Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-06-04, 05:24 PM   #1
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Increasing FPS AND Resolution

I noticed this in Doom III. That my 1280x960 FPS was lower than my FPS at 1600x1200. Well, the other night I was messing around with Lineage II at 1280x960 4xAA/16xAF, like I usually play. I was a little miffed when one scene was dropping me to 29FPS, particularly since I switched to AMD just for the gaming. So I drop my res to 1024x768 to see what the difference would be. I gain 6 FPS or go to 35FPS. Without changing the angle of the scene I decide to try 1600x1200 to see how 'bad' it would be. Boom, 47FPS, or a gain of 18FPS over my 1280x960 rate. I did not pan or change settings in anyway, just left the camera still and changed res.

I am posting this to suggest others that aren't getting what FPS they might expect in a game to experiment and try 1600x1200. For whatever the reason in some games this setting does extremely well on my current set up. Of course this will not always hold true, and its worth investigating if you can score both better res and fps at once. I want to say I remember someone saying something along the lines of better channel separation being the reason. However it's been awhile since I remember hearing the explanation.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64

Last edited by Blacklash; 11-07-04 at 12:31 AM.
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-04, 05:32 PM   #2
MustangSVT
Stop looking at me
 
MustangSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,602
Default Re: Increasing FPS AND Resolution

What you're implying sounds very ridiculous and it was probably a unique case for you. Games don't get better performance by increasing resolution, they get lower performance. It's pretty much physically/theoretically/etc. impossible to get better fps at higher res. My fps goes down every time I go up a notch in resolution.
MustangSVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-04, 05:32 PM   #3
cam9786
 
cam9786's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Right Behind You...
Posts: 368
Default Re: Increasing FPS AND Resolution

Has happened to me before. I wondered why, though...
__________________
[B][SIZE=1]System Specs:
Custom Built All Grey Case with air-intake slides at the side. 4 Drive Bays
[B]AMD Athlon XP 3200+ "Barton" Core @ 2.22GHz, 400MHz Front Side Bus[/B]
[B]BFG GeForce 6800GT OC @ 400/1.10 GHz[/B]
40GB Maxtor Hard Drive 7200RPM
17'' Flat-Screen Silver Monitor -KDS Visual Sensations
[B]ASUS A7N8X Motherboard nForce2 Ultra Chipset 400FSB Dual Channel[/B]
[B]Crucial 1024 MB PC3200 DDR 400 RAM[/B]
nForce2 Audio Controller
Labtec Desktop Speakers & Subwoofer
ASUS CD-RW 52x24x52 Burner
Large AMD Athlon XP Fan
Large Air Case Fan
Antec True430 430 Watt Power Supply - 20A on 12V line[/SIZE][/B]
[B]3dMark03 -[/B] [URL=http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=2811011]http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=2811011[/URL]

[I][B]Kamel on Kids and Doom 3 -[/B] [/I]

[I]i don't know about you guys, but i'd like to teach my kid that if a demon breaks into our house, you should shoot the bastard... multiple times, until he decinegrates (just to make sure).[/I]

I am 73% addicted to Counterstrike. [url=http://seanism.com/addiction/cs.php]What about you?[/url]
cam9786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-04, 05:37 PM   #4
ynnek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,364
Default Re: Increasing FPS AND Resolution

You're just staring at a wall. Run a benchmark of actual game play..
ynnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-04, 05:45 PM   #5
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Increasing FPS AND Resolution

I had FRAPS up during a normal gaming session and was hunting outdoors. When I noticed FPS steady at 29 in one area, I kept the camera fixed and went up and down resolutions. HardOcp and other have reported Doom III running best at 1600x1200 over 1280x960(1024).

I have no reason to post disinformation for jollies, this happened to me while playing Lineage II with only adjusting resolution while measuring FPS with FRAPS. In general it is true that 1600x1200 will not run as well as 1024x768. There are quite a few games however where 1600x1200 is better than 1280x960(1024) for whatever the reason. Doom III and now Lineage II being prime examples on my rig.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-04, 05:55 PM   #6
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Increasing FPS AND Resolution

Were you using AA ? because 1280x1024,4xAA < 1600x1200,2xAA .

thats the trend in some games .. Doom3 at least .
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-04, 06:55 PM   #7
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Increasing FPS AND Resolution

I am sorry these shots are dark. I am not going to stand around and wait for day to hit. This is roughly the same area. Again I stood in one place and changed resolution in the game through the options button. Nothing else has been adjusted. Shots were compressed some so imageshack would host them, they have a size limit. In order left to right, 44, 29, 36 FPS.



EDIT: here are more


1024x768 is better here, 1280x960 is still a$$, and 1600x1200 is clearly better than it in FPS. Done the same way as the others, just changing res in one spot. Left to right 52, 24, 60 FPS.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64

Last edited by Blacklash; 11-06-04 at 07:26 PM.
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-04, 07:03 PM   #8
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Increasing FPS AND Resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
Were you using AA ? because 1280x1024,4xAA < 1600x1200,2xAA .

thats the trend in some games .. Doom3 at least .
In Doom I used high quality driver settings and Ultra Quality game settings, which applies 8xAF. I never bothered with AA in Doom III at any resolution. In Lineage II I was using 4xAA/16xAF from the driver control panel at every resolution.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-06-04, 08:03 PM   #9
PikachuMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 255
Default Re: Increasing FPS AND Resolution

Is Vertical Synchronization off?
PikachuMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-04, 08:14 PM   #10
fivefeet8
Ngemu Mod
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 1,886
Default Re: Increasing FPS AND Resolution

Might be driver related.
__________________
[i7 2600k @4.4ghertz][2x4 GB DDR3 1600][EVGA GTX570 1.280GB SC][EVGA GTX460 physx][Asrock Extreme7 Gen3 Z68][2xSeagate 160 Gb SATA HD raid0][Seagate 250 GB SATA2 HD][Sony Bravia 40' 1080p LCD HDTV][NEC 3520a DVD+-DLw][Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Rosewill 1000w]
fivefeet8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-04, 08:30 PM   #11
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Increasing FPS AND Resolution

Actually I noticed this in EQ 2 as well. 1280x960 is slower than 1280x1024. I havent been able to explain it. I think it only occurred in EQ 2 though as I havent done any tests with it.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-04, 12:18 AM   #12
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Increasing FPS AND Resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by PikachuMan
Is Vertical Synchronization off?
Vsync is always off when I game. I defeat it through the driver panel. I suspect it is something application specific going on here. Lineage II is atypical as is Doom III. I did not intend to suggest that 1600x1200 is the faster resolution across the board, or that people ought to run it exclusively, rather that there are some games out there where 1600x1200 seems to do better than 1280x960(1024), for whatever the reason, and experimenting might be worth your time on a game by game basis.

Certainly in most games and cases the lowest res is always faster than the highest at the same quality settings. I was simply shocked when I switched my res on a lark from 1280x960 to 1600x1200 and saw my FPS jump up. Sorry if I created a stir it was not intended.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Former Nvidia user: 9700 impressions nin_fragile14 Other Desktop Graphics Cards 58 11-01-02 01:38 PM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM
High resolution versus antialiasing JemyM NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 43 10-06-02 03:28 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.