Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-17-04, 12:28 PM   #1
sonaboy
Why can't you spell?
 
sonaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 208
Send a message via ICQ to sonaboy
Default Is anyone playing HL 2 on a 5900 series card?

and if so - is gameplay going smoothly?

I have an AMD 2.4 gig chip, 1 gig of PC3200 memory, Win2000, and an MSI 5950 Ultra 256 MB card, but i'll be disappointed if i have to play this game on 800x600 with only low AA settings.

anyone have similar specs that are getting good results in both offline and online play?
__________________
Peace through war in the digital realm...
sonaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-04, 12:38 PM   #2
PSYCHODAD
cereal killer
 
PSYCHODAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: indiana
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: Is anyone playing HL 2 on a 5900 series card?

Ya, my son is playing HL2 with a fx51 and a 5950u @1280x1024, 4xaa 8xaf. The game plays quite well just doesn't look quite as good. I believe it's because it's using DX 8.1.
Oh well, his EVGA 6800u is supposed to be here sometime today.
__________________
System #1
CPU INTEL|3rd gen I-7@3.7ghz
16gb memory Windows 7 home premium 64 bit
PSU Siverstone Zeus 850w
EVGA 660gtx
Logitech G400 gaming mouse
Dell 2407WFP 24" lcd


Video Games -- Why waste good technology on science and medicine?
PSYCHODAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-04, 12:56 PM   #3
sonaboy
Why can't you spell?
 
sonaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 208
Send a message via ICQ to sonaboy
Default Re: Is anyone playing HL 2 on a 5900 series card?

ah...good to know.
i usually play at around similar settings, so that's nice.
__________________
Peace through war in the digital realm...
sonaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-04, 01:48 PM   #4
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Is anyone playing HL 2 on a 5900 series card?

Sonaboy, your "2.4 gig" rig, is it AT 2.4ghz, or is it an XP2400?
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-04, 02:01 PM   #5
sonaboy
Why can't you spell?
 
sonaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 208
Send a message via ICQ to sonaboy
Default Re: Is anyone playing HL 2 on a 5900 series card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragejg
Sonaboy, your "2.4 gig" rig, is it AT 2.4ghz, or is it an XP2400?

whoops..sorry, confused some numbers -
it's an Athlon 64 3200.

so that makes it a 2.0 gig, correct?
__________________
Peace through war in the digital realm...
sonaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-04, 02:06 PM   #6
Warden13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 173
Default Re: Is anyone playing HL 2 on a 5900 series card?

I read somewhere that you can "force" DX 9.0 on the 5900 series. Not sure about it though. I imagine it would improve visuals but might have a major impact on performance.

Warden
__________________
A64X2-4400@2900 (Watercooled)
DFI Infinity SLI
EVGA 8800GTS@560/830
Warden13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-04, 02:09 PM   #7
sonaboy
Why can't you spell?
 
sonaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 208
Send a message via ICQ to sonaboy
Default Re: Is anyone playing HL 2 on a 5900 series card?

I'm running DX9 c right now, and get a few freakouts in certain games, but i have no idea if running DX9 is actually the cause or not.
__________________
Peace through war in the digital realm...
sonaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-04, 03:05 PM   #8
aaahhh52
gahboo?
 
aaahhh52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to aaahhh52
Default Re: Is anyone playing HL 2 on a 5900 series card?

Id like to force dx9 and try to make up the difference with oc'ing.
__________________
SPECS <-- mobo = fried R.I.P

New Pc:
Gigabye k8n-SLI NF4
AMD x2 4600+
Evga 7900gs 256mb
1gb pc 3200
160gb SATA II
aaahhh52 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-17-04, 03:09 PM   #9
glObalist
working as intended
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 935
Default Re: Is anyone playing HL 2 on a 5900 series card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaahhh52-SoV-
Id like to force dx9 and try to make up the difference with oc'ing.
You wish...

I mean do you really think ocing could give you back the needed FPS?
glObalist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-04, 03:16 PM   #10
bkswaney
Mr. Extreme!
 
bkswaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 3,421
Send a message via Yahoo to bkswaney
Default Re: Is anyone playing HL 2 on a 5900 series card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaahhh52-SoV-
Id like to force dx9 and try to make up the difference with oc'ing.

There is No Way OCing a NV3x is going
to make up the performance loss in DX9.

AnandTech said a 5950 in DX9 was only 1/3
of the performance of even a 6600 in HL2.

So that being said the NV3x is just screwed in DX9.
Well, unless u r looking for a slide show. "lol"
__________________
Notebook!
Compaq Presario CQ60-215DX
AMD 64 Athlon X2 @ 2GHz (QL62)
15.6 inch HD WideScreen
Nvidia 8200M-G 895mb
2Gig system ram
250Gig SATA 5400rpm HDrive
Vista Premium
bkswaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-04, 03:21 PM   #11
sonaboy
Why can't you spell?
 
sonaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 208
Send a message via ICQ to sonaboy
Default Re: Is anyone playing HL 2 on a 5900 series card?

So if i have a 5950 Ultra running DX9 - should i just revert it back to DX8.1 until i do a card upgrade?
what's the worse performer - DX9 that's been forced onto the 5950 Ultra, or DX8.1 forced onto the game?
__________________
Peace through war in the digital realm...
sonaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-04, 01:02 AM   #12
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Is anyone playing HL 2 on a 5900 series card?

5xxx cards in DX8.1 mode perform much better. I'd choose the extra performance any day of the week.
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 11:12 PM
Measuring card memory usage peter_ga NVIDIA Linux 0 05-24-12 09:07 PM
EVGA GTX 670 Superclocked Graphics Card Review (Overclockers Club) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-11-12 07:00 AM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:28 AM
NVIDIA Unleashes the GeForce GTX 670 Graphics Card ' Performance Perfected (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 09:40 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.