Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-30-02, 07:48 AM   #13
SnakeEyes
Registered User
 
SnakeEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Zurich, IL
Posts: 502
Send a message via ICQ to SnakeEyes
Thumbs up

I'm running 161/161 with my KT3Ultra-ARU and an XP2100+ (unlocked, 11.5 multiplier). The limitation in my system appears to be the processor, though I actually managed to get as high as 179/179. Problem with that was that the system was actually slower overall than the current 164/164, since I had to lower memory timings (CAS2.5, 5, 3, etc. vs. CAS 2 , 4, 2, etc.). From my tests, running a lower FSB but being able to turn those memory settings down (lower numbers, faster response) makes a bigger improvement. Also, for some strange reason, even if I lower the multiplier to the point that the processor is underclocked with the higher fsb setting, the system gets unstable. The RAM itself handles 166 and aggressive memory timings fine (as proven by using the default asyncronous 133/166 with aggressive timings just fine- indicating that it's the increase on the processor's side that causes the issues).

Ironically enough, the processor has just once completed a 3DMark2k1SE run at 1904Mhz, for my highest result ever (the GF4 4600 was unoverclocked), but the system hung not long after recording the results at Madonion's site. I was planning to play with overclocking the card until that happened (trying to break the 12k barrier, lol. Oh well, I'm content with 11-11.5k).
__________________
Snake-Eyes
SnakeEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-02, 08:25 AM   #14
randsom
harware junky
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: west linn, ore
Posts: 604
Thumbs up

check out my sig

at this point my ram is the limiting factor
my 3dmark score is 125xx(i think it should be alittle higher)
my sandra scores 2998/2765
the box is completly stable,@2262 1t fast cpu decode, max voltages, time to v-mod i think
__________________
NEW RIG AND LOVIN IT
Q6600@3.45ghz w/ultra extreme,on a xfx 680I sli, ocz pc6400,sli'd xfx 8800 gtx, 2 seagate 500 giggers in raid 0,2 samsung 18x sata lightscribe burners, x-fi platinum,pc power and cooling 750 silencer, all wrapped up in a thermaltake armor

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=11469

Last edited by randsom; 07-30-02 at 08:34 AM.
randsom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-02, 08:35 AM   #15
NeoGeo
Geforce 4
 
NeoGeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: South Coast, England, UK
Posts: 146
Default

13500 christ thats high!! and u want more?? what for?!
__________________
AthlonXP 2500 Barton
MSI K7N2 Delta (MS-6570)
Nvidia Geforce FX 5600 128MB VIVO
512MB (2x 256MB) Crucial PC2700
2x 120GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 8MB
16x DVD
52x/24x/52x Lite-On CD-ReWriter
550 watt Q-Tech PSU
Superflower silver case
T1 Internet Connection
AOC 17" 7Klr
MS Keyboard+Mouse
NeoGeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-02, 08:59 AM   #16
randsom
harware junky
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: west linn, ore
Posts: 604
Default

its 125xx actually, that was a type-o
im gonna skip the t-bred, unless the get a awesome new stepping thatll do 2.2-.3
__________________
NEW RIG AND LOVIN IT
Q6600@3.45ghz w/ultra extreme,on a xfx 680I sli, ocz pc6400,sli'd xfx 8800 gtx, 2 seagate 500 giggers in raid 0,2 samsung 18x sata lightscribe burners, x-fi platinum,pc power and cooling 750 silencer, all wrapped up in a thermaltake armor

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=11469

Last edited by randsom; 07-30-02 at 09:02 AM.
randsom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-02, 09:29 AM   #17
NeoGeo
Geforce 4
 
NeoGeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: South Coast, England, UK
Posts: 146
Default

yeah id skip the t-bred.. although its got a smaller die, it gets hotter than the palomino due to the lack of heat disippation!! no heat speader
__________________
AthlonXP 2500 Barton
MSI K7N2 Delta (MS-6570)
Nvidia Geforce FX 5600 128MB VIVO
512MB (2x 256MB) Crucial PC2700
2x 120GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 8MB
16x DVD
52x/24x/52x Lite-On CD-ReWriter
550 watt Q-Tech PSU
Superflower silver case
T1 Internet Connection
AOC 17" 7Klr
MS Keyboard+Mouse
NeoGeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-02, 09:40 AM   #18
randsom
harware junky
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: west linn, ore
Posts: 604
Default

my next system will be a hammer, or maybe a p4(highly unlikly but possible). i had originally had high hopes for the t-bred, but amd didnt really do much with it, and i was way disappointed with the oc abilities of the first stepping,they obviously had or have problems w/.13um process
that and abit kinda dropped the ballw/t-bred support,unless you unlock, the 1.0 kx7 wont support the t-bred unles you send it to abit for a mod. im not really keen on sending in a good oc board for a new one.
__________________
NEW RIG AND LOVIN IT
Q6600@3.45ghz w/ultra extreme,on a xfx 680I sli, ocz pc6400,sli'd xfx 8800 gtx, 2 seagate 500 giggers in raid 0,2 samsung 18x sata lightscribe burners, x-fi platinum,pc power and cooling 750 silencer, all wrapped up in a thermaltake armor

