Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-07-04, 03:34 PM   #1
adm
Registered User
 
adm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Exclamation New GeForce FX5700LE - Now my games Don't work!!

ECSK7S5A(v.1x) - Honey X Bios (AGP4x Mobo)
AMD Athlon 2600 ( Set to Run at 147mhz/147mhz in bios,Volcano 11 Cooler)
512mb DDR 266
60gb Hitachi Deskstar
20gb Quantum Fireball
PCI ISDN Card
3Com Etherlink network adapter
Floppy Drive
Samsung CD Writer
WinXP Pro - Service Pack2
SIS735 Chipset is modified-added a Thermaltake BlueOrb onto the Standard Heatsink.

My System since i built it up 3 years ago Was Absolutely Stable at gaming and Pretty much anything i threw at it Using Prolink Geforce MX400 64mb(4X). I Picked up a Prolink Geforce FX 5700LE 256mb VIVO(8X), for a great price, and after installation I tested it at my favorite game SOF2MP and textures were flickering and even OpenGL Vertex array commands solved nothing, Then i noticed that my D3d games Caused disruptive Lines diagonally across My monitor. tested SOF2 SP and The game Crashed almost immediately. Mohaa too was flickering and after few minutes bombed out. So i took the card back thinkin it was faulty, got it changed for a different card, same model. IT solved the flickering problem but my games are still bombing out. Am using dirextX9.0c, and Nvidia Forceware 6177. I've tried older drivers and all do the same thing. Windows 2d apps work Perfectly and even directX tests report no problems. I've even Loaded Fresh WinXP on the second drive to test without Service pack 2 but it was worse cos SOF2 MP Didn't even play it just bombed straightaway. Could it be my luck that 2 cards could be faulty? Is there something i'm missing here? Or could it be a simple incompatibility issue? I'm left scratching my head!! someone Out there experience anything like this?

Another thing is i get this error message when SOF2 SP Crashes
"the instruction at "0x06c645a3" referenced memory at '0x00000004". the memory could not be "read"
Click on ok to terminate the program"
adm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-04, 12:09 AM   #2
Kev1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 679
Default Re: New GeForce FX5700LE - Now my games Don't work!!

What kind of power supply do you have? That may be the problem.

Also, make sure card is seated correctly.
Kev1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-04, 12:32 AM   #3
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: New GeForce FX5700LE - Now my games Don't work!!

Try using the 53.03 drivers. They seem to work the best for people with NV3x cards.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-04, 01:04 AM   #4
Slyder
AMD + Nv = pro gaming rig
 
Slyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Coventry / England
Posts: 746
Default Re: New GeForce FX5700LE - Now my games Don't work!!

A friend of mine picked up a cheap FX5700LE the other month. He came stright to my house and tested it in my secondary rig (which is still using a trusty GeForce 4 MX) and had the exact same problems. I put it down to that machine using a very old power supply because it works flawlessly on his computer.
__________________
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI - Bios F11
AMD Athlon 64 3500+@2.2
2gig RAM DDR333 (PC2700) 4 x 512 Corsair Value Select (CL 2.5)
Maxtor 6Y080L0 7200rpm 80 gig DiamondMax Plus 9 HDD
Gigabyte Dual 6600GT SLI Enabled
CTX VL701B 17ins CRT 0.27dpi 72khz MPRII Black
Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
BenQ DW1655 LS DVD-Rewriter with BCDB f/w (ohh yes, get on)
LiteOn 48246S CD writer with SS0E f/w
NTL 10 meg cable connection thru Ambit 250 modem. Ethernet connected
Linksys BEFSR41 v3 router with 1.05.00 f/w
Enermax 535 watts SLI-Ready PSU
XP pro with SP2
Playing multiplayer games online and lan enabled untill the day we die.


What I think of the word Blog
Slyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-04, 11:21 AM   #5
adm
Registered User
 
adm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Default Re: New GeForce FX5700LE - Now my games Don't work!!

Thnx for the replies, My Power supply IS 300W PSU made by Deer, I read on K7S5A Forum that they are crap! AM down and out Financially at the moment so it'll be about another month before i can get one. Hope that it solves my Problem, My Bro is sick of it and is getting me a new mobo, GA7s748L(8x AGP) but it will only reach me by December, So..... With all these upgrades i will definitely have to get new PSU.
Thnx Guys
adm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-04, 12:52 PM   #6
Slyder
AMD + Nv = pro gaming rig
 
Slyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Coventry / England
Posts: 746
Default Re: New GeForce FX5700LE - Now my games Don't work!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ADM
So..... With all these upgrades i will definitely have to get new PSU.
Research PSU's a little before you buy one. They are becoming more then just something that turns ya rig on
__________________
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI - Bios F11
AMD Athlon 64 3500+@2.2
2gig RAM DDR333 (PC2700) 4 x 512 Corsair Value Select (CL 2.5)
Maxtor 6Y080L0 7200rpm 80 gig DiamondMax Plus 9 HDD
Gigabyte Dual 6600GT SLI Enabled
CTX VL701B 17ins CRT 0.27dpi 72khz MPRII Black
Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
BenQ DW1655 LS DVD-Rewriter with BCDB f/w (ohh yes, get on)
LiteOn 48246S CD writer with SS0E f/w
NTL 10 meg cable connection thru Ambit 250 modem. Ethernet connected
Linksys BEFSR41 v3 router with 1.05.00 f/w
Enermax 535 watts SLI-Ready PSU
XP pro with SP2
Playing multiplayer games online and lan enabled untill the day we die.


