Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > MMORPGs

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-13-04, 01:16 AM   #25
Sgt_Pitt
Registered User
 
Sgt_Pitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 820
Default Re: EQ2 - Driver-Settings-Performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghosthunter
Check out this guide here:

http://eqiiforums.station.sony.com/e...essage.id=3265

Very good detailed on how to customize display settings to get great performance without sacrificing quality

For the most part after a full defrag and on 66.93 my system runs very well except in towns I have to turn everything off..but that is to be expected.

Keep in mind this game was designed for systems that are not even out yet to make it more future proof
ARRGH GAWD not that bloody guide again, everytime someone has troubles with EQ2's crappy unoptimized game engine someone throws that guide in your face.

I saw a gamespot video with one of the devs, saying if you own a 6800 you'll be able to have most of the sliders pushed to the right. LMAO what a fat joke, more like all the sliders to the left and still crappy performance with a $500 dollar top of the line vid card "NVIDIAS FLAGSHIP" my ass
__________________
i7 920 640g/b Raid 0 Corsair 64gig SSD Gigabyte EX58-UD3R 3x 27" Eyefinity 2x5870 crossfire Antec true 750w Logitech G15 6 gig kingston ddr3 1033
Windows 7 x64 Web design:http://www.advancedws.com.au:http://www.nobletrading.com.au:http://www.rackingaudits.com.au:http://www.imhandling.com.au
Sgt_Pitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-04, 01:20 AM   #26
Sgt_Pitt
Registered User
 
Sgt_Pitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 820
Default Re: EQ2 - Driver-Settings-Performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by egbtmagus
force AA/AF off, You will get a nice performance boost. I set my CP to High Quality and turn off AA and AF. Ingame I play on Very High Quality with custom settings and once set I never had to touch them, The game runs smooth for me. Poeple who are complaining on performance, either lower your settings or defrag your PC The game can and will run smooth if your PC is kept nice and optimized.

Sorry don't blame the games great engine on your ****ty PC's.

****TY PC'S ???? i get a higher 3dmark 05 score than you, how is my pc **** ?


GIVE US SOME FRAPS SCORES IN FREEPORT ?

I agree with the all knowing chris, more ram may help, alot more ram
__________________
i7 920 640g/b Raid 0 Corsair 64gig SSD Gigabyte EX58-UD3R 3x 27" Eyefinity 2x5870 crossfire Antec true 750w Logitech G15 6 gig kingston ddr3 1033
Windows 7 x64 Web design:http://www.advancedws.com.au:http://www.nobletrading.com.au:http://www.rackingaudits.com.au:http://www.imhandling.com.au
Sgt_Pitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-04, 01:42 AM   #27
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: EQ2 - Driver-Settings-Performance

So you get better scores the me in a Synthetic Benchmark yet my PC preforms better on a more demanding game? Optimize your PC for gaming not for numbers...

Im running around usually between 20-40 FPS in the game... That is GREAT for a MMORPG especially with graphics of this calibur. Go play WoW if you want a useless 60FPS.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-04, 08:34 AM   #28
Sgt_Pitt
Registered User
 
Sgt_Pitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 820
Default Re: EQ2 - Driver-Settings-Performance

yes im running 15-40, however its the minimum that counts, and you cant say that 20 is acceptable on nvidias 2 flagship cards.

object LOD hardly even works in EQ2, there should be really low texutures and geometry for far away objects and nice textures and objects up close, however everything in the distance to be seems clean and sharp which IMO is the cause of the great stress to the 6800

yes i do have crappy ram, but hopefully that will be fixed soon.

look i dont want to argue about it, im just saying many other people are having this problem, i know a decent amount about pc's and i know a monster of a game engine when i see one, yes EQ2 has a monster engine but when nvidias top of the line and the current best card on the market runs it at 15fps ( in certain areas) with most sliders to the left, then what does that tell you ? as i said before i hardly notice any difference from running the game at 16x12 with all settings or 640x480 all settings. theres just not that much the sliders do to increase performance, while maintaning a decent picture.

meh i just wanna run this game at 30-60 fps constantlty, is that too much to ask ?



anyway mate i read one of your old posts here http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=39309

did the problem get sorted out with sm3.0 or do the bugs still need ironing ?
__________________
i7 920 640g/b Raid 0 Corsair 64gig SSD Gigabyte EX58-UD3R 3x 27" Eyefinity 2x5870 crossfire Antec true 750w Logitech G15 6 gig kingston ddr3 1033
Windows 7 x64 Web design:http://www.advancedws.com.au:http://www.nobletrading.com.au:http://www.rackingaudits.com.au:http://www.imhandling.com.au

Last edited by Sgt_Pitt; 11-13-04 at 08:57 AM.
Sgt_Pitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-04, 09:16 AM   #29
Tyr-Sog
goS-ryT
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 931
Default Re: EQ2 - Driver-Settings-Performance

They state that they designed the game the future in terms of graphics.

IMO they should have designed it for the current graphic card could have been optimized well with leaving in mind that a patch in the future could increase visuals. I think to many people are having problems because they want the beauties after seeing them on extreme and are having a hard time turning them back down or off completely.

If Sony would have just left it out or not able to turn up to extreme in the first place we would never have known what we are missing.

