Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-17-06, 10:30 AM   #157
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: NVTweak v1.7.1

I've been told it still works on 8800 cards and Windows XP. As you can see from my sig, I don't currently own a GeForce 8 myself so you could imagine it's a little difficult for me to add its new features. This is mainly the reasons why I accept donations, to help me afford a new card to experiment with.

I did not plan on adding direct hardware overclocking support though. I already unlocked coolbits for overclocking. If you need overclocking on hardware level, I'd recommend using Unwinder's tool (RivaTuner) for that.
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe Western Digital Caviar SE TB RAID 0/1 PowerLink LPK2-30 400W LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVDR/RW/ROM MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-06, 12:37 PM   #158
fatal1ty
 
fatal1ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 778
Default Re: NVTweak v1.7.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by rewt
I've been told it still works on 8800 cards and Windows XP. As you can see from my sig, I don't currently own a GeForce 8 myself so you could imagine it's a little difficult for me to add its new features. This is mainly the reasons why I accept donations, to help me afford a new card to experiment with.

I did not plan on adding direct hardware overclocking support though. I already unlocked coolbits for overclocking. If you need overclocking on hardware level, I'd recommend using Unwinder's tool (RivaTuner) for that.
Ok - everything about NVtweak seems to work. I can even enable the classic CP with it. However the additional AA settings aren't there.

Selecting AA options works even 8x, but the 16xs isnt the same as the CSAA they added. Hardware tab shows the temp properly. Even Nvidias own tray icon doesnt give options for AA over 4x - wtf guys?? lol.
__________________
[SIZE=1]C2D E6300 3.616 Ghz @ 1.5 v H20 cooled
2GB OCZ DDR 1000
ASUS P5B-E Mobo
EVGA 8800GTS 660, 2Ghz mem [/SIZE]
fatal1ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-06, 04:15 PM   #159
RejZoR
Overclocked Sheep
 
RejZoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Europe\Slovenia\Ljubljana
Posts: 373
Default Re: NVTweak v1.7.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by rewt
I've been told it still works on 8800 cards and Windows XP. As you can see from my sig, I don't currently own a GeForce 8 myself so you could imagine it's a little difficult for me to add its new features. This is mainly the reasons why I accept donations, to help me afford a new card to experiment with.

I did not plan on adding direct hardware overclocking support though. I already unlocked coolbits for overclocking. If you need overclocking on hardware level, I'd recommend using Unwinder's tool (RivaTuner) for that.
Or ATiTool. At least 6600GT overclocks extremelly well with it. Very configurable too.
__________________
E5200 @ 3,75GHz | 6GB 800MHz DDR2 | ASUS P5Q Deluxe | HD4850 512MB @ 700/2200 | 750-320 HDD | ASUS Xonar Essence STX + Altec Lansing MX5021
RejZoR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-06, 12:47 AM   #160
anavrintobin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Default NVTweak v1.7.1 - monitor contrast not responding

Hi there

Im running a LG Flatron T910BU on a 7900GT

I was experimenting with the Nvidia direct access controls but when i used my monitors OSD and buttons to reset my screen, it became extremly dim.

My monitors OSD says that the contrast is 100% but it is nowhere near that as i can hardly see anything.

I am unable to increase the contrast using my monitor buttons as it will simply not change from 100%, allthough all other settings are available.

I have tried using the nvidia/nvtweak control panel (right click desktop/properties/settings/advanced/geforce\Direct access), to change the contrast but the sliders for both this and brightness are both locked at 0. (alltohugh if i try to drag the brightness slider, the brighness will change but the slider will not actually move).

The lock Monitor display check box is not checked, i have tried unistalling/reinstalling my monitor drivers, geforce driver and the nvtweak program but nothing is working. I have clicked on every 'Restore defaults' button there is, both on my monitor itself and all nvidia/nvtweak panels.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am a graphic design student with a project due in a weeks time and i can barely see enough to type this gramaticaly incoherent cry for help!
anavrintobin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-06, 09:32 AM   #161
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: NVTweak v1.7.1

anavrintobin,

I think the problem is due to nvidia's Direct Access feature and not NVTweak itself. The supported version of NVTweak doesn't even unlock Direct Access.

You say Direct Access works but the sliders don't move? Then, if possible, try adjusting the contrast and brightness levels to your liking, apply them, and then uninstall the nvidia driver. Next time you reinstall the driver, don't enable Direct Access again.

I hope this helps!

P.S. - If it doesn't, you may find solution for this issue at http://forums.nvidia.com
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe Western Digital Caviar SE TB RAID 0/1 PowerLink LPK2-30 400W LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVDR/RW/ROM MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-06, 01:28 PM   #162
anavrintobin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: NVTweak v1.7.1

Thanks for your reply, I thought the direct access only appeard after nvtweak was installed but i guess i didnt see it before????

Neither slider will move, but the brighness can be adjusted without the slider moving. The contrast, however does nothing.

