Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-04-04, 02:26 AM   #1
RealLifePixelShader
 
RealLifePixelShader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: South Africa
Posts: 412
Send a message via MSN to RealLifePixelShader
Default Super Fast Slowmo Doom3

Last night I entered the com_fixedtic 1 command in doom 3 amazingly the fps went up to 100 which is ballistic the game runs super fast, there is on thing I noticed the FPS never goes below 40 and goes up to 100+.

When you walk in a room the games play is almost in slow mo while still avg 45+ FPS when you get near a wall it goes up to 100FPS and accelarates you can hear you footsteps go tick,,, tick,,, tick and the mosters are in slowmo and then when you get to the wall the footspets speeds up to a ticktickticktick and 100fps and when you turn around it goes into slowmo with 40fps with smooth graphics JUST IN SLOWMO

So Whats up with the slow mo
__________________
3Ghz Intel Prescott
1Gb Transend DDR400 Dual Channel Memory
Gigabyte 8ik1100 Motherboard
2 x 80 Gb Seagate 8Mb Cache SATA in RAID 0
Leadtek 6800 GT
19" LG F900B FLATRON
XP PRO SP2
__________________
[B][LIST][*]Intel 630 Pentium4 3GHz Processor LGA775 2MB L2 EM64T Hyper-Threading[*]1Gb DDR2 667 Dual Channel Memory[*]Intel Sorento 945G Pentium4 Motherboard[*]2 x 80Gb Seagate 8Mb Cache SATA Hard Drives RAID 0[*]Gigabyte 7800 GTX 265MB[*]19" LG F900B FLATRON [*]Windows Vista 64 Bit[*]Cooler Master Stacker Case[*]2 x 450 Watt Power Supplies[*]Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS [*]Creative Inspire T7700 7.1 Speaker System[*]Wireless Microsoft Keyboard and Mouse With Fingerprint Reader[/LIST][/B]
[URL=http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=10813]/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\[/URL]

Someone once said "[B][COLOR=Indigo]I believe in Fairies I see one everyday![/COLOR][/B]"
RealLifePixelShader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-04, 08:50 AM   #2
BioHazZarD
USCM Marine
 
BioHazZarD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,369
Send a message via MSN to BioHazZarD
Default Re: Super Fast Slowmo Doom3

game is capped at 60fps. anything higher the engine cant handle since its not coded for higher fps then 60.
__________________
Chieftec Miditower /w 5 case fans | Corsair 620W HX PSU | Asus M4N98TD EVO SLI | AMD Athlon2 X2 260 3,2GHz | Corsair 3GB PC3-10666 | eVGA Geforce GTX 460 1GB (336shader) | Samsung Spinpoint x2 250GB HD +SATA 320GB | SB Audigy 4 @ 2.1 | Samsung Syncmaster BX2331 TFT 23" running 1920x1080@60hz | Windows XP PRO SP2 | |
BioHazZarD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-04, 06:29 AM   #3
Darkoz
lurking
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 677
Default Re: Super Fast Slowmo Doom3

Quote:
Originally Posted by BioHazZarD
game is capped at 60fps. anything higher the engine cant handle since its not coded for higher fps then 60.
Actually that's not the case.
The game will run fine removing the fps cap, as long as you use the correct command, which is.......
com_fixedtic -1

The value needs to be 'minus 1', not just one '1'
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-04, 07:22 AM   #4
BioHazZarD
USCM Marine
 
BioHazZarD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,369
Send a message via MSN to BioHazZarD
Default Re: Super Fast Slowmo Doom3

so why did carmack say that game wont run higher then 60fps ? he of all people should know he written the whole engine.

but i will try that.
__________________
Chieftec Miditower /w 5 case fans | Corsair 620W HX PSU | Asus M4N98TD EVO SLI | AMD Athlon2 X2 260 3,2GHz | Corsair 3GB PC3-10666 | eVGA Geforce GTX 460 1GB (336shader) | Samsung Spinpoint x2 250GB HD +SATA 320GB | SB Audigy 4 @ 2.1 | Samsung Syncmaster BX2331 TFT 23" running 1920x1080@60hz | Windows XP PRO SP2 | |
BioHazZarD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-04, 09:50 AM   #5
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: Super Fast Slowmo Doom3