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=11469
randsom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-02, 09:44 AM   #19
NeoGeo
Geforce 4
 
NeoGeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: South Coast, England, UK
Posts: 146
Default

really :O? surely a BIOS update will change this???? Abit only have one type of KX7-333 / R bios on their site.. and the newer one i have allows support for the t-bred.
__________________
AthlonXP 2500 Barton
MSI K7N2 Delta (MS-6570)
Nvidia Geforce FX 5600 128MB VIVO
512MB (2x 256MB) Crucial PC2700
2x 120GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 8MB
16x DVD
52x/24x/52x Lite-On CD-ReWriter
550 watt Q-Tech PSU
Superflower silver case
T1 Internet Connection
AOC 17" 7Klr
MS Keyboard+Mouse
NeoGeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-02, 10:36 AM   #20
SnakeEyes
Registered User
 
SnakeEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Zurich, IL
Posts: 502
Send a message via ICQ to SnakeEyes
Thumbs up

Nice overclock. I haven't managed to get my setup stable over around 179MHz fsb, but I don't think it's the RAM, since I actually had asynchronous timings with the fsb at 166 (+33 = 199 for memory). But for some reason performance at those settings was actually quite a bit lower than with the current synchronous 161 for me. I know that the automatic PCI/AGP divider kicks in at some point (1/5). This resulted in an initial drop in performance in my rig too as I bumped up fsb +1 at a time. Oh well. 12500 is nice, and I had an 11900+ run complete before the system became to unstable (and had to reset the bios to boot after that).

If I attempted the voltage mod on the KT3Ultra's bios (involves a variable resistor, if I recall right), so that I could get 1.9 - 2.0v for the processor, I could probably hit 2GHz on this 2100+. I actually have a score for 1904MHz in the MadOnion database, which is currently my highest, at 11800+, and I managed to boot into WinXP Pro 1 time only at 2000+MHz, though my astonishment lasted only as long as it took XP to freeze entering 3DMark2k1SE (I had forgotten to decrease my multiplier by .5 as I increased the fsb another notch, resulting in the higher total MHz).

Oh well. 1845 (1846, depending on the boot, as the clock gen varies a tad) is okay, considering it's over 2200+ speeds.
__________________
Snake-Eyes
SnakeEyes is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-30-02, 11:02 AM   #21
randsom
harware junky
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: west linn, ore
Posts: 604
Default

nope the kx7 needs a mod from abit to support the locked t-bred
heres a link to read up on it

http://www.amdforums.com/showthread.php?threadid=139387

snakeeyes if you do the v-mod could post the results, and tell us how hard it was and your results
__________________
NEW RIG AND LOVIN IT
Q6600@3.45ghz w/ultra extreme,on a xfx 680I sli, ocz pc6400,sli'd xfx 8800 gtx, 2 seagate 500 giggers in raid 0,2 samsung 18x sata lightscribe burners, x-fi platinum,pc power and cooling 750 silencer, all wrapped up in a thermaltake armor

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=11469

Last edited by randsom; 07-30-02 at 11:05 AM.
randsom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-02, 11:14 AM   #22
NeoGeo
Geforce 4
 
NeoGeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: South Coast, England, UK
Posts: 146
Default

thats gay!

ive only just bought this board! like a week or two ago!! i was thinkin bout buyin a 2200 at the time instead of the 1800 i was gonna go the full hog.... oh well
__________________
AthlonXP 2500 Barton
MSI K7N2 Delta (MS-6570)
Nvidia Geforce FX 5600 128MB VIVO
512MB (2x 256MB) Crucial PC2700
2x 120GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 8MB
16x DVD
52x/24x/52x Lite-On CD-ReWriter
550 watt Q-Tech PSU
Superflower silver case
T1 Internet Connection
AOC 17" 7Klr
MS Keyboard+Mouse
NeoGeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-02, 07:39 PM   #23
randsom
harware junky
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: west linn, ore
Posts: 604
Default

you can still use the t-bred you just have to unlock it, about 95%
of people that have this board unlock theyre cpus, to take advantage of the oc capability of this awesome motherboard
__________________
NEW RIG AND LOVIN IT
Q6600@3.45ghz w/ultra extreme,on a xfx 680I sli, ocz pc6400,sli'd xfx 8800 gtx, 2 seagate 500 giggers in raid 0,2 samsung 18x sata lightscribe burners, x-fi platinum,pc power and cooling 750 silencer, all wrapped up in a thermaltake armor

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=11469
randsom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"GPU has fallen off the bus" error on 650M unless a CUDA program run first amonakov NVIDIA Linux 0 06-18-12 06:34 PM
Getting the proprietary nvidia driver to run with Debian 3.0 r0 (woody) Katchina404 NVIDIA Linux 9 01-12-03 08:49 AM
Unlocking 166FSB on AthlonXP pelly CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 6 08-24-02 01:29 PM
Athlon 2400+ and 2600+? 333 MHz Front-side bus?? PaiN Rumor Mill 26 08-16-02 10:49 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.