Again, that guideline is a great guideline if you're having problems. Just set it by his specs if you have a similar pc and forget about what the game can look like, we bought it to play it. It still looks great at those setting anyways. Besides, who not to say they won;t iron things out so those higher options work.
__________________
Asus G74sx-Republic of Gamer Laptop
3dmark06 16,128(stock)
Tyr-Sog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-04, 10:10 AM   #30
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: EQ2 - Driver-Settings-Performance

The SM3.0 bug is gone, It was an issue with shadows and certain textures appearing incorrectly. The engine is very optimized, I would seriously check for AdWare and defrag your PC. My friend with a P1.6 and Geforce4 is running it smooth, I don't see why you cant.


I uploaded my settings, back up yours and place mine in the EQ2 Dir. See how mine work for you. These give you great graphics and good frame rate without sacraficing too much eye candy.

Last edited by |MaguS|; 07-15-11 at 05:53 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-04, 10:24 AM   #31
Ghosthunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 885
Default Re: EQ2 - Driver-Settings-Performance

btw on my machine I now started playing at 1600x1200 now and I got to tell you it looks AWESOME!!!!

I use that guide above and for most part it runs great. I do notice it accessing my hard drive a lot when I am in queynos and lots of people, but outside the city it is very smooth.

I am thinking of throwing in another 1 gb of ram just not sure if it iwll make huge difference yet.

but all in all...except in the cities i get no stutter..and combat is smooth..
__________________
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Intel i5-3570k @ 4.3
Thermalright True Spirit 120
G.Skill 16 GB Ram DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 SC
Crucial M4 128 GB SSD
2x Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM SATA HD103SJ
WD SE16 7200 RPM SATA 640 GB
SAMSUNG 22X SATA DVD Burner
CORSAIR 750TX PSU
LIAN LI Lancool PC-K7B
Asus 25 inch VE258Q
Win7x64
Ghosthunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-04, 10:28 AM   #32
Ghosthunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 885
Default Re: EQ2 - Driver-Settings-Performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt_Pitt
ARRGH GAWD not that bloody guide again, everytime someone has troubles with EQ2's crappy unoptimized game engine someone throws that guide in your face.

I saw a gamespot video with one of the devs, saying if you own a 6800 you'll be able to have most of the sliders pushed to the right. LMAO what a fat joke, more like all the sliders to the left and still crappy performance with a $500 dollar top of the line vid card "NVIDIAS FLAGSHIP" my ass
well i was trying to help people out..and it seems some have used it and it helped.

No reason to complain about it..

and i really think people are expecting way too much for the first week...the main reason for the slowdowns is the overcrowdedness....give SOE some times to fix the issues
__________________
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Intel i5-3570k @ 4.3
Thermalright True Spirit 120
G.Skill 16 GB Ram DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 SC
Crucial M4 128 GB SSD
2x Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM SATA HD103SJ
WD SE16 7200 RPM SATA 640 GB
SAMSUNG 22X SATA DVD Burner
CORSAIR 750TX PSU
LIAN LI Lancool PC-K7B
Asus 25 inch VE258Q
Win7x64
Ghosthunter is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-13-04, 12:26 PM   #33
Sgt_Pitt
Registered User
 
Sgt_Pitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 820
Default Re: EQ2 - Driver-Settings-Performance

yeah thx for all your help, im fussy when it comes to gfx, and i get good frames when outside cities and at night, its just that i have to keep running back into town for quests, and when it drops to 15fps in the small corridors of freeport, thats when it really bugs me.

ill try out your ini file, thx for that.
__________________
i7 920 640g/b Raid 0 Corsair 64gig SSD Gigabyte EX58-UD3R 3x 27" Eyefinity 2x5870 crossfire Antec true 750w Logitech G15 6 gig kingston ddr3 1033
Windows 7 x64 Web design:http://www.advancedws.com.au:http://www.nobletrading.com.au:http://www.rackingaudits.com.au:http://www.imhandling.com.au
Sgt_Pitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-04, 12:30 PM   #34
Tyr-Sog
goS-ryT
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 931
Default Re: EQ2 - Driver-Settings-Performance

Yeah, I was tempted also to run up and get another gig but I'd like to hear some before and after experiences before shelling out $200.
__________________
Asus G74sx-Republic of Gamer Laptop
3dmark06 16,128(stock)
Tyr-Sog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-04, 06:01 PM   #35
Ghosthunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 885
Default Re: EQ2 - Driver-Settings-Performance

out of curious for htose with HT proc..do you have HT enabled or disbaled? Try disbaling also make sure Fast writes is turned off that might help with EQ2 as well I been reading on forums
__________________
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Intel i5-3570k @ 4.3
Thermalright True Spirit 120
G.Skill 16 GB Ram DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 SC
Crucial M4 128 GB SSD
2x Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM SATA HD103SJ
WD SE16 7200 RPM SATA 640 GB
SAMSUNG 22X SATA DVD Burner
CORSAIR 750TX PSU
LIAN LI Lancool PC-K7B
Asus 25 inch VE258Q
Win7x64
Ghosthunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-04, 08:11 PM   #36
Tyr-Sog
goS-ryT
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 931
Default Re: EQ2 - Driver-Settings-Performance

Anyone know what causes this? Latest officals drivers.


__________________
Asus G74sx-Republic of Gamer Laptop
3dmark06 16,128(stock)
Tyr-Sog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official GeForce GTX 670 Review and Discussion Thread MikeC NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 23 10-28-12 11:19 AM
Boost Your Performance Goals 10x ' This Week on inside* Publications News Archived News Items 0 05-13-12 06:20 PM
How to make the GPU stay in Performance Level 2 on battery? pjman NVIDIA Linux 0 05-12-12 01:33 AM
NVIDIA Unleashes the GeForce GTX 670 Graphics Card ' Performance Perfected (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 09:40 AM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-31-02 12:59 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.