Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-02-04, 05:50 PM   #13
jimmor
Registered User
 
jimmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 568
Default Re: Bios mod for 5800NU

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragejg
I really don't think 5800NU uses DDR1, I'd like to see a link supporting that claim.
Just checked the ASUS website, and their 5800 certainly uses DDR on 5800 and DDR2 on 5800U !

http://www.asus.com/prog/spec.asp?m=V9900&langs=01

http://www.asus.com/prog/spec.asp?m=...Ultra&langs=01


But if you also just search the net for FX5800 cards, it seems that some manufacturers use DDR2 for both 5800 and 5800u cards.

So depending on manufacturer, it appears that there can be either DDR or DDR2 on a 5800nu card ?
__________________
The more I know, the more I know I don't know

Intel P4 3.2 @ 3.85GHz (ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe)
BFG 6800GS (16x1,6vp) @ 300/430/1200.

Driver, 82.12 :-
Aquamark3, 75039
Codecreatures1, 90.8
3Dmark05 v120, 6195
3Dmark03 v360, 14334
3Dmark06 v102, 2949
3Dmark2001se v330, 23793.
jimmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-04, 12:46 PM   #14
ricercar
fugue master
 
ricercar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: silicon valley
Posts: 1,603
Arrow Re: Bios mod for 5800NU

My ASUS non-U has DDR2, and says so on the box, regardless of the ASUS website claim.
My AOpen 5800 non-U has DDR2.
My two PNY 5800U have DDR2.

The NVIDIA NV30 reference design specifies DDR2 for 5800, 5800U, FX1000, FX2000.
__________________
I used to drive a Heisenberg, but whenever I'd glance at the speedometer, I'd get lost.

Last edited by ricercar; 12-03-04 at 12:48 PM. Reason: All NV30 boards have DDR2.
ricercar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-04, 06:39 PM   #15
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: Bios mod for 5800NU

It's too bad you can't hook those suckers up in quad SLI mode!! It'd be really fast I bet, but probably sound like 747 just went over your house. lol
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) · Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 · eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi · Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T · eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi · Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe · Western Digital Caviar SE ½TB RAID 0/1 · PowerLink LPK2-30 400W · LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVD±R/RW/ROM · MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive · Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD · Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB · Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads · Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard · Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter · nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) · ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-04, 07:37 PM   #16
jimmor
Registered User
 
jimmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 568
Default Re: Bios mod for 5800NU

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricercar
My ASUS non-U has DDR2, and says so on the box, regardless of the ASUS website claim.
My AOpen 5800 non-U has DDR2.
My two PNY 5800U have DDR2.

The NVIDIA NV30 reference design specifies DDR2 for 5800, 5800U, FX1000, FX2000.
So are we now saying that even although manufacturers like ASUS, MSI and XFX advertise 5800 cards with DDR memory, they never actually made any and are therfore lying; or being economical with the truth as some might put it ??


UPDATE:

To add to the question of there being actual 5800nu cards with DDR memory; here is firingsquad product info on a XFX 5800,

http://www.firingsquad.com/products/hwproduct.asp/889

The XFX data clearly states that 5800 uses DDR and 5800u uses DDR2 ??
__________________
The more I know, the more I know I don't know

Intel P4 3.2 @ 3.85GHz (ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe)
BFG 6800GS (16x1,6vp) @ 300/430/1200.

Driver, 82.12 :-
Aquamark3, 75039
Codecreatures1, 90.8
3Dmark05 v120, 6195
3Dmark03 v360, 14334
3Dmark06 v102, 2949
3Dmark2001se v330, 23793.

Last edited by jimmor; 12-03-04 at 07:54 PM.
jimmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-04, 01:25 AM   #17
Mechanic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 27
Default Re: Bios mod for 5800NU

Well, my MSI FX5800 uses DDRII mem http://www.msi.com.tw/program/produc...UID=423&MODEL=
Are you saying I can be running 500/1000???
__________________
the "Mechanic"

P-4 3.0c
MSI 865PE Neo2 PLS
2x512mb DDR400
PNY 6800 GT 256
Directx 9.0c
Seagate IV SATA 80gig
Liteon 48x12x48 CD-RW
Win2K Pro/SP4, WinXP Pro/SP1

Mechanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-04, 05:04 AM   #18
ricercar
fugue master
 
ricercar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: silicon valley
Posts: 1,603
Arrow Re: Bios mod for 5800NU

I defy you to find a NV30 card—5800, 5800 Ultra, 1000 or 2000—that does not have Samsung DDRII. They do not exist.

My guess is that someone made a mistake in the NV30 marketing collateral and regular DDR was propagated throughout the OEM marketspace. NV30 DDR exists only on paper, not in hardware.
__________________
I used to drive a Heisenberg, but whenever I'd glance at the speedometer, I'd get lost.

