coming back...
Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-04, 11:55 PM   #7
Bad_Boy
god of war.
 
Bad_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: greensboro, nc.
Posts: 2,912
Send a message via AIM to Bad_Boy
Default Re: Half-Life 2... Arcade Game??!!

acade machine with a mouse and keyboard...rofl
__________________
[PS ID: Bad_Boy]
Bad_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-04, 12:02 AM   #8
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,795
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default Re: Half-Life 2... Arcade Game??!!

Daytona Rocked and Killer Instinct...but long before that!!

Top Gun!! werhey!! Outrunner!!! even street Fighter!

Fighter 1942 etc

them be great games
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-04, 01:16 AM   #9
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Half-Life 2... Arcade Game??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
Me remembers back to arcades and Mortal Kombat 1...

ahhhh.. the memories
Yes, good times

I remember going in there and blowing a dollar just to play the game once. I remember going home and telling my brother how amazing this game looked. I did horrible when i played it (too many buttons!) but it sure looked amazing back then

It sure was great when I finally got it for SNES. That was a cool game, although I dont think I ever really did any of the special moves. I prefered just tripping them to death and breezing through the game that way.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-04, 03:46 AM   #10
theultimo
DoD + Sharepoint=Headache
 
theultimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Iraq
Posts: 667
Default Re: Half-Life 2... Arcade Game??!!

And the main reason i have a MAME arcade box w/cabinet is to play those old, supressed, memories

BTW, Daytona USA is playable, but not great yet
__________________
MAIN MACHINE: Macbook Pro Currently being used in Clamshell Mode | Core Duo 2.16 | 2GB DDR-2 667 | Mobility Radeon X1600 256MB (Underclocked version) | Windows Vista/OS X | 19' Viewsonic 1912wb
UMPC: Samsung Q1 | 512MB DDR-2 | 40GB | Xp Tablet PC 2005 | Intel GMA 900
XBOX Live Gamertag: theultimos
theultimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-04, 01:19 PM   #11
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default Re: Half-Life 2... Arcade Game??!!

if i recall, Doom was in an arcade box at one time : ) very rare however.
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-04, 01:21 PM   #12
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Half-Life 2... Arcade Game??!!

I remember seeing quake at the arcades. You used a roller to control the character.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Legit Half Life 3 concept arts leaked AthlonXP1800 Gaming Central 5 06-29-12 04:27 AM
(Kotaku) Do We Really Need Video Game Consoles Anymore? [Speak Up On Kotaku] News Archived News Items 1 06-16-12 12:35 PM
Saturday Crapshoot: Quest For Glory 4 1/2 News Gaming Headlines 0 06-09-12 12:10 PM
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 06:30 AM
Saturday Crapshoot: Star Trek: The Next Generation News Archived News Items 0 05-12-12 01:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.