I will try asking over at the nvidia forums, but if you have any other ideas i would love to hear them!

Thanks again

Last edited by anavrintobin; 12-11-06 at 01:49 PM.
anavrintobin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-06, 05:59 PM   #163
RejZoR
Overclocked Sheep
 
RejZoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Europe\Slovenia\Ljubljana
Posts: 373
Default Re: NVTweak v1.7.1

UT2004 won't even start as long as NVtray is active. It'll just start and then drop on desktop without any error or message. If i disable NVTray, it'll start normally.
__________________
E5200 @ 3,75GHz | 6GB 800MHz DDR2 | ASUS P5Q Deluxe | HD4850 512MB @ 700/2200 | 750-320 HDD | ASUS Xonar Essence STX + Altec Lansing MX5021
RejZoR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-07, 04:56 AM   #164
zampe
HVO Master Sergeant
 
zampe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: BaH/Croatia
Posts: 240
Send a message via ICQ to zampe
Default Re: NVTweak v1.7.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by anavrintobin
Thanks for your reply, I thought the direct access only appeard after nvtweak was installed but i guess i didnt see it before????

Neither slider will move, but the brighness can be adjusted without the slider moving. The contrast, however does nothing.

I will try asking over at the nvidia forums, but if you have any other ideas i would love to hear them!

Thanks again
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=60664&highlight=direct+access
__________________
Intel Core i5-2400 3.10GHz| MSi P67S-C43| SAPPHIRE HD 6870| 8GB G.SKILL DDR3-1333 | Samsung SyncMaster P2350 | Enermax EG565AX-VH(W)SFMA Coolergiant Serie 535W | CHIEFTEC BX Series
zampe is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-22-07, 09:04 AM   #165
snilloconator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Orlando
Posts: 157
Send a message via MSN to snilloconator Send a message via Yahoo to snilloconator
Default Re: NVTweak v1.7.1

Hey all I'm running NVtray and when I enable all my system will get to the load screen and no further. I'm running the 97.92's. Never had this problem before with Tray any suggestions...
__________________
ROBBED


Please visithttp://www.uxcclan.com
snilloconator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-07, 09:19 PM   #166
AirJarhead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 31
Default Re: NVTweak v1.7.1

Does Rewt still update this software? I'd love it if it had all the functions of the ATI version (I know Ray has helped him before). Now that Rivatuner is no more, it would be nice if someone picked up the torch.
__________________
RJRHл
E4300 C2D @ 3150
Thermalright Ultra-90
Gigabyte 965P S3
2x1GB Kingston Hyper-X DDR2-750
EVGA 8800GTS
Samsung 20" WS LCD 205BW
Creative Audigy 2ZS
Maxtor 250GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Seagate 320GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Pioneer 111D DVD Burner
Lite-On 16x DVD-Rom
Sunbeam NUUO 550W
Thermaltake 250W GPU PSU
Windows XP Pro SP2
AirJarhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-07, 04:17 AM   #167
RejZoR
Overclocked Sheep
 
RejZoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Europe\Slovenia\Ljubljana
Posts: 373
Default Re: NVTweak v1.7.1

It looks like the project is dead... Not even that beta version with OSD was not updated for months...
__________________
E5200 @ 3,75GHz | 6GB 800MHz DDR2 | ASUS P5Q Deluxe | HD4850 512MB @ 700/2200 | 750-320 HDD | ASUS Xonar Essence STX + Altec Lansing MX5021
RejZoR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-07, 07:13 PM   #168
Monnie Rock
Registered User
 
Monnie Rock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Posts: 276
Send a message via ICQ to Monnie Rock Send a message via Yahoo to Monnie Rock
Default Re: NVTweak v1.7.1

Hello,

I have driver version 163.75. Intalled NVtweak 1.7.1

I selected both coolbits features
All features in General O/C

When I go to the nvida control panel, there is a selection " Change Overclocking Configuration"

When I click on that, it takes me to nvidia's site about NVTune.

How do I overclock my card?


Thank you
Monnie
__________________

Thermaltake Tsunami Dream Tower || Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe || AMD Athlon 64 FX-60(17x200FSB) || VapoChill Lightspeed || 4Gb OCZ PC3200 2-2-2-5 || Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W W0156RU|| 2x SATAII Western Digital Caviar SE 160 GB RAID 0 || 2x EVGA GTX 280 SCC SLI || Creative X-fi || Plextor SATA PX-716SA DVDRW || Mitsubishi DP2070SB-SV 22"CRT || Vista Ultimate 64 bit || TM Cougar HOTAS NXT Mod || Simped F-16C Rudder Pedals || Track IR 3 Pro || RME Fireface 800 || Mesa Boogie Tri-Axis || TC Electronics G-Force || BBE 882i || Sennheiser HD650 || Ibanez Jem7 VWH || Ibanez Universe 7 String || Sonar 7 Producer Edition
Monnie Rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.