Last edited by ricercar; 12-04-04 at 05:44 AM.
ricercar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-04, 01:03 PM   #19
jimmor
Registered User
 
jimmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 568
Default Re: Bios mod for 5800NU

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mechanic
Well, my MSI FX5800 uses DDRII mem http://www.msi.com.tw/program/produc...UID=423&MODEL=
Are you saying I can be running 500/1000???
You can overclock and run at 500/1000, if your cards heatsinking can keep the gpu and memory chips sufficiently cool at those speeds ?
__________________
The more I know, the more I know I don't know

Intel P4 3.2 @ 3.85GHz (ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe)
BFG 6800GS (16x1,6vp) @ 300/430/1200.

Driver, 82.12 :-
Aquamark3, 75039
Codecreatures1, 90.8
3Dmark05 v120, 6195
3Dmark03 v360, 14334
3Dmark06 v102, 2949
3Dmark2001se v330, 23793.
jimmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-04, 01:14 PM   #20
Nandro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Disney World!
Posts: 223
Send a message via ICQ to Nandro Send a message via MSN to Nandro
Default Re: Bios mod for 5800NU

Mine runs all day at 525/1120, although the turbines will wind up to full jet speed after about 20 min of straight gaming.
__________________
P D805 @3.8Ghz on P5ND2 SLI with Droop mod.
2G OCZ DDR2 @4-4-4-7
2x36G raptors raid 0
2 WD 120D
2x160G Segate Barracuda's raid 0
SB Extigy
7800GT @ 505/1100
Nandro is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-04-04, 01:36 PM   #21
jimmor
Registered User
 
jimmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 568
Default Re: Bios mod for 5800NU

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricercar
I defy you to find a NV30 card—5800, 5800 Ultra, 1000 or 2000—that does not have Samsung DDRII. They do not exist.

My guess is that someone made a mistake in the NV30 marketing collateral and regular DDR was propagated throughout the OEM marketspace. NV30 DDR exists only on paper, not in hardware.

No point in defying anybody to go and find a 5800 card with DDR memory, since most sensible people wouldn't want one -----> I know I certainly wouldn't.

With all the powerfull vga cards available today, why would anybody think a 5800 was a current worthwhile purchase ------> unless of course it was maybe found on ebay at a bargain rock bottom price ?

Maybe we will never know, or maybe someone will eventually be identified as having one, maybe only an initial production version, or early development model ----> who knows, only time will tell.

Also, even if you are right that 5800 data at the diff manufacturer and distributer websites is completely wrong simply because of some long past bungled PR/Marketing exercise; it just means that untill someone finds some supporting evidence to prove it, then it is just another open ended theory ?
__________________
The more I know, the more I know I don't know

Intel P4 3.2 @ 3.85GHz (ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe)
BFG 6800GS (16x1,6vp) @ 300/430/1200.

Driver, 82.12 :-
Aquamark3, 75039
Codecreatures1, 90.8
3Dmark05 v120, 6195
3Dmark03 v360, 14334
3Dmark06 v102, 2949
3Dmark2001se v330, 23793.

Last edited by jimmor; 12-04-04 at 01:56 PM.
jimmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-04, 03:59 PM   #22
Flipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 24
Default Re: Bios mod for 5800NU

Every single 5800 uses ddr2 because every single 5800 were manufactured by nvidia themshelves.

If in some sites you see ddr, it's a typing mistake, all 5800 on the planet are using Samsung ddr2.

Last edited by Flipper; 12-04-04 at 04:42 PM.
Flipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-04, 04:17 PM   #23
ricercar
fugue master
 
ricercar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: silicon valley
Posts: 1,603
Arrow Re: Bios mod for 5800NU

NVIDIA made all the NV30 12-layer PCBs and soldered the GPU and other parts on. However, the fan on non-Ultras differed from the black reference fan + separate RAMsinks for some OEMs, notably Abit. To my knowledge all OEMs used the copper reference fan+RAMsink for 5800 Ultras.
__________________
I used to drive a Heisenberg, but whenever I'd glance at the speedometer, I'd get lost.
ricercar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-04, 06:31 PM   #24
quik_2_win
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 205
Default Re: Bios mod for 5800NU

So do we all agree at least on the recommendation that he not flash his BIOS? Personally, I think there would be no point. As has been stated, he could modify the core voltage if he desires. Even with that, I doubt his 5800NU is going to clock much higher than he has been able to push it already. I believe that the 5800 GPUs were meticulously speed-graded with the most stout ending-up on the "Ultra" boards (of which there are/ were very, very few). If I recall, BFG had to cancel the Ultra "pre-order" because nVidia ran out of GPUs that were graded for Ultra boards. Not that most NU boards can't run at 500/ 1000, it's just likely not going to clock much higher than that, particularly if he has the single-slot cooler-
quik_2_win is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DayZ mod for ARMA II ATOJAR Gaming Central 42 02-21-13 06:51 AM
A Mod Of A Game Of Thrones: Crusader Kings II News Archived News Items 0 05-28-12 03:20 PM
Asus Bios bug nforceuser NVIDIA Linux 3 10-06-02 05:15 AM
new bios my motherboard and got new feature IDE PCI BUS MASTERING what is it ??? b5fan CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 12 09-22-02 06:10 PM
PC Games, CeleronII 566, CeleronA 300, BIOS Savior, Heatsinks, NES & Sega Items +pics TekViper For Sale/Trade 5 08-07-02 11:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.