Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-19-04, 10:53 AM   #1
Old Yeller
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Default Half-Life 2 Geforce 4200 go problems

I tried to run HL2 on my Dell 8500 laptop and it will only run at about 1 FPS. I have the same problem with Far Cry too. The wierd thing is Doom 3 runs great so I know my laptop should be able to play HL2.

I tried the folllowing:
updated to latest drivers and Direct X
I rolled back to earlier drivers
I disabled the sound card
I set all the games settings to the lowest graphics settings

Nothing works. It's still like watching a slide show!

My laptop specs are:
2.4 MHZ P4
1 gig RAM
Geforce 4200 go

My laptop is for when I'm on the road so I don't use it much but it would be nice to play games sometimes. I know that the 4200 Go should play the game resonably well because Doom 3 plays great.

Anyone else have problems playing Far Cry or HL2 on thier Dell laptop with Geforce graphics? Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance...
Old Yeller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-04, 12:07 PM   #2
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: Half-Life 2 Geforce 4200 go problems

Quote:
I know that the 4200 Go should play the game resonably well because Doom 3 plays great.
You can't compare the performance of games like Doom and FarCry/HL2 to each other. Just because doom runs good doesn't mean FarCry or Half Life will. Why? Because Doom is OpenGL and FarCry is Direct3d (HL2 is also D3D). OpenGL games always run much faster than Direct3D games on nVidia hardware. Just check my sig for example. My doom3 benchmark is with 8x AF. My FarCry benchmark is with no AF and is still lower FPS on average. You're gonna need more power for D3D games, thats just how it is.
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) · Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 · eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi · Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T · eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi · Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe · Western Digital Caviar SE ½TB RAID 0/1 · PowerLink LPK2-30 400W · LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVD±R/RW/ROM · MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive · Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD · Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB · Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads · Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard · Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter · nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) · ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound

Last edited by rewt; 11-19-04 at 12:27 PM.
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-04, 08:42 PM   #3
waldo555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Default Re: Half-Life 2 Geforce 4200 go problems

Hey! I'm also having problems with Half-Life 2. I have a Dell Latitude D800 with a Geforce 4200 go. I also have a 1.4 Pentium M and 1 Gig of RAM. That should be enough to play and Doom 3 runs fine for me too.

When I start HL2 I get a message that my drivers are out of date. Then I get to some kind of intro scene where it seems to run fine for a little while but then it crashes and I have to do a hard reboot. I never get to any kind of menu screen or anything.

I can't seem to get the drivers off the NVIDIA site to work. The ones on the Dell site are a year old. If anyone can tell me which drivers I can use or If anyone has HL2 up and running let me know please.
waldo555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-04, 08:55 PM   #4
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Half-Life 2 Geforce 4200 go problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by rewt
You can't compare the performance of games like Doom and FarCry/HL2 to each other. Just because doom runs good doesn't mean FarCry or Half Life will. Why? Because Doom is OpenGL and FarCry is Direct3d (HL2 is also D3D). OpenGL games always run much faster than Direct3D games on nVidia hardware. Just check my sig for example. My doom3 benchmark is with 8x AF. My FarCry benchmark is with no AF and is still lower FPS on average. You're gonna need more power for D3D games, thats just how it is.
But still, it should be playable. A 4200 Go isnt top of the line, but theres no reason he should be getting "1fps" in HL2. Half-Life 2 runs a lot better on my machine than Doom 3 did, so yeah, id say its ok to say that if Doom 3 runs Half-Life 2 should too.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-04, 08:57 PM   #5
anzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: Half-Life 2 Geforce 4200 go problems

Forum member mobilenvidia has drivers with modded inf files designed for laptops! You can download them HERE.
anzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-04, 09:40 PM   #6
waldo555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Default Re: Half-Life 2 Geforce 4200 go problems

Ok, so the Nvidia Forceware drivers don't support Geforce 4200 go. Dell's drivers are a year old. But I can't find a driver for the 4200 on the page you linked to anzac. Could someone point it out, thanks alot.
waldo555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-04, 12:30 AM   #7
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: Half-Life 2 Geforce 4200 go problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
But still, it should be playable. A 4200 Go isnt top of the line, but theres no reason he should be getting "1fps" in HL2. Half-Life 2 runs a lot better on my machine than Doom 3 did, so yeah, id say its ok to say that if Doom 3 runs Half-Life 2 should too.
Your word against mine hehe

I would suggest turning all the settings down as low as possible, in the driver, and in the game itself. Then maybe it'll run at 2 FPS

Nah but really if you guys say it should run then it should run. Maybe he just needs to format and reinstall everything from scratch (excluding virus scanners and firewalls, etc).
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) · Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 · eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi · Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T · eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi · Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe · Western Digital Caviar SE ½TB RAID 0/1 · PowerLink LPK2-30 400W · LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVD±R/RW/ROM · MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive · Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD · Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB · Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads · Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard · Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter · nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) · ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-04, 12:31 AM   #8
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: Half-Life 2 Geforce 4200 go problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by waldo555
Ok, so the Nvidia Forceware drivers don't support Geforce 4200 go. Dell's drivers are a year old. But I can't find a driver for the 4200 on the page you linked to anzac. Could someone point it out, thanks alot.
mobilenvidia's drivers support all cards
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) · Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 · eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi · Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T · eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi · Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe · Western Digital Caviar SE ½TB RAID 0/1 · PowerLink LPK2-30 400W · LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVD±R/RW/ROM · MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive · Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD · Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB · Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads · Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard · Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter · nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) · ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-21-04, 12:17 PM   #9
Old Yeller
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Default Re: Half-Life 2 Geforce 4200 go problems

http://www.laptopvideo2go.com/
Tried the lastest drivers from this site and everything works now. They are special modified mobile drivers. I was able to hit 38 FPS at 1280x768 in the torture test in Half-Life 2. I"ll have to play awhile to see if there are any bugs.

Thanks to all!!!!
Old Yeller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Legit Half Life 3 concept arts leaked AthlonXP1800 Gaming Central 5 06-29-12 03:27 AM
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 10:12 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM
geforce 4 ti 4200 and xfree (4.1.0.1) mglbrmf NVIDIA Linux 6 08-07-02 06:28 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.