Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-19-02, 01:16 AM   #1
Niro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3
Default Can't start xwindows!

ok I admit I'm completely new to linux....but I've tried installing it and I can't get it to boot into xwindows. When I try to run startx I get the message "no screens found"....what do I have to do to get this thing to work? I have a geforce 4 ti4600...


Thanks
Niro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-02, 02:52 AM   #2
Ryo-Ohki
Fanatic Cabbit
 
Ryo-Ohki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Masaki Shrine
Posts: 94
Default

Did you configure the X Server before trying to start it ?

What distro are you using ?
__________________
Proud owner of a Hercules Radeon 9800 Pro

Tsunami
Intel P!!!-S Tualatin 1266MHz | ASUS TUSL2-C i815EP | 512MB PC-133 | Antec True Power 380W
MSI GeForce 4 Ti4200 @ 250/515 | Creative SoundBlaster Live! | D-Link DFE-528TX 10/100
2 x Seagate Baraccuda IV 60GB ATA-100 7200 RPM HDDs | Pioneer DVD-117 16x/40x DVD-ROM
Windows 2000 Server SP2
DirectX 8.1 (4.08.01.0881) - nVidia Detonator 43.45 - 3DMark2001 : 8433

Windows 98SE
DirectX 8.1 (4.08.01.0881) - nVidia Detonator 30.82 (WHQL) - 3DMark2001 :

Slackware Linux 8.1
nVidia Linux IA32 Driver 1.0-4191
Ryo-Ohki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-02, 08:38 AM   #3
Niro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3
Default

I'm using redhat 8.0. I dunno if I configured xserver...the only config I did was during the install when it asks you for what video card and resolution you want to use...I couldn't install using any knid of gui, it forced me to do it in text mode.


Thanks
Niro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-02, 08:58 AM   #4
Ryo-Ohki
Fanatic Cabbit
 
Ryo-Ohki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Masaki Shrine
Posts: 94
Default

Mmmh... Since RedHat is a bit alien , can you run "xf86config" on your distro ?
__________________
Proud owner of a Hercules Radeon 9800 Pro

Tsunami
Intel P!!!-S Tualatin 1266MHz | ASUS TUSL2-C i815EP | 512MB PC-133 | Antec True Power 380W
MSI GeForce 4 Ti4200 @ 250/515 | Creative SoundBlaster Live! | D-Link DFE-528TX 10/100
2 x Seagate Baraccuda IV 60GB ATA-100 7200 RPM HDDs | Pioneer DVD-117 16x/40x DVD-ROM
Windows 2000 Server SP2
DirectX 8.1 (4.08.01.0881) - nVidia Detonator 43.45 - 3DMark2001 : 8433

Windows 98SE
DirectX 8.1 (4.08.01.0881) - nVidia Detonator 30.82 (WHQL) - 3DMark2001 :

Slackware Linux 8.1
nVidia Linux IA32 Driver 1.0-4191
Ryo-Ohki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-02, 09:12 AM   #5
Niro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3
Default

I actually tried that and it said invalid command...but it was 2 in the morning so I might of mistyped it.

I'm gonna try again when I get home today.
Niro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
302.17 nvidiaXineramaInfoOverride not working properly hlandgar NVIDIA Linux 11 01-21-13 09:53 AM
Microsoft explained why they killed start button AthlonXP1800 Microsoft Windows 8 19 10-28-12 10:07 AM
Base mosaic and rotation? happyfunbot NVIDIA Linux 5 07-13-12 01:23 PM
DICE general manager thinks FPSs will start 'moving away from the modern setting' News Archived News Items 0 07-06-12 08:00 AM
Nero5.5.9.9 & "Empty Start Menu Entries" bug !!! cenkog General Software 2 09-21-02 01:57 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.