Quote:
Originally Posted by BioHazZarD
so why did carmack say that game wont run higher then 60fps ?
probably because there is a 60 fps cap

"The 60 frames per second cap is overridden during a timedemo benchmark and can also be overridden during gameplay by entering com_fixedtic -1 in the console. Note that com_fixedtick can also be set to 1, which causes player movement to increase and decrease proportionally with the change in frame rate. For example, when the frame rate is 180 frames per second, the player moves at three times the rate than he would have at 60 frames per second."

http://www.nvnews.net/tweaks/doom3/index.shtml
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) · Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 · eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi · Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T · eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi · Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe · Western Digital Caviar SE ˝TB RAID 0/1 · PowerLink LPK2-30 400W · LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVD±R/RW/ROM · MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive · Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD · Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB · Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads · Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard · Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter · nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) · ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-04, 02:04 PM   #6
mattkenn_4545
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 195
Default Re: Super Fast Slowmo Doom3

btw rewt i call issue with the 3dmark scores you have posted. almost 14,000 on an fx. I call bs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
Gigabyte K8NS Ultra-939
Althlon 64 'Venice' 3200+ at 2.5GHz
OCZ EL DDR PC-4000 Gold VX (2x 512MB) at DDR500 2-2-2-8/1T 1:1 3.6 volts
OCZ DDR Booster
eVGA G-Force 6800GT 400/1200
Antec Truepower 2.0 with Truecontrol 550W
Western Digital Caviar SE's (2x 250GB & 300GB)
Seagate 7200rpm (2x 160 raid 0)
Lite-On SOHW-1673S Duel Layer DVD burner
Samsung 990DF 19' CRT Monitor
Microsoft Wireless Elite Keyboard & Mouse
Haven't even tried to OC this yet this is just the beginning
mattkenn_4545 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-04, 10:00 PM   #7
aaahhh52
gahboo?
 
aaahhh52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to aaahhh52
Default Re: Super Fast Slowmo Doom3

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattkenn_4545
btw rewt i call issue with the 3dmark scores you have posted. almost 14,000 on an fx. I call bs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
um....thats perfectly normal for a 5900fx....?
__________________
SPECS <-- mobo = fried R.I.P

New Pc:
Gigabye k8n-SLI NF4
AMD x2 4600+
Evga 7900gs 256mb
1gb pc 3200
160gb SATA II
aaahhh52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-04, 10:08 PM   #8
mattkenn_4545
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 195
Default Re: Super Fast Slowmo Doom3

oops sorry thought that it was 03 then 04 scores
__________________
Gigabyte K8NS Ultra-939
Althlon 64 'Venice' 3200+ at 2.5GHz
OCZ EL DDR PC-4000 Gold VX (2x 512MB) at DDR500 2-2-2-8/1T 1:1 3.6 volts
OCZ DDR Booster
eVGA G-Force 6800GT 400/1200
Antec Truepower 2.0 with Truecontrol 550W
Western Digital Caviar SE's (2x 250GB & 300GB)
Seagate 7200rpm (2x 160 raid 0)
Lite-On SOHW-1673S Duel Layer DVD burner
Samsung 990DF 19' CRT Monitor
Microsoft Wireless Elite Keyboard & Mouse
Haven't even tried to OC this yet this is just the beginning
mattkenn_4545 is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Now Available - LEGO® Batman 2 DC Super Heroes� News Archived News Items 0 06-23-12 01:00 AM
OSC's Oakley Super is Tops in Efficiency News Archived News Items 0 06-03-12 05:10 PM
Yellowstone Super First to Crunch Local Climate Models News Archived News Items 0 05-30-12 03:40 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.