Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-16-02, 02:02 AM   #1
fantomas
nazgul
 
fantomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 106
Default Will Doom be multiprocessor optimized?

Anyone know if Doom3 is gonna be able to take advantage of a duel cpu configuration? In fact, are any games? I cant find out any info about this, any websites that have reviews of a duel box compared to a standard pc benchmarking quake3 or something.

fantomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-02, 02:14 AM   #2
fantomas
nazgul
 
fantomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 106
Default

Hmm, Anand has a fat article about duel Athlons where he says:

Performance here is dependent on not only a fast processor but a fast graphics subsystem; luckily 3D Studio MAX is multithreaded so it can easily take advantage of moving to multiple processors[color=skyblue]

you can read the whole thing here


Still dont know if Doom, or any games, are multithreaded.
fantomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-02, 02:42 AM   #3
Nephilim
Slacker extraordinaire
 
Nephilim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Nashvegas, TN
Posts: 502
Default

Quake 3 is able to use multiple processors.

One can assume that Doom3 will.
Nephilim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-02, 03:44 AM   #4
fantomas
nazgul
 
fantomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 106
Default

thanks

A bit of googling around points out on apples site that return to castle wolfenstein is mp so I guess its pretty common in new games. Interestingly you can get an mp version of Fritz, the toughest computer opponent chess game.
fantomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-02, 12:09 PM   #5
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Course it will, Q3 was, Falcon4 was, all Q3 engine games are, and THIS IS JC HERE!
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-02, 06:54 PM   #6
fantomas
nazgul
 
fantomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 106
Default

Quote:
Course it will, Q3 was, Falcon4 was, all Q3 engine games are, and THIS IS JC HERE!
Tech report do a mp test with Quake 3, to quote the results:

Here we have some very interesting results indeed. Looking at the overall picture, it seems that the SMP support in Quake III Arena gets you very little above simply overcoming the overhead introduced by having two processors.

The situation repeats itself with the 1900+, as the single-CPU configuration beats all comers except for the dual 1900+ with SMP enabled. At the high end, the gain achieved with dual processors is much less—only an additional 0.6 frames per second.

It's possible that memory bandwidth limitations are responsible for the miniscule gains at the high end, but the Duron results show that even without a possible memory bottleneck, the SMP support in Q3A is no miracle worker.



So yeah, I would really love it if Doom 3 improved from this state of affairs. I havent seen the alpha, not that the 0.02 version is anything to make serious judgements from, but I would be very interested to see if any Multiproccessor commands are in the game. For example, in Quake 3 by setting the in-game variable r_smp to 1, support for multiple processors is enabled.

Anyone Tried this with the Alpha??
fantomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-02, 10:15 PM   #7
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quake 3 had horrible SMP support. period.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-02, 11:23 PM   #8
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

That test is absolutely pointless.

OF COURSE it's going to have the same performance, it's not stressing the CPU, it's stressing the video card. Now, if you try Falcon 4, create a custom mission with 600 planes or so, and then try it, it's going to stress the hell out of your CPU and that would be a semi-accurate test.

You can't really test SMP with games because they're all still limited by the video card instead of the proc. We need better AI or something like that before we're going to get CPU problems...
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-17-02, 01:36 AM   #9
fantomas
nazgul
 
fantomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 106
Default

Yeah, doom 3 is meant to be mean on the CPU with a deep physics engine so you would think multiproccessor would be an advantage....but then with Clawhammer and 64 bit cpu's just round the corner ....


"I never forget a face, but in your case I'll make an exception."
~ Groucho Marx ~
fantomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-02, 01:57 AM   #10
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You know when SMP and all that is going to make a difference?

True deformable environments.

We've got Stage 1 of that--a good physics engine. Stage 2 is actually making environments deformable according to the laws of physics.

It's on-the-fly object generation, pretty much. Red Faction had it, but it was lame.

But think about it--what if you can use a pack of C4 on a steel door, have it blow in halfway, and then fire a railgun round at it and have the door fly in?

It's gonna be BADASS!
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-02, 01:59 AM   #11
fantomas
nazgul
 
fantomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 106
Default

OF COURSE it's going to have the same performance, it's not stressing the CPU, it's stressing the video card. Now, if you try Falcon 4, create a custom mission with 600 planes or so, and then try it, it's going to stress the hell out of your CPU and that would be a semi-accurate test.


Yeah I would really like to see the results of a test like that, or one with some openGL apps. If anyone knows any good articles online about this stuff then let me know
fantomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-02, 02:03 AM   #12
fantomas
nazgul
 
fantomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 106
Default

Quote:
But think about it--what if you can use a pack of C4 on a steel door, have it blow in halfway, and then fire a railgun round at it and have the door fly in?

It's gonna be BADASS!
Agreed
fantomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mod-ern Warfare: Non-BFG Doom 3 Yanked From Steam News Archived News Items 0 10-24-12 08:30 AM
Doom 3 BFG Edition is Out Now with Stereoscopic 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 10-16-12 03:40 PM
Now Available - Doom 3: BFG Edition News Archived News Items 0 10-16-12 02:20 PM
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 06:30 AM
Doom 3 BFG Edition will feature entire Doom series, seven new Doom 3 levels News Archived News Items 0 05-31-12 06:40 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.