What I think of the word Blog
Slyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-04, 11:41 AM   #7
adm
Registered User
 
adm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Default Re: New GeForce FX5700LE - Now my games Don't work!!

Ok, I've tested a 400W PSU Which one my chums organized, It's brand spanking new out of the box. Guess what?... I'm having the same problem. OpenGL games like SOF2 & MOHAA, crash. SOF with a Microsoft C++ Library Error, then the Message error
"the instruction at "0x06c645a3" referenced memory at '0x00000004". the memory could not be "read"
Click on ok to terminate the program
OR
the instruction at "0x077445a3" referenced memory at '0x00000004". the memory could not be "read"
Click on ok to terminate the program"
MOHAA Doesn't Report any error it just Freezes, However, Older games Like EA FIFA2001 plays fine, Even NFS Underground Demo plays without problems, Colin Mcrae Rally Plays for a while before The Fuzzy Lines start distorting the screen. UT2004 Also Crashes when i Enter the options menu.

It seems after eliminating all else, that it down to the Video Card Or Mobo compatibilty, I Think i Will try testing it on a different Mobo. I'll Post the results when i've completed.

Life is boring Without FPS!!!>......
adm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-04, 01:23 PM   #8
Slyder
AMD + Nv = pro gaming rig
 
Slyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Coventry / England
Posts: 746
Default Re: New GeForce FX5700LE - Now my games Don't work!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ADM
"the instruction at "0x06c645a3" referenced memory at '0x00000004". the memory could not be "read"
Click on ok to terminate the program
Thats 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by ADM
"the instruction at "0x077445a3" referenced memory at '0x00000004". the memory could not be "read"
Click on ok to terminate the program"
and thats 2 reasons for me to think this maybe memory related...

Run Memtest86 overnight and post your results. If that checks out, try a different GFX card.
__________________
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI - Bios F11
AMD Athlon 64 3500+@2.2
2gig RAM DDR333 (PC2700) 4 x 512 Corsair Value Select (CL 2.5)
Maxtor 6Y080L0 7200rpm 80 gig DiamondMax Plus 9 HDD
Gigabyte Dual 6600GT SLI Enabled
CTX VL701B 17ins CRT 0.27dpi 72khz MPRII Black
Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
BenQ DW1655 LS DVD-Rewriter with BCDB f/w (ohh yes, get on)
LiteOn 48246S CD writer with SS0E f/w
NTL 10 meg cable connection thru Ambit 250 modem. Ethernet connected
Linksys BEFSR41 v3 router with 1.05.00 f/w
Enermax 535 watts SLI-Ready PSU
XP pro with SP2
Playing multiplayer games online and lan enabled untill the day we die.


What I think of the word Blog
Slyder is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-12-04, 02:40 PM   #9
xrotanimret
gar gar gar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 62
Default Re: New GeForce FX5700LE - Now my games Don't work!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ADM
Ok, I've tested a 400W PSU Which one my chums organized, It's brand spanking new out of the box. Guess what?... I'm having the same problem.
Even though it's not your problem, replace that ****ty Deer before it becomes your problem. Seen way too many of those things pop and take entire systems with them. OpenGL not working will be nothing compared to when you wake up with a black screen and "the bad smell."
xrotanimret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-04, 03:20 PM   #10
Zeta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 373
Default Re: New GeForce FX5700LE - Now my games Don't work!!

Does your mobo have drivers for it? Try updating your motherboard drivers. When I used VIA mobo's a lot of issues were resolved by installing the latest 4in1 drivers.
Zeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-04, 03:27 AM   #11
adm
Registered User
 
adm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Default Re: New GeForce FX5700LE - Now my games Don't work!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrotanimret
Even though it's not your problem, replace that ****ty Deer before it becomes your problem. Seen way too many of those things pop and take entire systems with them. OpenGL not working will be nothing compared to when you wake up with a black screen and "the bad smell."
I will definitely upgrade My PSU Soon.
adm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-04, 03:40 AM   #12
adm
Registered User
 
adm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Default Re: New GeForce FX5700LE - Now my games Don't work!!

I have used Memtest For 10 hours and my Memory tests fine, No errors.

Mobo drivers was one of the first things i installed when i encoutered this dilemma.

What next?
adm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What You Can Expect From GeForce GRID News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 04:20 PM
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 10:12 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.