Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-10-04, 12:11 PM   #1
EmoAddict15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Talking 5200 Pipelines

Is there a way to unlock the pipelines via soldering or bios/driver hacks?

Thanks a lot
EmoAddict15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-04, 12:15 PM   #2
zoomy942
 
zoomy942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bellevue, ID
Posts: 5,338
Send a message via AIM to zoomy942 Send a message via MSN to zoomy942
Default Re: 5200 Pipelines

the 5200 is made with the nv34 chip. as far as i know, its not a moddable chip. but i could be wrong.
zoomy942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-04, 02:18 PM   #3
theultimo
DoD + Sharepoint=Headache
 
theultimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Iraq
Posts: 667
Default Re: 5200 Pipelines

pipelines are locked?

i thought it was a 4x2 arch?
__________________
MAIN MACHINE: Macbook Pro Currently being used in Clamshell Mode | Core Duo 2.16 | 2GB DDR-2 667 | Mobility Radeon X1600 256MB (Underclocked version) | Windows Vista/OS X | 19' Viewsonic 1912wb
UMPC: Samsung Q1 | 512MB DDR-2 | 40GB | Xp Tablet PC 2005 | Intel GMA 900
XBOX Live Gamertag: theultimos
theultimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-04, 03:04 PM   #4
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: 5200 Pipelines

2x2 card actually.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-04, 03:47 PM   #5
msxyz
Hybrid Microprocessor
 
msxyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Milan (Italy)
Posts: 2,050
Default Re: 5200 Pipelines

4x1 in synthetic tests, though

The 5200 is a low end variant of the NV3x family realized with the older 0.15u process. NVidia engineers ripped off the NV30 core the second TMUs as well as half of the shaders ALUs. It also has only one vertex processing unit.
__________________
Powered by:
Pentium Dual E2180 (2GHz, 200MHz FSB)
Abit L95C (The one and only mATX with dual PCIe slots!) + 2x1 Geil Black Dragon PC6400
XFX 9600GSO 384MB
Little freak wonder
msxyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-04, 08:25 PM   #6
EmoAddict15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Default Re: 5200 Pipelines

basically what you're saying is there's not much I can do except mad fast it? (oc) lol
EmoAddict15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-04, 09:13 PM   #7
Pantherman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Florida
Posts: 253
Default Re: 5200 Pipelines

The GeForce FX 5200 was never intended as a gamers' card. It's just a basic video card for OEMs. You may be able to play older games on it, but forget playing any newer games like Far Cry or Doom III.
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+ @ 2.0GHz "Clawhammer"
ASUS K8V motherboard
PNY GeForce 6800 16p/6v @350/760
Samsung 1024MB PC-3200 DDR RAM
Samsung 160GB HDD 7200 RPM
HP 400c 8X DVD-RW writer
ASUS CD-S480 16X CD-ROM
Boston Acoustics BA-735 speakers
Mitsubishi 22-inch DiamondPro 2070 SB
Pantherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-04, 11:10 PM   #8
Daneel Olivaw
Northwood hugger
 
Daneel Olivaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,244
Default Re: 5200 Pipelines

nothin do to with that card, nuff said.
Even a 5700LE has more respect. And a ti4200 lots more.
__________________
-Intel Core2 Duo 4300 (3.0GHz) | Asus P5N-E SLI | 6GB Corsair CVS PC2-5300 | GF8800GT 512MB | Western Digital 1TB Raid0 | Antec SLK2600AMB | Antec Earthwatts 500W
-Intel Pentium4 2.4C (3.4GHz) | Asus P4P800 Dlx | 2GB Crucial Rendition PC-3200 | GF6800LE 128MB | Seagate 200GB | Antec Overture II | Antec TruePower 2.0 480W


Mild agnosticism —the view that the existence or nonexistence of God or gods is currently unknown but is not necessarily unknowable, therefore one will withhold judgment until/if more evidence is available. A weak agnostic would say "I don't know, but maybe you do."
Daneel Olivaw is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-11-04, 01:01 AM   #9
msxyz
Hybrid Microprocessor
 
msxyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Milan (Italy)
Posts: 2,050
Default Re: 5200 Pipelines

The 5200 would have been an excellent GeForce4MX The performance with Dx6/7/8 games is not bad, aligned with a NV17 and much better with antialiasing enabled.

But as a PS 2.0 card is completely useless... As I pointed out in this thread http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=40192 running Doom 3 with the NV20 path (which requires multiple passess) is much faster than using the ARB2 path
__________________
Powered by:
Pentium Dual E2180 (2GHz, 200MHz FSB)
Abit L95C (The one and only mATX with dual PCIe slots!) + 2x1 Geil Black Dragon PC6400
XFX 9600GSO 384MB
Little freak wonder
msxyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gnome3 with composite is very slow on Geforce FX 5200 with 173.14.31 driver Artox NVIDIA Linux 0 05-26-12 10:33 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.